We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taylor House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Taylor House for 4 nights. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The owners were friendly and allowed us much privacy. We enjoyed the other guests during breakfast time. The food was gourmet and enjoyable. It is located in a safe neighborhood within walking distance of nice restaurants and wonderful parks. We would definitely stay there, again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    34
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
80
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I really wanted to like Taylor B&B, but so many things were lacking that we left early and went to another hotel for our last night in town. While the home could be lovely, it was been let go and the evidence of lack of care was abundant: The room had dust bunnies all the floor, and the curtains were full of dust so much that we sneezed and coughed the entire time we were there, the carpets were stained, the paint was peeling on the walls, dirty dishes left in ktcthen, the blow dryer flipped the breaker both mornings so we could not fix our hair, the hot water handle stopped turning on the bathroom sink, the bed was not made either day - even though we were out for several hours at a time. When we brought the broken water knob and flipped breaker to the owners' attention (when we could actually find one), all we got was a "Really?" - like we were making these things up. When we arrived after a long day out, we were "hushed" as we entered the door and told to go through a back way so to not disturb the piano concert downstairs - which we were not told about - much less invited to. We had thought we would watch a movie - but we could hear the concert so loudly upstairs that we knew our movie would disturb the "guests." Wait - I thought we were the guests! We were never greeted nor made to feel welcome - but rather like we were in the way. We had planned on using Taylor B&B many times in the future for our regular outings to Boston - but will not waste our money. In summary, the owners have forgotten the art of hospitality and what a B&B is supposed to be about.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kms1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Owner at Taylor House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 September 2015
We have made big changes since this review. These guests stayed at a time when one of the owners wanted to sell the B&B and the other didn't and one of the problems was lack of staffing. We increased from a staff of 4 to 6. We no longer leave out notes for people, but want each guest to be greeted in person by someone who announces who they are and how they are related to the B&B no matter how late they arrive.
We now have a new staff that lives on-site and is available to greet late night guests. He has even offered to pick them up at the airport if they are uncertain about ordering a cab there late at night. We also have Taylor House Shirts now identifying staff so anyone can ask us or alert us to problems in any of the rooms. Though a review like this is painful, it is helpful to bring us back to square one and realize we ARE in the hospitality business.
I hope you will return and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in the middle of a crazy snowstorm, and it was quite lovely. It is in a GREAT location - minutes away from Jamaica Plain's pond and "downtown" area - with access to Boston via train or bus. The room was a little small, but we didn't mind - we were located right next to the Keurig station, DVD shelves, and stairwell. The bed was SO comfortable (King), and I slept like a rock that night. The bathroom amenities were stellar: heated towel rack, beautiful old-fashioned tub, great shower pressure, and a wide sink. The breakfast was, unlike most B&B's, healthy and diverse - not only were there options on the bar, but the owners offered us fresh broiled grapefruit. The other residents were also extremely friendly, and the conversations felt natural and not forced. The owners are extremely kind, and are quite accommodating of needs and requests. Great place to stay if you are looking for a getaway in the city - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look for the King Size rooms if traveling in a pair - they are slightly larger, and will give you bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurik
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited our daughter who is currently living in Boston. We stayed in Taylor House for a week. The house is beautiful, and so is the neighbourhood. The room we stayed in is very comfortable, good bed, great shower. We have enjoyed breakfast very much, because of the quality of the food and because of the relaxed atmosphere. We have appreciated the fact that our kids could come in for breakfast as well, although they were staying somewhere else. Thank you, Daryl and Dave. You, and your house, are wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I love the location of this B&B as we have relatives in Jamaica Plain and there are very few nearby options. This inn is walking distance to the shops and restaurants and in a very nice neighborhood. The building itself is beautiful but the decorating is lackluster except for a few very nice pieces of art. The place was also somewhat messy when I visited recently with several items that didn’t seem to belong lying around on the porch. Our room and bed were quite comfortable and the linens were nice. The bathroom, however, left something to be desired as there was peeled wallpaper and I could have done without the clawfoot tub/shower which was difficult to get in and out of and difficult to use. I don’t believe all the rooms have this setup so one would be wise to inquire if this would be a concern. Lastly, breakfast was very good with plenty of options for everyone.
I really wanted to like this B&B as it is a charming old home in a great location. It has lots of potential and I hope the owners spend some money to get it up to snuff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisces0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We're Boston Marathoners that come to Boston every year for the race. We were so turned off by the cost and availability of hotels downtown this particular year, we decided to expand our search. We were very fortunate. Trip Advisor guided us to Taylor House, and we were very pleased with our choice. Here are the pros. Dave is an incredible host. He had info and was so pleasant. Room was available at 9am when we arrived, and he invited us to breakfast. Daryl's breakfast was always delicious. Jamaica Plain couldn't be any more charming. Great...I mean great....restaurants (Vee Vee, Ten Tables, Centre Street Cafe). City Feed is great for coffee and supplies. There's a terrific bakery in town. Only a few cons. In April the weather is still a little dicey for those from warm weather climates, so the 10 minute walk to the T Station was a bit uncomfortable on a few occasions. First shower was an experience until we figured out the proper steps to avoid water all over the bathroom.

We weren't initially thrilled with being so far away from the Expo and Finish Line, but in the end it really was a minor inconvenience. We'd stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bone3371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

First of all, great location
Lovely area of boston
Free parking
Beautiful old property
Breakfasts to die for

But most of all fabulous service
We made a mess of our reservation and put them to so much trouble
But they were so gracious, kind and helpful

This is what makes a good B and B a great B and B - the people who run it

Highly recommended!!!


Ps made a mistake on my review, there is not a pool, but could alter on my ipad!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-Howlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,950 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
South End
Aisling
Aisling
#5 of 39 in Boston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Burroughs St, Boston, MA 02130-4059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Jamaica Plain
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer spacious rooms with private baths that appeal to both tourists, relatives of those in the area, and business travelers. We have increased our staff to greet you up until midnight and offer a/c, wifi, guest business center and wonderful gardens to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taylor House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylor House b&b
Taylor House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing