We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet gem”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Beautifully restored Victorian mansion. The downstairs is a series of common rooms. There is the eating area, where truly excellent breakfasts are served, and several function rooms that are available for rental and/or community use. One has a piano, and one has a harpsichord. We were there for a baby shower in the afternoon, and we had full run of the downstairs.

There are well-tended gardens surrounding the house.

The rooms are upstairs. We have stayed at Taylor House twice, and each room was lovely and private.

There is plenty of free parking, both in the spacious driveway and on the cul-de-sac that is right outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    34
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
86
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Having grown up in Jamaica Plain and no longer able to stay where I lived, I chose the Taylor B&B for a return trip to my town. A lot of work has gone into fixing this place and the owners spared nothing to bring this 1800's home back to its former glory. It was clean, located in a nice section of a residential area I was familiar with, breakfast was unusual and tasty, (no plastic bread or instant coffee), bed was comfortable, room was quiet, guests were interesting, small but lovely garden area with a wide variety of carefully chosen plants. They have concerts on occasion. The lighting in the hallway was a little too somber for my taste, but we could see well. It was a delightful two night stay.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs because that was what was available at the last minute in early June. We were fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We live a few blocks from the Taylor house and the 6, yea count em, 6 grandparents have stayed there numerous times since my son was born 3 yrs ago. It's perfect for everyone- they get here own room and don have to squeeze into our tiny tiny 2 bedroom condo and we don't have to play host. Dave is accomodating of their needs - whether they are renting a room or renting the house across the street. Daryl's breakfast is always amazing and home made. We're always bummed when they are booked!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The best thing about the Taylor House is its location in Jamaica Plain, within a block of the Emerald Necklace with its beautiful lakes and paths. It is in a neighborhood of old stately homes, many in great condition and some in varying stages of repair.

That said, we were underwhelmed by the B&B itself. We stayed two nights on the second floor of the annex (up a flight of narrow winding stairs, often blocked at the bottom by a large, elderly dog). Our two-room suite had a lumpy, hard futon in one room; the double bed in the other room was adequate. We never could get the wifi to work in our room. The owners were unconcerned; they told us to use the computer in the main house, but that computer was old and did not have a memory card port so I couldn't share photos as I'd hoped.

When we arrived there was no soap or toilet paper in our bathroom and no cups for water. I found the owner and he got some from the utility closet while he complained about his housekeeper. Fortunately, the closet was not locked so I was able to find some Kleenex when the housekeeper failed to fill the empty dispenser the next day.

Breakfast was fine and the blueberry muffins on the second day were delicious. But we were shocked when the owner told us that the eggs he put out on the second day were "for the other guests," since he heard we were going to a family brunch elsewhere in Boston.

Unless you really need to be in this part of Boston, I can't recommend Taylor House.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewJersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have been fortunate to stay here many times and have always had a good experience. My daughter and her family live right near by and I am able to enjoy family occasions and stay in a terrific place. I have stayed for one night visits up to nine nights when my first grandchild was born. Dave and Darrell run a terrific place. The breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: The front two in the main house are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

David picked us up at the T station and gave us a ride to his B&B - very nice! The location in Jamaica Plain is great - just a few blocks from restaurants and shops. It's a short walk to the bus stop - it was easy to take the bus up to Newbury Street, Fenway, the Old State House and other historical sites in Boston. The area is very charming, and Jamaica pond is literally right up the street.

Our bedroom was on the 2nd floor of the main house, and was comfortable and spacious. We were very happy with it, and loved the clawfoot tub. Breakfast was perfectly adequate, serve yourself - not extravagant. I had oatmeal most mornings.

Great cozy alternative to a hotel for exploring the city!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have stayed here many times while visiting our family in Boston. Terrific hosts, lovely classic buildings, excellent breakfasts and the walk around Jamaica Pond, just down the block, is delightful. Of course, it's Boston so there are many nearby good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandpaNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,427 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#8 of 38 in Boston
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Burroughs St, Boston, MA 02130-4059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Jamaica Plain
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer spacious rooms with private baths that appeal to both tourists, relatives of those in the area, and business travelers. We have increased our staff to greet you up until midnight and offer a/c, wifi, guest business center and wonderful gardens to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Taylor House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylor House b&b
Taylor House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing