We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I decided to get away for a few days with our dog Oscar, a King Charles Cavalier Spaniel and we could not have had a better time. The staff, most notably John, Lauren, and many of the other workers were amazing, and catered to our every need. Not only that, they truly made Oscar (our little pup) feel welcome and loved and didn't hesitate to take him for walks, lavished him treats, and were even kind enough to take him downstairs while we had room service (where he was the star of the show in reception I gather). I can't thank the staff of the Onyx enough for such a wonderful stay and for making our whole family, especially little Oscar feel welcome. He misses you all and gives a big "rowf!" which means thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessiekc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear Jessiekc1,

I'm glad you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us! We love when our guests bring pets to the hotel, and I'm so happy we were able to take such good care of yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

We only got to spend one day and one night in Boston, which was the last destination of our whirlwind vacation, but the Onyx staff helped us make the most of it. We checked in after our three-hour whale watching trip, so our 13-year old was understandably tired. We asked our bell-man about restaurants in the area, so he was in the room when my son said he didn't want to go out to dinner with us. When my husband, daughter, and I returned from dinner in the North End (Little Italy--yum!) , we were pleasntly surprised to find that the front desk had sent cookies up to the room for the kids, and cheese and crackers for us. It was a great way to satisfy my son until we got back with dinner for him. The staff at the hotel was so helpful with everything from directions to suggestions on how to get the most out of our limited time. They suggested taking the Old Town Trolley tour, which is exactly what we did. Yes, the rooms are small, but comfortable, and the shower was fantastic!! Although the immediate neighborhood is quiet after 5:00 p.m., the hotel is walking distance to Long Wharf, Quincy Market, Faneuil Hall, and the North End, so that didn't matter to us. I've never met a more thoughtful staff in my travels, and we would definitely stay at the Onyx again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The staff was nothing short of outstnading. They went above and beyond to make sure us and our dogs were well taken care of. The hotel itself is fabulous. Great location and in walking distance of the best of Boston. The attention and kindness the staff paid to us and our dogs can only be described as pheonominal. While most hotels wouldn't even consider having pets, the embraced them with open arms and make you feel that they are honored to have you and your pets stay at their hotel. If ever in Boston again we will book there again. We will now be planning our all of our vacations of where Kimptons have hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaryAnn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear CaryAnn2 ,

Thank you for your thoughtful message! We love interacting with our guest's pets and it is wonderful to hear that you and your animals were treated with such great care during your stay. All of our hotels are pet friendly and so they are welcome to stay with Kimpton any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We arrived the night the Bruins won the stanley cup...The hotel is about 900 feet from the Garden, and a huge awaiting crowd on the streets raised hell until the police gently shut them down around 1 AM, which was about the time we got to sleep. And we all slept well in our adjoining corner rooms 1001 & 1002. The continental breakfast included coffee, juices, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breads & pastries, just enough to get going. If you opt to eat out, there is an Au bon pain bakery accross the street for breakfast, and a Subway 250 feet away, for picnics or late night munchies. The convenience extends to a 7-11 on the corner, and a CVS a block from that, and at least 20 bars, pubs and restaurants in the immediate area of the hotel. The hotel is also close to a T, which we used a lot in our 5 days in Boston, The Charlie Card that allows you to use all MBTA assets within the greater Boston area, (and Salem, Concord, and Lexington) is a great value (kids under 12 free w/adult). Hanover street, heart of the North end, and all that great Italian food is just far enough away to walk off your meal back to the hotel. We had drinks and snacks one night in the Ruby Room, it was nice to have that available on the property
The customer service at the hotel was excellent, despite being full to capacity due to the Bruins win and the parade; the staff was always helpful, friendly and professional. On my Birthday I was presented a bucket of Sam Adams', which made the trip even better.
The rooms themselves are smaller, pretty much a theme for Boston; but done in muted contrasting colors, with comfy bedding and linens, great TV's, wireless internet, and bathrooms. Most important....we all slept great, this from people who live in the country.
All in all the great location, and great customer service contributed to a memorable stay in Boston. Thanks Hayat, Lauren, the 2 Johns, and all.

Room Tip: Government Travelers: Unmatched value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outthere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We found this hotel using other trip advisor reviews and we loved it. The staff greeted us with a glass of wine which was very welcome after a long drive. The staff were also very helpful with some of our unusual requests as we had brought our road bikes to do some touring around Boston. They were always gracious.

We loved being close to the North End and the wharves. The only drawback is that the neighbourhood rolls up the carpets early so it is hard to get a late night drink and the area gets a bit spooky with no one around after 10 pm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Great hotel, true it's very small. It is in the absolute perfect location to see and walk Boston! Taxis can be hard to come by and the hotel had a car onsite that was a flat rate to the airport. Made travel so much nicer at the end of the trip. Staff very accommodating and friendly, all of their recommendations were spot on. Overall a great Kimpton property.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, let's go with quaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fujofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Onyx is a very nice boutique hotel. Rooms are nice, although a bit on the small side. Defineltly no view, except for a brick wall and a partial view of the alley, which my 11 year old asked "do you think they sell drugs down there?" The only problem I had, was the location. I didn't realize that everything right around the hotel closed early or was not openat all. We wanted to order food at 10:15pm and was told that food no longer was being served, due to lack of customers. Disapponting when my 11 year old is hungry. But for the most part, all the male staff was great and valet was quick. I don't think i'll stay here again, but for people who eat and go to bed early, this would be great for them.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,099 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £123 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing