We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay here”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“do not stay here”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is not in a good spot in Boston...You can not walk to attractions. The rooms are so small that you feel trapped!! The worst part is that the service is totally lacking... No valet out front...You have to leave your car and walk into the hotel to find someone to help you...Front desk not very helpful. We had asked for a late checkout so that we could sleep in. The front desk did not tell the maid about the late check out so the maid stormed into our room with one quick knock then opened the door around 10. I informed the front desk who didn't seem to really care....DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Your money will be better spent somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    470
    161
    61
    24
See reviews for
282
529
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the Onyx Hotel on Portland Street over a weekend for our visit to Boston, and found the hotel through TripAdvisor recommendations and the website. We used the 'wicked' promotion and got a great rate with a $25 food credit.
The hotel staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful with any requests. We had two rooms with king beds and they were very nice, a bit small, but all that we needed. The bathrooms are large and also very nice. The king bed was GREAT, pillows very luxurious.
We enjoyed the wine social hour at 5:00, and enjoyed after dinner drinks in the bar with friends. We ordered room service for breakfast one morning, the coffee was great and food delicious.
The hotel was a great location for us, a short walk to the Faneuil Hall area, a bit longer walk to Boston Commons to meet up with the Freedom Trail tours, and a very short walk to the North Station T. We walked to the Charles/MGH T stop to go to Harvard, and took a cab to the Back Bay area for lunch and shopping. We dined in the North End Italian area, at Francesca’s on North and Lucca on Hanover, both were withing walking distance of the hotel, had great atmosphere!
We highly recommend the Onyx Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BullCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Paris0618,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, from the location, to the food and the pillows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We spent 3 days in Boston and were really pleased with the Onyx. The hotel is well placed as close to the Heritage Trail, close to a subway station, 20 minute walk from the shops around Quincy Market.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well appointed - bathroom big, clean and nice products.
Breakfast highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghSarahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Onyx for our anniversary. We chose the Onyx because they are pet friendly and the price and location was perfect for us. I booked a Penthouse room for Memorial Weekend and got a great deal (by Boston standards) at $230 a night.

When we arrived, there was a cute sign with a bowl and dog biscuits welcoming our dogs. Check in was prompt and to our surprise they offered us 2 rooms for the price of 1! They had some open rooms for the weekend and since we brought our 2 Great Danes with us, they figured we could use the extra space. We were thrilled.

The room we reserved was clean and comfortable. The bed was plush and we got a great sleep. Since I had put in my reservation that it was our anniversary, they left us a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates which was a nice treat!

The second room, which we got complimentary, had a pull out sofa bed (no regular bed). The room was large, with a little seating area, a sink and bathroom. I’m not sure I’d want to stay in this room but it was great for our dogs.

The staff was very helpful. They offered us maps and asked if we needed recommendations – we didn’t take them up on these things though since we’re quite familiar with Boston. I also called down to request bowls because we forgot to pack ours and they promptly brought us two.

The location is great. We walked the dogs all over the city. The hotel is within 5 minutes of Faneuil Hall, the North End, and Beacon Hill. Any major attraction can be easily reached by the North Station or Haymarket T stops.

We would definitely stay here again. Between the great service, perfect location and the fact that it’s pet friendly, it was a great weekend getaway for us.

Room Tip: If you get a Penthouse room, be sure that it's a room with a bed and not a pull out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Traveler2585,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm so happy you enjoyed the Penthouse Suite and were able to bring your pets along. Our employees love taking care of the pets that come into our hotel, and I'm glad we were able to do that of yours! We hope you will return to the Onyx the next time you are in Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Onyx in Boston for a quick weekend trip. The service at this hotel was absolutely amazing! The staff really went above and beyond to be helpful and were extraordinarily nice! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank useyourvacationtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Never disappointed in a Kimpton Hotel and the Onyx matches up. Surprisingly good location close to a "T" stop and the North End and all of its great restaurants. Stayed in a king room which was plenty big enough; bathroom had only one sink but plenty of shelf and storage space. The staff was very accommodating even printing out my boarding passes and checking in my bags. They went out of their way to help get us to dinner despite the rain. Greeted with a bottle of wine as part of the Kimpton in Touch program which is a must. After we checked out of the hotel, we remembered we left our IPOD. I called and they had already found it and made arrangements to ship to us. Will definitely add the ONYX as a place to stay and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Kimpton hotels always delivers. although i was frustrated prior to arrival (getting in touch with concierge is impossible and no one responded to the on line form i filled out) our stay was phenomenal. Front desk and the bell team were fantastic and it seems like the leadership taught their team well on how to provide great customer service. Will be back but i hope they get a bit more tech savvy prior to arrivals...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotleyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,028 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,577 reviews
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing