We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Cramped Rooms”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed at Onyx for an evening in August, it is centrally located and within walking distance to Quincy Market, Union Oyster House, Faneuil Hall (all roughly a 5-10 minute walk). Rooms were clean, beds were firm and comfortable, staying in a DElux King bed room on the 4th Floor(402). Room was a bit cramped but didnt bother us as we were using the room to simply sleep. Bathroom was nice and spacious. There is no view except of neighboring rooms through your window. I am not sure I would have paid the full asking price for this hotel given the option (booked this through Sneaqaway) but all in all a positive experiance. Would reccomend if you are spending the day/night in Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachAddict82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

I don't understand how people can knock this hotel even the least bit. You get:

- Free WiFi (it actually worked, and wasn't slow!)
- Programmable A/C unit that actually works
- Flat panel TV
- Nice sized desk
- Great decor (especially compared to other hotels)
- iHome radio/iPod/iPhone player
- Leopard print robes
- Pet friendly
- Quiet (even with our room right next to the ice machine)
- Decent view (from our room which faced the street)
- In center city
- North station subway just a block away
- Great, helpful staff

We loved our stay here. The room was so comfortable I was actually happy and partially excited to head back at night and just relax. I think we paid $15 for a week subway/bus pass and used it to go everywhere. If you arrived via air, take the shuttle from the airport to the airport station on the blue line. Then you can transfer to the orange line at State and take the orange line to North Station. It's two small blocks and around the corner of Portland Street is the hotel. Check out mbta.com.

I suppose some might say the room is a bit small but neither of us noticed/mentioned it. Very clean. Another con is the parking since the hotel charges $42 a night I believe. We parked at the Government Center Parking Garage which you can literally see when standing outside the hotel on Portland street. It was about a block and a half away and parking was $10 a weekend night and $35 for a full week day. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but rather went out for brunch or picked up something cheap at Dunkin Donuts. You can't walk a block in Boston without seeing a DD. Starbucks are a bit scarce.

I remember thinking one night before I fell asleep that the A/C unit is a bit loud but was surprised it didn't bother me during the previous nights. It's not annoyingly loud or high pitched and didn't bother me even after noticing the noise. It only kicks on for very short periods of time anyway. My girlfriend is a super light sleeper and didn't notice the A/C until I mentioned it either. She wakes up even if she hears the cat walking on the carpet at home and thought it kind of odd the A/C didn't bother her either but no complaints!

Great location to take the subway just down to Faneuil Hall or out to Cambridge or Back Bay/South End or anywhere really. The area around the hotel felt perfectly safe even walking back late at night. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Boston. Four days and we still didn't get to experience even half of Boston!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polockius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Nice size room with comfortable bed. The problem seems to be with "back office". I stayed for two nights and it seemed everytime I was in the lobby or at the (small) front desk one of the three people crammed behind the desk was solving a billing complaint--making me worry and also causing long delays at the desk. In addition, right after checking in @ 6 pm a male staff member came to my room to check to make sure my honor bar was complete--it wasn't. A little uncomfortable for a female solo traveler. After all that, they charged me $31 for a bottle of wine I didn't drink from the honor bar. If you can't manage it stop offering it! Was also asked for a job by a bellman after seeing who I worked for on a fax they sent for me...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattleself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights here for some sightseeing around Boston. Comfortable room, friendly front-desk service at a good rate for a near city centre hotel. It is around 15mins walk from Quincy Market and the North End and close to two MTA stations for trips to Cambridge/Harvard and further into the city centre.
Would definitely stay again on a future visit to Boston.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramborao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Onyx Hotel in July, and upon arrival you felt like you were at home.The staff always friendly and ready to help you in any way.The room we got was very clean, the washroom was spotless.The bedsheets were fresh and crisp.The room also has a safe which I find very pratical. Location is good, within walking distance to Fanueil Hall and the North End (LITTLE ITALY), and close to a T-stop.One block away from the TD GARDENS.

The complementary wine hour at the Kimpton Hotels is always a treat.

Would recomend the Onyx to anyone looking for a great staffed hotel in Boston.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton In Touch program which is free and get a $10 credit to be used from the mini-bar an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vincentb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear Vincentb18,

Thank you for writing a review and for your reccomendation to other travelers! It brings me great pleasure to see that you were so satisfied with your stay, from the room, to our location and to our friendly staff. We hope you plan on returning in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is not in a good spot in Boston...You can not walk to attractions. The rooms are so small that you feel trapped!! The worst part is that the service is totally lacking... No valet out front...You have to leave your car and walk into the hotel to find someone to help you...Front desk not very helpful. We had asked for a late checkout so that we could sleep in. The front desk did not tell the maid about the late check out so the maid stormed into our room with one quick knock then opened the door around 10. I informed the front desk who didn't seem to really care....DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Your money will be better spent somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the Onyx Hotel on Portland Street over a weekend for our visit to Boston, and found the hotel through TripAdvisor recommendations and the website. We used the 'wicked' promotion and got a great rate with a $25 food credit.
The hotel staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful with any requests. We had two rooms with king beds and they were very nice, a bit small, but all that we needed. The bathrooms are large and also very nice. The king bed was GREAT, pillows very luxurious.
We enjoyed the wine social hour at 5:00, and enjoyed after dinner drinks in the bar with friends. We ordered room service for breakfast one morning, the coffee was great and food delicious.
The hotel was a great location for us, a short walk to the Faneuil Hall area, a bit longer walk to Boston Commons to meet up with the Freedom Trail tours, and a very short walk to the North Station T. We walked to the Charles/MGH T stop to go to Harvard, and took a cab to the Back Bay area for lunch and shopping. We dined in the North End Italian area, at Francesca’s on North and Lucca on Hanover, both were withing walking distance of the hotel, had great atmosphere!
We highly recommend the Onyx Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BullCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear Paris0618,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, from the location, to the food and the pillows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#20 of 84 in Boston
1,082 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,675 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £129 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing