We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but great, great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
carlsbad
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Expensive but great, great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Okay, Boston is a terribly expensive city. I went to Residence on Tudor Wharft to escape the $400 night rooms. The staff was unbelievably helpful and resourceful. We got tips where to go, what to see, and they even printed out and had info waiting for us as we checked in! (without even asking for that service!) You are about a half mile from the restaurant row (Go to Giaraco's Italian). Rooms were great, and we got upgraded for no reason, which was very nice with a full refrigerator, etc. etc. Views are okay, but we left early in a.m. to fly out. If you want to save money, go WAY OUT OF BOSTON CITY to get your hotel. The state of MA also loves to tax the rooms to death, so keep that in mind. I would stay here again, but I have little money to do what I did this time, so I will go an hour outside of Boston I think and stay at $150 instead of $300 rooms. Left too early to eat free bfast (darn!)

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarlsbadJohn_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your review, as we truly appreciate you sharing your experience regarding the customer service you received. With so much to do and see in the area, our staff is always willing to share helpful tips and direct our guests to the best places to go! We'd love the chance to welcome you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf. When you get the chance, take a look at our Specials & Packages page on our website. We're always offering great deals year round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    274
    66
    19
    6
See reviews for
318
218
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed for a week at the Residence Inn and found it to be the perfect jumping off point for walking around Boston. It is on the Freedom Trail and provides easy access to Bunker Hill and the USS Constitution. It is also just a short walk across the bridge (<0.5 mile) to Boston's North End where we found some tasty Italian Food. For attractions that are a bit further away the North Station subway is about a half mile walk. The rooms were clean and comfortable and while we didn't use the kitchen to cook, the full sized refrigerator was nice for stocking up on drinks and storing leftovers (especially the canollis from Mike's Pastry!). The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast offered an impressive array of choices, however we often opted to bring the food up to the room because it did get crowded later in the morning and it could be hard to find seating.

Room Tip: Try to get a water view. The view from the other side of the hotel looked unimpressive (the TD Gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
After staying with us for a week, we're delighted that you shared your experience. It sounds like you really made the most out of your visit! We want our guests to feel right at home while staying in one of our suites so we're glad that our full-sized refrigerator came in handy for storing your leftovers. Since everything from Mike's Pastry is made fresh on the premises, we bet the cannoli were delicious! We hope any inconveniences that you experienced during breakfast were minimal. Thank you for sharing your review about the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf and we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back for another Boston vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Good for walking to the North End, waterfront, Freedom Trail, USS Constitution, etc. Decently sized rooms which were clean. The staff is freindly and accomadating and there was a decent buffet at breakfast each morning altough on labor day weekend not enough seating for all the guests once you got past 9:00 AM.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanleydouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
On a nice, fall day, walking around the city is a great way to spend an afternoon and we appreciate you pointing out a few of the attractions that are located within walking distance to us. Thank you for your kind review, as we're always grateful when a guest takes the time to share their feedback regarding our staff members, breakfast buffet and accommodations. For any inconveniences that you experienced over the busy holiday weekend, we truly apologize and hope that we'll get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family stayed at the Residence Inn on August 29. We were scheduled to arrive at Logan on a morning flight and I had requested early check in at the hotel. We were able to arrive on an even earlier flight and the hotel was so nice to allow us to check into our room at 9:00 a.m. I was not expecting that. I thought we would just leave our luggage and check into the hotel later in the day.

Splendid hotel. Beautiful room and view of the harbor and the USS Constitution. Easy walk over the bridge to the North Station T stop. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed the evening food, too.

After a day of college tours and sightseeing, it was fun to go back to the hotel, unwind for a bit and then walk over the bridge for dinner in the North End.

I would stay here again -- you don't know how I agonized over where to stay and this was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
I couldn't be happier to read that our staff was able to check you in to your room earlier than expected. It's always our pleasure to be able to accommodate the requests of our guests and we're delighted that your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf has inspired a return visit. Thank you for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great location! Nice views from this hotel. Service is excellent. Lots of choices for breakfast. Grocery store nearby although hotel offers complimentary grocery shopping. Shortcut 5 mins. Walk to trains which is cheap and easy to navigate...two or three stops from downtown and main shopping hub.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chinamom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
We couldn't agree more! Boston is the best city for walking around and we're delighted that you were inspired to share your experience with us. While walking and exploring the local attractions is always a favorite for our guests, we're glad that you've mentioned that public transportation is conveniently located nearby. Thank you for sharing your great feedback and we hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is in a nice location, next to the U.S.S. Constitution. The staff are very friendly and accomodating, and the rooms are very comfortable - full kitchen, modern furnishings, plush bed. Free internet is a +, and the breakfast was excellent - quality, wholesome food. My only complaint was $35.00 per day for parking is a bit steep, and the "Manager's Reception" at night - usually a pretty nice meal at a Residence - was nothing to write home about. "BBQ Night" was boiled hot dogs and chips, "Italian Night" was Swedish Meatballs, etc. They could improve on the quality of the food during the evening receptions. Other than that, though, I would recommend staying at this hotel, it's a 9 out of 10 in my book.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your high rating and recommendation! Though our parking rates are comparable to the area, we truly regret any inconveniences and greatly appreciate you sharing your helpful feedback regarding your recent stay. I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration for the future, as we always want to ensure that our guests' time with us exceeds their expectations in all areas. As we take this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best services for our guests, we hope that we get the pleasure to welcome you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed on the third floor of this pet friendly hotel. The staff was found to be polite and helpful, the hotel, clean,, quiet and secure. Our suite was furnished nicely and in good shape. The kitchen had a full size fridge with auto ice maker, small dishwasher, two burner ceramic cooktop and quartz counter top. Our room gave us a nice view of the marina and the USS Constitution. Room came with a free breakfast, the usual inclusive food, high calorie high carb. I passed on that. The location of this hotel was great. Close to freedom trail, subway, shuttle buses and the USS Constitution. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: get an east side room, gives you a beautiful sunrise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelleytemperance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf. Since our future guests may not know that each of our suites include a fully equipped kitchen, we truly appreciate that you've mentioned our guest room amenities. During your visit, we're glad that you had a moment to take in the scenic views and enjoy our location on the harbor. You've mentioned wonderful attractions to visit while vacationing with us and we sincerely appreciate your thoughtful comments regarding our staff and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,440 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#34 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Property: Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Address: 34 Charles River Ave # 44, Boston, MA 02129-2005
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing