We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #79 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
“Wonderful trip”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the BCH for a convention in Boston, and we couldn't have made a better choice. The hotel was a bit hard to find but we are unfamiliar with the area so that was probably the reason. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the rooms were kept perfectly clean, and it was clear by the signs in the rooms and lobbies that the establishment is one that cares for the environment a great deal, as you can choose to tell the waitstaff not to wash your sheets and towels every day if you want to help them save water and resources. You also have the choice to have them clean your room as normal if you would like. We stayed for three days and two nights and we had some of the best rest we've ever had away from home. Thanks for a great hotel experience, BCH!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    269
    263
    114
    76
See reviews for
126
309
61
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Upon entering the front desk I realize quickly this place looked nothing like the pictures on their website. The room was old, outdated, and small. The curtains didn't even hang on the rod correctly! The bathtub had rust around the drain! I couldn't believe it was the same place I checked out online. Very disappointed. On top of this the girl at the front desk was rude. I sure would think twice about booking a room at this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRobinson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I chose this hotel for the location (obviously), not because it's anything special. For the price, it was the best centrally-located hotel in Boston without breaking the bank. I stayed for 2 nights while trying to take in as many Boston sights as I could. The entrance is very difficult to find, they don't have it marked and it looks like you are walking into a parking garage. The room was small and plain. But it was perfect for my needs - it was quiet and dark when I needed to sleep off the jetlag for several hours during the day. The shower was excellent and the bed comfy. There is no fridge. It's a no frills kind of place - it has that "conference center" feel and is a little outdated. Dingy paint, but clean overall. It's a great place to sleep and relax in quiet after a day of sightseeing. It's a few blocks from Boylston Street in the Back Bay and so lots of restaurants, bars and a historical church just steps from the front door. My room on the 6th floor had a window looking right across from the famed, mirrored Hancock building. The breakfast was the bare minimum so I skipped it the second day and opted for nearby Finagle Bagel and Starbucks. But it was a good hotel for a few nights as a newcomer to Boston and tired from jetlag.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andromeda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

the hotel is a little tough to find for the first visits but a much surprise as well. good sense lobby,warm corridor , adequate guest room ,comfortable bed and nice street views from room,Although the bathroom is in need of a lot of renewing.but it is still a nice hotel where we like to stay again.
in addition, the great location--both near to Back bay station of orange line and Copley station of Green line of Boston tubes is a importance for a choice of next visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank greg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor, I had stayed here years ago for a conference when it was owned by John Hancock. To be honest, the bathrooms haven't been updated since then, but the staff is well aware of this. It is a block away from Trinity Church, the T and on street parking and parking lots are right outside the door. We were greeted by Kelley and she had upgraded us to a lovely room with a king size bed, a couch, easy chair and ottoman, and a coffee maker. Thank you, Kelley. Our room was terrific, but the bathroom is very outdated, though everything in it worked just fine. Our stay included a breakfast, there were 4 cereal choices, coffee, tea, milk, muffins, pastry, bagels, breakfast breads, cream cheese, 4 different juices, and some apples. Kelley was always at the desk and she was a wealth of knowledge of what was happening in the city. She would go out of her way to help us. We are not a couple to spend much time in our room so this was an ideal location for us. This was a "lovely grand dame"...and my husband loves old buildings. There is a great deal of character to the building. You just can't beat the location for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is a little tough to find by car. We booked it with parking included - the lot was directly across from the hotel but no in-out privileges. The room was spacious enough for our family of 4 - with a pull out couch and a king bed. The shower was great and the curtains kept the room sufficiently dark. We were very satisfied with this hotel - esp. when compared to others in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kaumanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here recently for a Boston wedding and found the location superb! About 1/2 mile north is Newbury St. area, 1/2 mile east - Public Garden; 1/2 mile west - Prudential/Hynes. Trinity Church, Boston Public Library, Copley Plaza, many tour bus stops etc. two blocks or less.
Staff is helpful in pointing out the best things to do depending time frame and on the preference of walking vs. tour buses vs. boats/cruises and physical abilities as we had some quite senior family members along.
The rooms were clean and neat. This is an older building, so the bathrooms are sufficient but not updated/modern - but who's going to spend their holiday in the shower anyway!
Room equipped with coffee maker, but no refrigerator. Was not of importance to our group.
Continental breakfast provided daily on an enclosed patio, and had ample, breads, danish, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruit to get you started on your day.
There is street/metered parking out front and on the adjacent block, overnight free meters, daytime - 2 hr time limit.
The hotel is adjacent to a parking garage and they offer a park and stay deal if chosen at booking - Read the Rules, in/out access is limited to once/day under this deal.
The hotel was somewhat less expensive than those in the surrounding radius that had swimming pools, restaurants and other amenities.
If you arrive at Logan, the MBTA now has a shuttle bus from the airport to Copley Square - 1 1/2 blocks walk from there to the hotel. Cost is $5/person.
The front desk will call you a cab, but we found walking up to Copley, we could flag them down much faster.
There are several car rental facilities in that same 1-2 block radius as well.

Room Tip: The Park & Stay includes either a king bed or two double beds for the same price if you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Scubach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#68 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,446 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing