We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The College Club of Boston
Ranked #10 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for business recently at College Club. Very well located. Good service. Breakfast was somewhat unappealing. Wi-fi was very slow. Bed was not very comfortable. In this historic house perhaps are from a previous century.

Room Tip: Ask for room on lower floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarreMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for The College Club of Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We recently had a wonderful stay at the College Club in March. I seriously could not fault our experience - except that the lighting in the room is minimal. Boston seems to be quite an expensive city for accommodation, but the College Club was one of the most affordable options available. It is very small with only eleven guest rooms. However, each one is individually styled to feel warm and homely, which made it a much more delightful experience than staying in a chain hotel. The double rooms themselves are actually huge. Interestingly, none of them have a television in them, but this was not a concern for us. We stayed in the Simmons room, which is gorgeous and had a modern bathroom. It also has a bay window, where I loved to sit and watch the snow fall. The location is ideal too. It is situated on Commonwealth Avenue, a street lined with beautiful Victorian brownstone buildings and trees covered in fairy lights. It is within easy walking distance of nearly all main sights.

I have written a more detailed review of my stay in Boston here: http://rebeccaearl.net/usa-trip-beautiful-boston/

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We enjoyed a three night stay in this elegant brownstone B&B in this scenic and convenient location in Boston. We had chosen a double with bath (singles use a bath shared with two rooms) and found ourselves in a large, high ceilinged room, the Smith Room, which was decorated in pale yellow and blue toile. The white marble fireplace was a nice focal point when we sat and read in the period upholstered chairs. As we looked out on Commonwealth Ave, we experienced a bit of city noise, but not at a bothersome level. As we were close to Boston Garden as well as Newbury and Boylston streets, we had the pleasure of walking in the park or finding eateries close by.

Staff were helpful but not intrusive. The facility was spotlessly clean, and though the temps outside were low, our room was toasty warm. We found the cold breakfast buffet more than adequate, with cereals, various breads, yogurts, boiled eggs, and fresh fruitcups. The coffee and tea were available around the clock and we enjoyed our share of the cookies provided most of the day.

The only fault I could find was that the free WiFi was a bit flaky; sometimes it was adequate to stream live content on our devices and at other times we had trouble loading websites.

Room Tip: A couple of days before our scheduled arrival, the hotel called to ask if we preferred that the room...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1fromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It is not far from the city centre - a short walk away across the common. I had a very interesting bedrooms, but the lighting could have been better. The breakfast was adequate. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had breakfast and lunch over several days and the food was fantastic. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are beautiful! The weather sucked, but that isn't under the control of management. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the College Club for 1 night last week. We are return guests and this was our 4th stay.

Everything was perfect except for breakfast. The kitchen staff did not show up on Sunday morning. I emailed the hotel explaining the issue and asked for a discount on my next stay. They never responded to my email.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Coming in late , not really wanting to face concierges or bell people?
I let myself in and went straight to my room, the key was waiting in the hall!
Clean and roomy, a little worn, but in a good way!

Room Tip: Unless yopu really don't care get a private bath!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#33 of 84 in Boston
2,819 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 84 in Boston
2,189 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Club of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Club of Boston

Address: 44 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02116-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £162 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The College Club of Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The College Club's eleven guest rooms offer Back Bay charm and personal comfort to visitors. Six rooms have decorative fireplaces and private baths, while the five single occupancy rooms have shared baths. Each room's decor is unique to the college it represents. Free wireless internet is available. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered daily. Located in Boston's historic Back Bay, The Club is within walking distance of the Freedom Trail, Theater District, Beacon Hill, Public Garden, and Copley Square. There are many excellent restaurants and shops all within walking distance of The College Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The College Club of Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Club Of Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing