We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Onyx in Boston for a quick weekend trip. The service at this hotel was absolutely amazing! The staff really went above and beyond to be helpful and were extraordinarily nice! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank useyourvacationtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    460
    159
    60
    24
See reviews for
271
522
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Never disappointed in a Kimpton Hotel and the Onyx matches up. Surprisingly good location close to a "T" stop and the North End and all of its great restaurants. Stayed in a king room which was plenty big enough; bathroom had only one sink but plenty of shelf and storage space. The staff was very accommodating even printing out my boarding passes and checking in my bags. They went out of their way to help get us to dinner despite the rain. Greeted with a bottle of wine as part of the Kimpton in Touch program which is a must. After we checked out of the hotel, we remembered we left our IPOD. I called and they had already found it and made arrangements to ship to us. Will definitely add the ONYX as a place to stay and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Kimpton hotels always delivers. although i was frustrated prior to arrival (getting in touch with concierge is impossible and no one responded to the on line form i filled out) our stay was phenomenal. Front desk and the bell team were fantastic and it seems like the leadership taught their team well on how to provide great customer service. Will be back but i hope they get a bit more tech savvy prior to arrivals...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotleyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband an our two children stayed for seven days. The staff was more than gracious. The rooms were very nice, but on the small side. It would have been perfect for my husband and I or for all of us for a couple of days, but it was rather cramped by seven. My children are ten and twelve. It near so many things and just a short walk to the North Station T, which will take you anywhere you need to go in the city, plus the commuter rail is located there as well. It was right across the street from bakery, so you had breakfast every morning. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHaynie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I am one of 12 children (incl. "In-Laws") that went to Boston last week to surprise our parents for their 60th Birthdays. We sent them their from Chicago to go to a game at Fenway and Whale Watching. It was a true surprise and they had no idea... it was the first time we were all on vacation together in over 15 years. With us coming from 5 different states across the country to do so... pulling off the surprise was a challenge. Well, the real surprise was the staff at Onyx... THERE WERE FIRST CLASS!!! They were in on the surprise making sure reservations were under untraceable names... we were never spotted... and that it would run flawlessly. They let us know when our parents returned to their room so we could surprise them by singing Happy Birthday outside their door.... and they even took it upon themselves to send up a Bottle of Champaign to the room. I travel a ton and this was the most impressive hotel staff I have ever encountered!!! Thanks to Hayat, John, & especially Lauren... the rest of the staff, and a beautiful hotel in a great location... WE HAD THE VACATION OF A LIFETIME!!! WE THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Call Lauren at the Onyx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammy1in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Hammy1in,

What an amazing story! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is incredible that you were able to get your family members from all over the country together for your parents 60th birthday celebration! I'm thrilled that we were able to assist in keeping this a surprise and I couldn't be happier that you had such an unforgettable vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martigny-Croix, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Onyx is a wonderful addition to the North Station area. Steps from the trains and North End and Quincy Market. My room was gorgeous and very quiet - didn't hear any noise from the hall during the night, bed was super comfortable and I was greeted with a glass of wine when I walked into the lobby to check in. The desk staff was always smiling and cheerful. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaupeep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I decided to get away for a few days with our dog Oscar, a King Charles Cavalier Spaniel and we could not have had a better time. The staff, most notably John, Lauren, and many of the other workers were amazing, and catered to our every need. Not only that, they truly made Oscar (our little pup) feel welcome and loved and didn't hesitate to take him for walks, lavished him treats, and were even kind enough to take him downstairs while we had room service (where he was the star of the show in reception I gather). I can't thank the staff of the Onyx enough for such a wonderful stay and for making our whole family, especially little Oscar feel welcome. He misses you all and gives a big "rowf!" which means thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessiekc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Jessiekc1,

I'm glad you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us! We love when our guests bring pets to the hotel, and I'm so happy we were able to take such good care of yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing