We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family weekend in Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family weekend in Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Canadian Thanksgiving, and chose this hotel for its proximity to TD Gardens where we were seeing a hockey game, and because the price was more reasonable than other downtown Boston hotels. The location worked well for us - we walked to many central Boston attractions, and also caught the subway twice, which was about 2 blocks over at TD Garden. I understand what other reviewers are saying about the street / location. It's a little dark and quiet, unless there's a concert or game, when the bars around the area became quite busy.

The hotel doesn't overly cater to children (more so dogs!) although we didn't feel unwelcome with our 7-year old son. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel is basic in its services, which was fine with us, as we were there to sightsee, etc. and not planning to spend a lot of time in the hotel. We were glad for the breakfast buffet in the lobby as we couldn't find any other place to eat right in the area before heading out for the day. Rooms were clean and quiet; beds were comfortable and we slept well. We appreciated the valet staff keeping our bags for us on the day of checkout, as our plane didn't depart until the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayEl177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    461
    159
    60
    24
See reviews for
272
522
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed for one night in August 2013 and would have loved to stay longer! Excellent service: the staff in reception were friendly and went out of their way to help, the rooms were beautiful and I liked the added touch of the yoga mat! Will definitely be staying there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My kids and I stayed here for a concert at TD Garden. Extremely convenient location. Valet and bus service exceeded my expectations. This is a pet friendly hotel. We stayed in room 401 - a dog had marked the bottom leg of the bed as well as the nightstand as a result the room smelled like urine. The toilet ran constantly if you didn't jingle the handle. The room was really small. We looked into the windows of another hotel and down on the dumpsters - not ideal. They have wine and hot cider in the lobby in the evening which is nice After the cider my kids sat down in the Ruby Room. After a ten minute wait the bartender walked by us - he had no intention of stopping. I asked if we could order two mac and cheeses he said yes and kept on walking. Never came back to see if we wanted beverages. Walked by again and I asked if there was any more hot apple cider - he threw his hands in the air and said I don't deal with that ask the front desk. 15 minutes later he walked by again and said oh I forgot about you your food must be ready by now - still no drinks. When he brought the food back I went upstairs to change I was going to sign when I came down but he gave the bill to my 14 year old daughter and asked her if her parents had taught her about tipping - he told her 18% is customary, actually did the math for her. Told her if she didn't tip he wouldn't be able to pay for housing of buy food to eat. The breakfast buffet was $16 outrageous - instant oatmeal, boxes of cereal, not so fresh fruit or Danish - only hot items were sausage, homefries bacon and eggs which weren't refreshed when they were emptied. I would have told the front desk about my dissatisfaction but they didn't ask me how my stay was. I'd go back again but avoid the restaurant / bar area and ask for a new room if mine smells like dog urine.

Room Tip: ask what your room overlooks
See more room tips
Green Features: They are supposed to be environmentally friendly but my toilet ran and the heat was set at 74
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with our pre-teen kids and our dog. Staff was really nice and very helpful, although everything was fine so we didn't ask for any problems to be solved. Room very nice but on small side. Location is within walking distance to lots of stuff in Boston but the actual street is a little sketchy and dark. Kids are half price at the breakfast in the lobby, which was a real breakfast. Food and drinks in the lobby were delicious and the staff was great. Parking was a rip off at $50 per night. Beds were comfortable. Overall a great hotel, I just wish it were in a different neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Onyx for a Celtics game this past weekend. All I can say is.... Loved it! Our room was very nice and comfortable. Great location-- just a block from TD Garden...and an easy walk to restaurants, Quincy Market, etc... A great staff-- everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed Tony...he is an asset. And I have to say that our room service breakfast was massive. There was no way I could finish it... Despite my best efforts! We will be back! I have a conference in April to attend that I'm supposed to stay at Intercontinental... But I'm going to pitch to my CEO that I stay here instead.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darsmithrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was in Boston last weekend for the Celtics game. I chose the Onyx because it was closed to TD Garden and received complimentary ratings on Trip Advisor.

The "Bad": 1). My room was a bit smaller than I expected for a deluxe, even one downtown.
2). It could a bit loud outside the window from the street below, people going to the local sports bars or wherever. (Not enough to bother me, but for some...)

The Good: 1) Great location for my purposes. TD Garden was the next block up.
2) The desk staff was super courteous and helpful
3) The room itself was decorated very well, with modern designs and linens
4) The bathrobes were an unexpected touch. Nice even though I didn't use them.
5) They requested a picture of a loved one (family, friend, or pet), and they had it blown up and sitting on the desk.
6) The small emergency I had was handled quickly and without any signs of annoyance from the front desk, the maintenance guy, or housekeeping.

Anyway, I thought I received exceptional service for a comparable price. I would stay there again. In fact, I joined their hotel network's frequent visitor program so I can avail myself of any of their other hotels I may have a chance to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the opposite side of Portland if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing