We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great location!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Ambler, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great hotel - great location!”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed for the IC4As at BU. We felt pampered staying at this hotel,yet it's a great value compared with other hotels in Brookline. It is well worth staying here! Stayed in a Fenway queen room - room was huge, and clean! Asked for a quiet room, and had the most restful sleep ever in a hotel! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Eastern Standard restaurant was excellent, and it was so nice to have a great restaurant right in the hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect! The Kenmore T station is right next to the hotel doors, very convenient! Our room and bathroom were both spotless. Having a clean, quiet room is very important to me, and this was the best! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boston!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,502
    697
    152
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,411
1,284
204
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Beautiful, captures the essence. The physical accommodations are excellent and the staff is very professional. It is a rare when I can say that everyone that I came into contact with seemed to really understand their job, and was superior in accommodating a guest.

The hotel was grand, beautifuk design, lovely gallery, great restaurant and had it all..., updated, clean, spacious,and I had lovely accommodations, the location was great for me, Greenline T was next door. Parking was expensive-but it was Boston.
I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calex5628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My wife and I love this hotel. The rooms are always well kept and large. The staff is always polite, pleasant, and helpful. The two on-site restaurants are lovely, but the hotel staff was willing to make a reservation to a nearby restaurant for. Overall, I would highly recommend Hotel Commonwealth.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCLeahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The staff at the Hotel Commonwealth were pleasant, knowledgeable, courteous, and helpful. Very enjoyable stay. The hotel itself and also the rooms are very warm, welcoming and clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian6937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Convenient location right on Commonwealth Avenue. Very good complimentary wi-fi in rooms. Beds very comfortable. Only thing missing is in-room coffee/tea maker.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csotwoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We went to Boston for the night for my husband's 50th birthday. I wanted him to feel really special and the staff at Hotel Commonwealth went above and beyond to ensure that! We went to Quincy Market for a couple hours and when we got back, there was an ice bucket with a couple of beers in it for my husband along with a bowl of honey rosted mixed nuts. The hotel also set us up with a wonderful driver for the night. He picked us up in a black Escalade an waited at the resteraunt while we ate. All in all, it was a wondeful night and it was exactly what I wanted for my husband! Thank you Hotel Commonwealth for everything. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnbonn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Last weekend my family had the opportunity to attend the Bedtime Stories event at the Hotel Commonwealth and we had the most fantastic time. When we arrived the Hotel Manager was greeting guests with champagne in the lobby and the front desk staff welcomed both my children by name with a special backpack filled with LL Bean Slippers, a cute Curious George book, a flashlight.... Our room was so beautiful and the beds were so comfortable and relaxing - even sleeping in the same room with the kids! In the evening the hotel provided a bedtime stories event with a magician and a hot chocolate bar for the kids. They even had wine/beer and cheese and crackers for the adults which I thought was really a nice touch. In the morning the children were able to make pancakes with the chef and then we were served a delicious meal in the cafe. Overall it was a great trip. It was the first time we had taken our kids to a fancy hotel and in their eyes it was better than Disneyland. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling - with or w/o kids. The staff made us feel so welcome and it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtownMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,322 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,294 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,769 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing