We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onyx is ok, but not exceptional”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Onyx is ok, but not exceptional”
Reviewed 6 February 2008

We stayed at the Onxy for 3 nights over Superbowl weekend (go Giants!). The rooms are nice, quite spacious and well decorated, bathroom roomy and well fitted but the overall feeling in the hotel is that it's a converted office block (not least as it overlooks office buildings opposite). The reception area has a bar & restaurant (the Ruby room) which has a very low ceiling and they've tried to compensate for the squareness of the space by adding curves - which sound great but actually take away a lot of space and you feel like you're falling over people to get from the bar to a table.

As with all Kimptons, it's a pet friendly hotel which is fine (and hasn't been an issue in any of the other Kimptons we've stayed in) but on Sat eve there were about 4 dogs and 3 cats in and out of the lifts and one man sat with his cats on his lap in both the reception and the bar. Would be a nightmare if you have pet allergies!

The other disappointing thing was the breakfast - on Sat & Sun there's no room service until 8.30am which is late, and when we did order one hot breakfast and one cereal breakfast, we got one bowl between us (which had yoghurt in) and one set of cutlery. We managed, but it wasn't very sensible of them as they knew there were two of us in the room!

I saw a previous review which said this was a good location - I wouldn't totally agree with that, it's a little out of the way (although it only takes 10 mins to get into the centre of things on foot) but is round the corner from the Bruins ice hockey stadium so gets very busy when there's a game on.

A big positive for this hotel - as with a lot of Kimptons - is that the staff are very nice, and we found the Spanish receptionist (who I think was called Cecile) extremely helpful and accommodating.

They also have a wine hour from 5pm which was a nice addition.

All in all not bad, but not as good as we were hoping.

One thing to watch for as a general point - we got ripped off by the taxi driver from the airport who took us the scenic route and charged us $35. On the way back, the hotel got a limo for us which arrived early, was very comfortable and we got to the airport in 10 mins in comparison with 30 mins on the earlier trip and it was only $25! The first taxi driver said he didn't know where the hotel was, put the address in his sat nav and then didn't ask it for the route - and we went via Fenway Park which is out of the way. Something to watch for as they don't have a set rate into town from the airport as they do in New York.

  • Liked — Rooms were spacious
  • Disliked — Bar area is very claustrophobic
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ASWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    463
    160
    60
    24
See reviews for
273
523
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2008

We had the most interesting fourth of July visit to Boston and were treated exceptionally well by the staff at the Onyx. From the great conversations during wine hour to the generousity of the staff for some unusual requests, we were greeted with friendliness, generosity and entertainment on all fronts.

Our room was clean and the special 4th of July duck was an exceptional touch. The bathroom was spotless.

The staff also made some great recommendations for off-the-beaten-path restaurants and activities.

We had some issues with Internet access, but they were remedied in a timely manner, and the staff even followed up after the visit.

All in all, it was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences we have had in Boston. We will most likely stay in the Onyx the next time we trek up to Boston.

  • Liked — The staff and the cool atmosphere
  • Disliked — The size of the wine area
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thinkinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Just returned 3 nights at The Onyx which included New Years Eve. First Night in Boston is a lot of fun.

Great service, clean, very dog friendly, walking distance to Freedom Trail and great North End Italian restaurants and cafes, close to the TD Banknorth aka new Boston Garden and North Station T stop, immediate neighborhood much improved since completion of Big Dig and new Garden.

Nice Kimpton touches like the evening wine/beer tasting with cheese and crackers. Knowledgable staff re restaurants etc. Had a delay in fetching car from parking garage at departure, but they volunteered to refund that day parking charge which you should know is a bit steep at $38/day, but thats not too unusual for city hotels.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmackq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We have stayed in the Onyx several times when visiting Boston and I really like it. It is situated in the North End so we would have to hop in a cab to go downtown. Really modern hotel with very friendly staff. Only down side is they dont have a restaurant you can get bar food in the evenings and they do a buffet style breakfast in the bar area.
When we arrived to check in, it was too early and our room wasnt ready they had a room on a smoking floor, which as we were so tired we agreed to take but i wish we had of just waited it stunk of stale smoke!
The hotel also has a courtsey car in the morning time which would bring you down to the financal district.
Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veek61
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

We stayed at the Onyx for two nights right before Christmas with our two teens (14 and 15). Since we were just passing through, we only rented a single room for the 4 of us (two double beds). The room was average-sized for a city hotel room (spacious by European standards). The beds were very comfortable - there was also a desk and sitting chair in the room, and a decent sized tv. We did not have wireless internet in the room. There was also a mini-bar/snack drawer. The room was perfectly clean.

The closet was weird enough to bear mentioning. It had an ironing board mounted in it and at least once the ironing board attacked us as we opened the closet door. It was odd because between the ironing board and the safe, there was almost nowhere to hang your clothes. This did not matter to us but it would matter to a business traveler I suspect.

The bathroom was quite spacious - a single room with commode, double sinks, and shower. There was no tub, just a walk-in shower. The shower had no door (just a curtain), its floor was just slightly slanted down and away from the bathroom floor so water drained naturally - but we still had a hard time keeping the water in the shower and so had a perpetual puddle on the tile outside the shower. Nothing a towel couldn't soak up. The main thing to note about the bathroom (besides the snappy leopard print chenille bathrobes, available for purchase) was that the floor was freezing. I mean c-o-l-d. Uncomfortably so. Bring slippers! We asked housekeeping for extra towels which she doled out generously so we had a little towel path running through the bathroom.

We went to the Ruby Room for breakfast on the first morning. It was $12 for only a moderately decent buffet. Only my daughter indulged and her review is: "meh". I had a cup of tea for $3. Right across the street from the hotel is an Au Bon Pain so the rest of us got our breakfast goodies there - but beware, for some reason that Au Bon Pain is only open Monday-Friday so when we walked over the second morning (Saturday) we were SOL. There is a complimentary wine hour in the Ruby Room late afternoons but we did not partake. Apparently dinner is served in the evenings but we were never there to check it out.

The hotel location is awesome. You are right down the street from the Garden (Fleet Center or whatever it is called these days) if you are there for a Celts or Bruins game you are in good shape. You are also easy walking distance to the North Station T stop. You can easily walk (4 blocks) to Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market - heck you're even closer to the North End where there is GREAT italian food (we ate at G'Vanni's and LOVED it). There had just been a snowstorm the day before we arrived and we're still calling these easy walks.

There are lots of cool bars and restaurants within a block of the hotel. We had a few pints at a pub just two doors down from the hotel - I can't remember the name! - but it had a nice atmosphere and good beer on tap and very friendly bartenders. Also, around the corner is a bar called The Fours on Canal Street (greatest sports bar for Boston fans - [--]) where we had lots of fun, good beer, good service, and all those friendly fans. We also grabbed some good old fashioned Boston pizza at Half-Time (also around the corner from the hotel).

All in all, we would definitely recommend the Onyx. We got the room through Hotwire and so the rate was decent considering the location and style of hotel ("boutique"). The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer. We fell in love with Boston all over again!!

  • Liked — Location location location. And they are pet friendly.
  • Disliked — Cold bathroom floors
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank veek61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2007

I went on a business trip to Boston and my employer forgot to book a room until I was on the bus up there! I had a penthouse room and the staff guessed my name since I arrived super late. The bathroom was very spacious and clean, and the room overall was spacious. The bed looked like a sofa bed and I was not to happy looking at it but I got WONDERFUL sleep on it. Definitely too much money for the room that night since I only stayed a few hours.

  • Liked — Front desk staff, & the bathroom
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2007

I stayed at the Britney Spears Foundation Room which is a speciality suite that they have there (which will soon be closing) and the room was superb. This is a 5 star quality boutique hotel. The rooms were perfect and the bathrooms were as well. I cannot fault the room.

Checkin staff were very very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb. Service again was superb.

The location of the hotel is perfect, very near the subway and not too far from the freedom trail and right next to the basketball venue.

  • Liked — Service, Rooms, Location
  • Disliked — Can be expensive depending on when you book
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerfromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing