We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Stuffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #80 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is very well located, close to the center, train and bus stations. The staff are very friendly, the room and bed are very comfortable and clean. The breakfast is simple but very satisfying.
The hotel has one of the best prices in comparison to other ones, and considering the location and structures.

Everything works properly, I recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yutakajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

great location near everything, you can walk everywhere
front desk Stuff was nice and helpful in giving some tips to go around city
Bathroom need update
room ok
no wifi in room, hotel should consider adding
garage very close $27 for 24 hours

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We chose the Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center based on its proximity to Back Bay train station. It was very close and very convenient after a long morning of traveling. Very friendly staff, clean room, comfortable beds, satisfying continental breakfast. Bathroom felt outdated, tub drain was slow, and didn't have enough rack space/hangers for our towels, but all in all, a good choice for what we needed

Room Tip: Wi-fi available in/near common areas. Our room was right above the breakfast area, so we were able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Good hotel, very near historic places. You can walk to Boston Common Park and it's only two blocks from public transportation. The forniture and bathroom are a little old, but everything works properly.

Room Tip: Rooms at 6th floor can connect to the free wifi!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rafaromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The place is in a good location. Right near Back Bay Station and Brookline but it can really use a face lift. Even the bedspreads scream the 1960's. It was clean and sufficient so perfectly adequate.
Breakfast was good and a nice perk.

Room Tip: The entrance is very hard to find unless you know to go down a little street and go in unmarked door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked this hotel as it was one that was close to the train station and was just under $1000 for 4 nights stay, hotels can be a bit pricey in Boston I found. The hotel was good, but in need of a bit of love and attention, a bit of fresh paint and a bit more care for presentation is needed. The shower in a our room had a few areas which had grubby grouting and could have done with a bit of updating, the breakfast room looked a bit tired too. The staff where always very helpful and pleasant, as I was travelling with my mum who uses a wheelchair and I had no problem asking them to accommodate us in a disabled room. All in all a good stay but would like a bit more luxury next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank walkerv05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this charming hotel. BCH is an 8-story older hotel surrounded by modern glass skyscrapers and a concrete parking garage. Step inside and you are in another world. The lobby is spacious and elegant, and my queen room was larger than I expected. Modern amenities include free wi-fi and a 24hr business center. The staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful, especially desk staffer Kelley. The rooms could do with a bit of cosmetic touch ups ( chipped paint on door frame, chipped porcelain in tub) but the room was very, very clean! Another great feature is the complimentary breakfast in a lovely garden room with conservatory windows. My room was wonderfully quiet and with darkened shades I slept very well. The location is perfect! Just a block from Trinity Church and the square. I would definitely stay here again. Truly, a hidden gem. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoMusicTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Charlestown
Constitution Inn
Constitution Inn
#82 of 86 in Boston
784 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#78 of 86 in Boston
296 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 86 in Boston
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 86 in Boston
559 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 86 in Boston
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing