We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant & bar closed”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
2 reviews
“Restaurant & bar closed”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and reasonably friendly staff. Bar and restaurant closed at time of stay, which only informed about upon arrival. Wasn't too bothered about hotel restaurant but without bar area, reception was unattractive, with hoarding up. Renovations in July?!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDublin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Information about the work being done in the lobby is on our website and we are informing guests at check-in. It is very minor and will be done by August 3rd, but right now the Ruby Room is closed. We were going to start the renovations sooner, but the Bruins Stanley Cup run pushed them into July. I promise it will be worth the wait!

Thanks for the feedback.

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    470
    161
    61
    24
See reviews for
282
529
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

The staff was amazing. The rooms were spotless. It was very convenient to the subway and close to Faneuil Hall (fun for shopping and food). For all of you hockey and basketball fans it is very close to The Gardens. Without a doubt I would recommend you to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonCathy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
All I can say is THANK YOU! This makes me happy!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We needed a hotel in the last minute and found the Onyx. We got a good rate and we were quite pleased with what we found. While the rooms are quite small for 4(we were with our two children ages 10 and 13), the beds were comfortable and the air con. Was amazing!!! So necessary during a heat wave. The reception was accommodating and provided us with a car to the airport for $25.00. This hotel is a little off the beaten path, but only about a 5minute walk to the hay market T stop. Also, we were able to walk all over with no problem.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher room so we could get more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lggirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
There's nothing better than a nice cold guest room after spending time in a heat wave! Glad we could deliver that for you.

Thanks for the great review!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were looking for a less expensive option near downtown Boston and we found the Onyx. It is a little off the beaten path, but easy walking distance to the North End, TD Garden and Faneuil Hall. My son and I were in Boston on college visits and I wanted him to see the city as well. As for the property itself, the lobby was under construction which was very disappointing at first. Breakfast was offered for $10 in the basement meeting rooms which were not appealing at all. However we found good restaurants nearby and Au Bon Pain is across the street. (Would have been a better move to offer free breakfast to make up for the construction.) Hotel staff were friendly and some more helpful than others. My son pointed out that they should have separate desk and concierge staff and he's right. Maybe this was due to construction but we felt bad getting detailed walking directions when someone was waiting to check in.

Our room had two double beds and was fine for two people. The finishes were attractive and the bedding was very,very comfortable. Water pressure in the shower could have been stronger. The only real annoyance was the air conditioner. It worked beautifully making the room nice and cool, however it was the loudest HVAC system I've ever heard. Really, woke us up in the night when the air kicked in. Not sure what they could do about it. Overall we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhirsch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback. Yes our lobby and restaurant is undergoing a minor renovation, but it will be done at the end of July and I promise it will be amazing. Lucky for us we have so many restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel for our guests to visit, we can definitely help with recommendations. Your son has a keen eye about the front desk, but at the Onyx our staff likes to do everything so the front desk agents double as concierge experts too, so we only have the one desk. Kudos to him for noticing though!

Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washignton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Another Kimpton, another good experience. Staff were super friendly and very helpful with restaurant suggestions, tourist recommendations. Accommodated us with a room issue; one of our rooms had a faulty air conditioner, and staff helped us move to a different room. Location seems a little off the beaten path...until you start walking around. Several blocks to Little Italy, and to the T (subway/rail line). Very convenient to the Garden; couple blocks to a stop for the Old Town Trolley tour which I highly recommend.

Rooms were good. The lobby lounge area seemed a little dark and uninviting - but on our last day it looked they started a major remodel of that space. This decor of this Kimpton seemed more "normal" than many Kimptons I've been in. And as with most Kimptons (and seemingly most hotels anymore) the room lighting was just a little bit dim for my tastes.

Within a block are a couple of upscale taverns, a 7-11, and a nail salon - which some of our party appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thanks for the review! You are right, we are refreshing our lobby and Ruby Room. At the end of this month, it is going to be something even more special than it was!

Thanks for staying!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed here for one night with my son. It was an excellent location. Close to the subway, little Italy and the TD centre. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby is fun. They have nice flavoured water.
The rooms are tiny and I mean tiny. Probably the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. It was nice and clean but for the price tiny! For my son and I it was fine but I think my husband and I would have found it claustrophobic. I was also disappointed that they did have coffee or tea in the room. Apparently you had to ask for it - would have been nice to know. Become an in touch member and get the free food from the mini bar.
I would stay again for location. I would get a bigger room and ask for coffee maker in room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out - we faced another room. Dark and tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellosaraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thanks for the review and yes we can get you a coffee maker in the room! We also have coffee/tea in our lobby every morning (and don't forget the wine reception each night :-))

Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a great place to stay, especially if you are going to the Garden to see games. You can see the Garden just right up the street. Lots of places to eat along the way. The decor is very modern and updated. I likes it lots!!!! The staff is very nice and helpful as well, so you can't go wrong here if this is the area you want to be. The rooms are smaller, but you don't seem to mind because you have everything you need.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the summer months, ask for a lower floor....heat rises and you will be cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kblake6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Reviews like this one keep me grinning from ear to ear, so thanks!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,028 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,577 reviews
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing