We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

Stayed 4 nights... Easy to get to anywhere, with quick scenic walk across bridge to North End, and if needed, North Subway Station. Breakfasts are great, rooms are large, staff is friendly and helpful. A real find is Max and Dylan's, just a few steps from the front door...great food and open late.

We walked almost everywhere (with our 11 yo grandson and 8.5 yo grand-daughter) including the Children's Museum. This is a fine location for those who want the hassel free breakfast and a 2 or 3 room suite....We will return here next trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    278
    68
    19
    6
See reviews for
324
221
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed in May 2010 and found most hotels in Boston city center very expensive as it was graduation week. This hotel is a short walk (15-20 mins) out from the centre but this did not bother us. The location is close to the USS Constitution, Bunker Hill Monument and is right on the Freedom Trail. We used the hop on and off trolley to get us around as there was an offer if bought one day you got another day free. There are a few places to eat near by. We had a room with a seperate lounge and a kitchenette, the staff we very helpful and even remembered our names. Breakfast buffet is free and covers most foods from healthy to not so healthy. There was a small gym and pool but as the hotel is on the harbour walk we went for a run as it was more enjoyable. There is a great pub the Warren Taven 5-10 minute walk, very sociable and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeLittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

I've stayed at Residence Inn's across the country. This one is average compared to others. For a short Boston visit its not bad. But long term there's not enough options around it compared to the nearby competition. With just a handful of dining options unless you walk across a bridge to the Boston side it's not the best location for more than a couple of days.

The breakfast was good. The night time service was cheese, crackers and nothing hot. At least on a Wednesday evening. But I've stayed at Residence Inn's where every offered meal was a meal. Not cold finger foods.

The staff however was excellent and accommodating
.
In summary don't let the appearance of the wharf location fool you. This is an older Residence Inn. There's other hotels in more advantageous location in Boston that offer better options all around.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chase71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia area
Level Contributor
343 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

This hotel is right on the Freedom Trail making it easy to get around. It's on the Charlestown side so its a bit of a hike from downtown Boston. If you have any exercise under your belt and good shoes, the walk should be easy. The North End section of the city is under a mile with tons of restaurants. This hotel is close to a tour bus stop and the water taxis...no car is needed once you get there. that's a good thing because the hotel charges $30 a day for parking and parking in the city is crazy.
Our room was a double bedroom with a living room. It was a great deal and the beds were so comfortable. To give you an idea, I found out my father died while I was on this trip...we had to wait until the next day to leave for our flight. I slept much better there than now when I'm home!
Our room overlooked the harbor with a boat dock and Boston. During the day, the boats were peaceful and at night, the Boston skyline looked wonderful. Yes, we could even see the Old North Church spire from our window.
Breakfast was delicious...eggs, sausage, waffles, croissants, biscuits, etc. And the usual continental spread too. We left stuffed and could put off lunch even after walking all morning. The staff was really on the ball too.
We had a kitchen in the room and its convenient...except we had no baking sheet. So it was hard to reheat food (I have 3 little boys). So I called down and they claimed they had no baking sheets in the whole hotel. huh. So someone brought up 1 sheet of aluminum foil. I found it hilarious that they wouldn't trust us with the roll!
While on the Freedom Trail, there aren't a huge number of restaurants close. We hit everyone in our three day trip and had to make a bit of a march to find anything new. There is an AWESOME ice cream place (Emack and Bolio's) less than a block away.
For those of you with kids, there's a cute playground less than a block away. Just walk behind the hotel and there it is. Clean, convenient with picnic tables too. I wished they had told me about it when I checked it. I saw it as we passed over the bridge.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

My family and I were looking for a reasonably priced weekend getaway, and were surprised to find this Residence Inn at an affordable rate in Boston. The suites were a good size for 2 adults and 2 small children. The bedroom and living room in the 1 bedroom suites were fully separated, providing privacy for the late evening hours after the kids go to sleep. The location of the hotel was great. While not right in the middle of the major Boston attractions, this hotel still sits right on the Harbor, and we had no trouble walking to all of our desired destinations. The staff was incredibly friendly, more so than any other hotel we've stayed at in recent memory.

The only complaint we had was one that probably would not bother most people, but is worth mentioning. Our room was on the second floor, overlooking the harbor - a pretty nice view. During the day we could watch the activity of the neighboring marina, the boats sailing on the harbor, and the planes taking off and landing at Logan Airport in the distance. But shortly after sunset, the hotel would turn on some VERY bright floodlights that were pointed right up at our windows to illuminate the building. Unfortunately, it completely wiped out all view from the window, so relaxing with a drink while overlooking the harbor in the late evenings and nights was out of the question.

Overall our stay was excellent, and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundance211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We travelled to Boston with 2 young children and found this hotel totally met all our requirements. We had a lovely suite, with separate bedroom with TV (2 queen beds) & travel cot was provided. It had a separate lounge room with TV, small kitchenette, which included a fridge freezer and dishwasher, microwave and hob. The separate living room was great
Breakfast was included in the rate which was great. Cereals, waffles, muffins, bagels, toast, fruit/yoghurts, and hot food, scrambled eggs, sausages etc and we loved it. On 4 of the evenings they also provided an evening snack/reception downstairs, different theme each night i.e. pizza night, BBQ etc.
The location was great also for us. We love walking and it was about 15min walk to Faniel Hall/Aquarium. and 10 mins to Italian district.
The hotel is about 5 mins from US constitution. If you walk through the shipyard, you can get the boat taxi to the Aquarium which is right beside Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market.(about $1.90 pp and kids are free).
As mentioned on the site, if you turn left coming out of the hotel and walk through the little park (which has a lovely quiet playground for the kids) and over the water bridges, you reach North Station (Under big sign for D Garden). You can get subway pretty much anywhere from here. We found all the subway stations fully accessible as we were travelling with double stroller, just look for the wheelchair sign for lifts. Kids free on the subway. We would walk over the Charles River Bridge and that would take you straight down to the North End, lots of great Italians.
Beside the hotel is a lovely restaurant which is great for kids, Max & Dylan’s. There is also a great ice cream shop and Sorrels coffee shop.
We had fantastic time in Boston. Went to Childrens Museum (highlight for the kids), Aquarium, Big Apple Circus, Boston Common with frog playground, Swan Boats, Harvard/Cambridge., Franklin Pk Zoo.
Some good restaurants we ate in which were good with kids, Max & Dylans (beside hotel -good kids menu), Antico Forno, Salem St, Joes - beside Aquarium at Christopher Columbus Pk (playground outside it and good kids menu ), Cheesecake Factory at prudential Centre.
We also took a trip to outlets in Wrentham, private coach picked us up at hotel, kids were free - got some great bargains there.
Overall , had a very enjoyable trip and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebecailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franconia, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

Our room was immaculate, comfortable & the view was amazing. We were celebrating our anniversary and since we have some food allergies, we consulted Dottie and were so pleased with her recommendation - we ate there twice! Dottie made us feel like we were old friends. She remembered our names, remembered our anniversary, remembered what we did for the day, remembered what we were doing tomorrow and made sure our cab was there when we needed it. We were having a great weekend but Dottie made it a wonderful weekend. I'd go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1959058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Address: 34 Charles River Ave # 44, Boston, MA 02129-2005
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing