We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is now our place to go in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“This is now our place to go in Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

What a great find! A beautiful B&B in a lovely grand Victorian home in a residential area of Jamaica Plain, outside of downtown Boston. Walking distance to a lake and the arboretum. Comfy beds, fun decor, delicious breakfasts and music!

They have been instrumental (really -no pun intended) in creating a venue for classical and jazz musicians to play in the early evenings- a beautiful aria was being sung by a talented singer accompanied by a concert pianist one night when we were there.

There is a harpsicord that was built by a friend of the hosts and artistically painted by another to resemble one which was present when they were in vogue. I have heard that there are concerts on this instrument at times.

These recitals are not intrusive if you are not into this, lasting maybe an hour with a small reception afterwards and they lend a charm to the wonderful home and gardens. There is a $10 donation suggested probably not even covering the dessert and wine reception afterward.

The breakfast is delicious and plentiful with 2 hot items every day plus a varying fruit salad, granola bar , breads etc. The breakfast room was self serve buffet style and a popular place. In addition to this you can make yourself a tea or coffee at any time at a little kitchen on the second floor, where there are also many CD's to choose t watch on the flat screen TV in your room.

Our room (second floor front left as you are looking at the house from the road) was spacious and lovely. Our bathroom , while a little small was gorgeous with trompe l'oeil clouds on the ceiling. Thoroughly charming!

Another plus is that, even though you are in a residential area with amazing examples of vintage architecture, you are a block away from great restaurants, a pharmacy etc. a booming Main St. Quiet and convenience.

We love the resident pups. Check out the website for details about their lineage. They are friendly but not intrusive.

We love this house and feel like it is a home away from home. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnchkbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    34
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
81
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This B&B in a restored Victorian home in the lovely Jamaica Plains neighborhood of Boston was a complete delight. Our room on the second floor, restored curved stairway, was spacious with TV and free WiFi. The bathroom, with large window, has an extraordinary shower with 4 shower heads and good water pressure! The bathroom itself has ample room for toiletries for two with plenty of clean towels.The rooms in this house all have names and wonderful period furniture, with ample space for clothing. Breakfast is served downstairs daily and is included with the room.. The second floor has a library of DVDs one can watch on the room's DVD player.

We were visiting a relative in a nearby hospital and received a substantial discount on our room because of this. There is parking in the small parking lot, but easy free parking on the street in this upscale quiet neighborhood. And the rate was surprisingly good: $135 p/night.

The house has gardens with a place to have breakfast outside in good weather, and we note a harpiscord and baby grand piano downstairs. Apparently concerts are held here.

We'll be back.

Judith Beiss

Room Tip: Actually there are two nearby houses on either side of the parking lot. We stayed in the original wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JudeBNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in historic Boston and had many places to choose from to stay. The Taylor House was definitely a good decision!! Dave was extremely helpful with info on how to get from place to place. And Darryl's breakfasts were exquisite!! We were within a few miles of everywhere that we wanted to visit and the accommodations were great!! I don't know that we'll get back to Boston, but if so, I know where we'll be staying!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrydd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I travel to Boston frequently for business and on my last trip, this week, I found that there were NO hotel rooms available in the entire city, due to the Stanley Cup playoffs. I finally found an available room at this very nice B&B in Jamaica Plains. Though it was out of my way, since I was doing business in the Seaport District, I didn't mind the longer cab ride, as my stay was such a surprisingly pleasant experience! The gracious hosts, Dave and Daryl, were so lovely. And the home was lovingly restored. Though some of the common areas felt slightly "worn", I found my bedroom and bath to be better than most fine hotels. The innkeepers focus on those things that matter most - great air conditioning (in over 90 degree weather!), plush towels, updated and well appointed bathrooms, comfortable bed - with soft linens, privacy, flat screen TV, and an excellent breakfast! And I loved the fact that they support local business and products, such as the assortment of artisanal jams, and they support green living, by directing guests to dispose of breakfast trash in a compost bin and recycling containers.
I highly recommend Taylor House for vacationers, as well as business people who want the comforts of home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Finding this beautiful carefully restored home a short distance from the heart of Biston, made our stay in Boston a memorable one. The Inn is a short distance from Jamacia Pond which has a lovely path around the lake (1.5 miles ). Breakfast is a treat with a variety of homemade treats prepared by the Inn Keeper. We were delighted with an unusual frittata which was delicious. There were many choices of items for breakfast, and were not run of the mill fare, which made breakfast healthy and delicious.
The beautiful garden adds to the ambiance, and although it was rainy the time we were at the Inn, the landscaping was lovely to look at.
We liked the Taylor Inn so much, we are visiting again in June,hopefully it will be sunny

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolverine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We recently stayed at Taylor House as it was the only place within walking distance of our destination. No one was there to meet us, just an envelope with keys. Our room, I believe called North Room, was on the second floor. It was very spacious and comfortable with a queen bed, a couple of easy chairs and plenty of room to spread out. The bathroom was well appointed though the off fashioned tub was a bit of a challenge to get in and out of. The breakfast buffet was average with some kind of egg frittata that was borderline cold. Tons of cereal and other carbs but very little fruit, just pineapple. One of the owners, I believe Daryl (from other reviews) walked in but did not introduce himself. The golden retriever was very friendly, borderline annoying looking for handouts. One woman asked Daryl about decaf and he said they only had it near the upstairs coffee maker. He did not offer to get her a cup. While our room was very nice, the main first floor was a bit run down. Would I stay here again? Yes, because it is close to our destination and if I could be assured of getting the same room. Otherwise, I'd pass.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This old mansion has been nicely restored appropriately for its period. Lots of privacy, great breakfasts included, free parking. It is an easy walk to Jamaica Plain commercial area, or Jamaica Pond. There are lots of good restaurants and pubs in Jamaica Plain.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
South End
Aisling
Aisling
#6 of 39 in Boston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Burroughs St, Boston, MA 02130-4059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Jamaica Plain
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer spacious rooms with private baths that appeal to both tourists, relatives of those in the area, and business travelers. We have increased our staff to greet you up until midnight and offer a/c, wifi, guest business center and wonderful gardens to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taylor House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylor House b&b
Taylor House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing