We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST SURPRISE EVER”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
1 review
“BEST SURPRISE EVER”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I am one of 12 children (incl. "In-Laws") that went to Boston last week to surprise our parents for their 60th Birthdays. We sent them their from Chicago to go to a game at Fenway and Whale Watching. It was a true surprise and they had no idea... it was the first time we were all on vacation together in over 15 years. With us coming from 5 different states across the country to do so... pulling off the surprise was a challenge. Well, the real surprise was the staff at Onyx... THERE WERE FIRST CLASS!!! They were in on the surprise making sure reservations were under untraceable names... we were never spotted... and that it would run flawlessly. They let us know when our parents returned to their room so we could surprise them by singing Happy Birthday outside their door.... and they even took it upon themselves to send up a Bottle of Champaign to the room. I travel a ton and this was the most impressive hotel staff I have ever encountered!!! Thanks to Hayat, John, & especially Lauren... the rest of the staff, and a beautiful hotel in a great location... WE HAD THE VACATION OF A LIFETIME!!! WE THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Call Lauren at the Onyx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammy1in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Hammy1in,

What an amazing story! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is incredible that you were able to get your family members from all over the country together for your parents 60th birthday celebration! I'm thrilled that we were able to assist in keeping this a surprise and I couldn't be happier that you had such an unforgettable vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    474
    162
    61
    24
See reviews for
286
531
67
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martigny-Croix, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Onyx is a wonderful addition to the North Station area. Steps from the trains and North End and Quincy Market. My room was gorgeous and very quiet - didn't hear any noise from the hall during the night, bed was super comfortable and I was greeted with a glass of wine when I walked into the lobby to check in. The desk staff was always smiling and cheerful. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaupeep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I decided to get away for a few days with our dog Oscar, a King Charles Cavalier Spaniel and we could not have had a better time. The staff, most notably John, Lauren, and many of the other workers were amazing, and catered to our every need. Not only that, they truly made Oscar (our little pup) feel welcome and loved and didn't hesitate to take him for walks, lavished him treats, and were even kind enough to take him downstairs while we had room service (where he was the star of the show in reception I gather). I can't thank the staff of the Onyx enough for such a wonderful stay and for making our whole family, especially little Oscar feel welcome. He misses you all and gives a big "rowf!" which means thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessiekc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Jessiekc1,

I'm glad you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us! We love when our guests bring pets to the hotel, and I'm so happy we were able to take such good care of yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We only got to spend one day and one night in Boston, which was the last destination of our whirlwind vacation, but the Onyx staff helped us make the most of it. We checked in after our three-hour whale watching trip, so our 13-year old was understandably tired. We asked our bell-man about restaurants in the area, so he was in the room when my son said he didn't want to go out to dinner with us. When my husband, daughter, and I returned from dinner in the North End (Little Italy--yum!) , we were pleasntly surprised to find that the front desk had sent cookies up to the room for the kids, and cheese and crackers for us. It was a great way to satisfy my son until we got back with dinner for him. The staff at the hotel was so helpful with everything from directions to suggestions on how to get the most out of our limited time. They suggested taking the Old Town Trolley tour, which is exactly what we did. Yes, the rooms are small, but comfortable, and the shower was fantastic!! Although the immediate neighborhood is quiet after 5:00 p.m., the hotel is walking distance to Long Wharf, Quincy Market, Faneuil Hall, and the North End, so that didn't matter to us. I've never met a more thoughtful staff in my travels, and we would definitely stay at the Onyx again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The staff was nothing short of outstnading. They went above and beyond to make sure us and our dogs were well taken care of. The hotel itself is fabulous. Great location and in walking distance of the best of Boston. The attention and kindness the staff paid to us and our dogs can only be described as pheonominal. While most hotels wouldn't even consider having pets, the embraced them with open arms and make you feel that they are honored to have you and your pets stay at their hotel. If ever in Boston again we will book there again. We will now be planning our all of our vacations of where Kimptons have hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaryAnn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear CaryAnn2 ,

Thank you for your thoughtful message! We love interacting with our guest's pets and it is wonderful to hear that you and your animals were treated with such great care during your stay. All of our hotels are pet friendly and so they are welcome to stay with Kimpton any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We arrived the night the Bruins won the stanley cup...The hotel is about 900 feet from the Garden, and a huge awaiting crowd on the streets raised hell until the police gently shut them down around 1 AM, which was about the time we got to sleep. And we all slept well in our adjoining corner rooms 1001 & 1002. The continental breakfast included coffee, juices, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breads & pastries, just enough to get going. If you opt to eat out, there is an Au bon pain bakery accross the street for breakfast, and a Subway 250 feet away, for picnics or late night munchies. The convenience extends to a 7-11 on the corner, and a CVS a block from that, and at least 20 bars, pubs and restaurants in the immediate area of the hotel. The hotel is also close to a T, which we used a lot in our 5 days in Boston, The Charlie Card that allows you to use all MBTA assets within the greater Boston area, (and Salem, Concord, and Lexington) is a great value (kids under 12 free w/adult). Hanover street, heart of the North end, and all that great Italian food is just far enough away to walk off your meal back to the hotel. We had drinks and snacks one night in the Ruby Room, it was nice to have that available on the property
The customer service at the hotel was excellent, despite being full to capacity due to the Bruins win and the parade; the staff was always helpful, friendly and professional. On my Birthday I was presented a bucket of Sam Adams', which made the trip even better.
The rooms themselves are smaller, pretty much a theme for Boston; but done in muted contrasting colors, with comfy bedding and linens, great TV's, wireless internet, and bathrooms. Most important....we all slept great, this from people who live in the country.
All in all the great location, and great customer service contributed to a memorable stay in Boston. Thanks Hayat, Lauren, the 2 Johns, and all.

Room Tip: Government Travelers: Unmatched value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outthere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We found this hotel using other trip advisor reviews and we loved it. The staff greeted us with a glass of wine which was very welcome after a long drive. The staff were also very helpful with some of our unusual requests as we had brought our road bikes to do some touring around Boston. They were always gracious.

We loved being close to the North End and the wharves. The only drawback is that the neighbourhood rolls up the carpets early so it is hard to get a late night drink and the area gets a bit spooky with no one around after 10 pm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,045 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing