We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #79 of 83 Hotels in Boston
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights, this hotel is clean and welcoming.

A bit old though, but it was okay for us.

Room are clean and large, nothing special to say, the bed is comfortable, bathroom with a lack of light.

Wifi okay in our room, but better in a lobby as usual.

Front desk helpful and friendly.

I recommend to anyone for a short stay or business trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    267
    260
    114
    74
See reviews for
126
308
60
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Comfortable room. They stored our luggage for the day while we went around Boston. Friendly front desk. Had to take own bags up to room which was not a big deal. Breakfast was plain and simple - nothing special. need better signage in front. Sign was very small and entrance not clearly marked.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

As I'm sure all other reviewers have mentioned, this place is very, VERY outdated. It actually felt a lot like stepping back in time, but I bumped what would have been a 3 star review to a 4 star one because the bed was unbelievably comfortable. Let's break it down:

The good:
-the location is great: near Copley Square and the Back Bay T station.
-the price: although still high (I think) at $169 a night for a summer weekend, it was significantly less than other hotels in the area.
it's clean, though it doesn't exactly look super clean because everything is so old that some carpet stains (for instance) are just permanent.
-the people at the front desk were all incredibly nice.
-there is free wifi in the lobby and sometimes in the rooms. I guess it can be patchy. They do have a business center, though, if you're desperate.
-the most amazingly comfortable bed ever.

The not-so-good/bad:
-it's old and it looks old. The room had a tube tv. I haven't seen one of those outside of someone's house in a while. I'm pretty sure the hotel is not handicap accessible. At least not that I could see. You have to go up about half a flight of stairs from the street and the door has is pull/push (which is super fun when you're hauling luggage around). The carpet desperately needs to be replaced. The bathroom in the room gave me flashbacks to my grade school bathrooms (a combination of the tile, the color, the low-sitting industrial-style toiled, the chipped sink, etc.).
-it's a bit hard to find: the entrance is on the dead end portion of Trinity Street and it looks nothing like a hotel entrance. There is also no place to stop a car out front and unload and check in before parking.
-the front desk staff, although nice, was not overly knowledgeable. Well, in fairness, I only asked one question about there area, but it should have been a simple one: where can we get some dessert like a slice of cake or a brownie to eat up in the room? The best the woman behind the desk could do was direct me (incorrectly as it turned out) to a Shaw's. Following her directions, I passed right by an Au Bon Pain and got some yummy cupcakes.
-the elevators: they worked flawlessly, but they were a bit frightening. In one you could very loudly hear the chains in the elevator shaft. It really sounded like there was a guy back there pulling on the chains, hauling the car up and down. I named him Pierre.

I know the lists of not-so-goods is longer than the list of goods, but I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat the next time I'm in the Boston area. It's seriously no frills, but it get's the job done and I'm going to be missing that bed for a while.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
519 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The location can't be beat. Located at Copley Square and a half a block walk from back bay express bus from Logan. Free wifi in the lobby and breakfast. Hotel is dated but only stayed one night and thus got a good nights sleep.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here five years ago while we were visiting Boston. This hotel was great! It was in a great area, not far away from transportation, restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions, etc. It was still fairly quiet for being in a busy business area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again if we ever get to go back to Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location, right across from shops, restaurants etc and only a 15-20 min walk to downtown Boston. Although I didn't get one as the weather was lovely and I wanted to walk, there were plenty of buses and as far as I'm told there is a train station really close by.
The girl behind the desk was really welcoming when I arrived and was pleasant throughout our stay. The rooms are dated but ours was exceptionally clean. Shower worked and bed was comfy. Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that, overall I was really impressed considering what I had paid, I booked on priceline and was able to get a deal. Had met a few other people staying in near by hotels and they literally had paid more than double what I paid, so I was well chuffed. Boston is such a nice city, so unless your planning on sitting in your room all day then maybe splash out a bit, but this place is great to rest your head at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room 803, wifi was perfect If you don't mind being on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi222g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel looks like you are walking into a 1920's hotel, which is losing its charm. Things are bit rough around the edges. Rooms are large and clean. The place was adequate for a few nights for a conference. The big surprise of the place was how quiet the hotel is. Seriously, my room's window was off the breakfast area. I never heard anything from there. I walked outside onto the street and realized how noise the streets were, which you did not hear inside. I did hear people out in the hallway, but you expect that at a hotel. I did not hear any outside noise.

I think breakfast was included. I went downstair to check it out; it was pretty basic continental. Nothing to write home about, I preferred buying a coffee and yogurt somewhere else.

The staff seemed friendly. I was able to check my bags in a locked storage area, which locks/unlocks remotely at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#51 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#66 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing