We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price for an excellent location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent price for an excellent location!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Close to Boylston Street, Newbury Street and Copley. 3 min walk to the closest subway station. Simple hotel, no amenities on site but perfect if you are planning on exploring the city. Will stay again on this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoVeCli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    271
    265
    117
    80
See reviews for
130
312
63
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I love staying here for one night trips through Boston. It is very close to both public transportation and Amtrak. The hotel staff here are extremely nice and thoughtful. The only thing i don't really care for is the breakfast. As others have said, it is very basic and maybe for a few dollars more they could improve it or at least have some protein options like peanut butter or yogurt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YepItsMe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, FL
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose this hotel based on the price and location. We arrived to Boston for our first time via Amtrak at Back Bay station. The walk was an easy one even with a heavy rolling suitcase and bulging backpack each. Less than 2 short blocks and no hassle streets to cross.
I suggest checking out the street view on Google so you know what you are looking for. The entrance is not obvious and I think it would be easy to walk right past since the door is off the main street down what appears to be an exit ramp from a parking garage.
The first thing that hit us when we stepped inside was the age of the building. it is nice enough inside - just old.
We were not impressed when we got to the desk and was greeted by a note that they had stepped away and would be back shortly. There was an employee in the lobby and he called the desk person who stated she was on her way. After what seemed like far too long, a lady entered from outside and promptly manned the desk to get us signed in. Not the kind of service we were hoping for after over 24 hours on a train. But I must say that every interaction with the staff after that was great.
The room is old but seemed well maintained. No refrigerator or microwave, but none were expected. The weather while we were there was great so we didn't get to see how well the heating/cooling worked but it appeared that the only control you had was fan speed. The there was a thermostat but changing setting did not seem to have any impact on the temperature of the incoming air. But controlling the amount (or turning off) of air was enough to keep it very comfortable.
The walls are very thick and we did not hear anything from neighboring rooms except one of the heavy doors closing on the room next to us. The bed did not seem like anything special but we slept great each of the 4 nights we were there.
Breakfast was more than just the basic continental - wide variety of bagels, breads, fruits, cereal, juices, coffee, Danish. The glass breakfast room was a nice place to eat.
The button to call the desk for wake up call did not work when we wanted to arrange a call for our last morning. The staff was aware and that sort of thing is a small repair which should be taken care of - inexpensive to do and has a big impact on customers.
The location was outstanding. 4 days without a car and never needed one!
I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on top floor and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timekeeper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had reviewed some feedback about this hotel on Tripadvisor and had mixed feelings before check-in. I must say that my overall experience has been really good. The hotel location is just perfect and you have easy access to cafes/good tourist places. The hotel staff is very helpful and always pay close attention to customers request. The hotel has business center at the lobby which is always open 24/7. The early morning breakfast is good especially considering the price you pay for the room (which is the most economical out of all Back Bay hotels in same location).

Overall the hotel is a great value add for tourist / business travelers who are looking at an affordable accommodation. I would high recommend staying in this hotel if you are visiting Boston and would personally also use it on my next visit to Boston !

Room Tip: I was staying on 8th floor and even though the hotel claims that the WiFi can be accessed only in co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rajiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for four nights in May 2014. location is right behind the Back Bay railway station. pretty handy to Central Boston. our room was clean and comfortable but carpet a bit threadbare by the entrance. The whole hotel is looking tired and well overdue for a revamp. Breakfast is included in the room rate and really let's the hotel down. It was a VERY basic continental breakfast, a couple of cereals, minimal fruit (just apples) and a few pastries plus coffee and tea. No crockery, just the cheapest of plastic plates and plastic cutlery plus styrofoam cups. I would upgrade the breakfast to a decent continental fare and for goodness sake ditch the plastic. I am sure guests would be happy to pay a bit more for this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

BCH is in a good location just a short walk from Copley (with access to the subway/metro). Puts the public garden and boston common within easy reach. The room was clean and tidy and everything worked fine (e.g. good shower, TV, and functioning wifi). Desk staff were good also. The breakfast is pretty basic. Most other hotels close to this area were far more expensive, so this does represent reasonably good value. If I needed a room at this price again, BCH would definitely still be a good option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the perfect hotel for a short stay in Boston. We arrived at backbay station and the hotel is just around the corner. Also very close to the shoppingmall and centre of Boston.
Although the hotel and rooms are dated, they are clean and everything works. The staff is very helpfull and 24/7 available. But if you are staying for a longer time then 2 nights we would recommend a hotel or B&B with a cheaper price per night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Remon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#69 of 83 in Boston
1,120 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,100 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
955 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,986 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing