We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I traveled her for work and the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were nice and modern and I got a nice note from one of the managers with free candy in my room. The rooms are small in size, and the views are not great, but this is pretty standard for Boston. They had a free wine reception as well. We ate breakfast there, it was a little expensive and not included but the lady serving it was very helpful. The only issues I had is it appeared they were moving in some rugs when I was there, and the lobby was full of construction workers moving heavy rugs and tying up the area. But we were there on a weekday so probably would not be having this on the weekend. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisannez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you for posting a review Lisannez!

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    467
    160
    60
    24
See reviews for
276
525
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orange county, ca
Level Contributor
131 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We bought a package to attend the U.S. Figure Skating championships at TD Garden and this was our hotel for the week. Really liked that it was close to the North Station T stop which took us sightseeing everywhere in between events. Large bathroom compared to other hotels. Even though our room was near the elevator we did not hear noise from it, nor from other rooms. Loud hum from the rooftop HVAC though, so I had to sleep with earplugs which is not fun.
The continental breakfast got old after a few days (and expensive!), and the only other option was even more expensive room service, so since I don't eat a lot in the morning, I switched to grabbing a bite at the dunckin donuts at TD garden.
Note: someone posted they got free breakfast with the loyalty program, but we did not-- we got free Wi-Fi only, which was still handy.

Room Tip: King rooms face the street, double beds face rooftops & HVAC noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlieque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you curlieque!

Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Small, quiet and peaceful for good sleeping AND very convenient to the TD Garden. We had walking distance (not even 1 block) while our friends had to take buses that were on a circuit and could take over an hour. Be sure to sign up for the loyalty program which entitles you to free breakfast and free in room internet - best of all. The AM coffee and late afternoon hot cider in the front lobby was most welcome at all times. We had checked Trip Advisor reviews and did abide by the various recommendations - very helpful! Quiet elevators even tho my room was next to it. Large check floors made it easier to find dropped items in the room. Staff eager to be helpful - and they were!

Room Tip: Tho the street is lined with bars and my room was on the front, it was quiet at night - a pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us SVLocal! Glad you are part of our loyalty members.

Michal Penek
General Manager
Michal.penek@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We went to Boston for a Bruin's game. We were going to be arriving early with my elderly father so I emailed ahead to see if we could check in early. John, the manager, took care of everything and our two rooms were ready upon arrival. We had a corner area where you could close the hallway door and end up with private adjourning rooms. Good wine at free happy hour. Nice personalized amenity placed in room. Upgraded touches, such as bathrobes, toiletries etc. This is a wonderful boutique hotel that offers loads of amenities and attentive service. The TD garden is just down the street - very easy walk. We did not get to see any of Boston but will definitely come back to this Hotel when we do. Kayla and Toney from the front desk were just incredible and made our trip very special. He even remembered our Dog's name when we were leaving. Thank you Onyx. I am a fan.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms are larger then King rooms. If travelling with kids or if you need two rooms toget...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had recycling bins in the room and free bicycles at front desk.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2Btravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you for being a fan lv2Btravelin, and thank you for the shout outs for Kayla and Toney!

Best,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is just a block away from TD Gardens and very close to the historic area of Boston and great lobster! The staff is very accommodating--friendly, good service, and ready to meet the guests' needs, and the room, while a tad small, was decorated well with a bit of the quirkiness that's a trademark for Kimpton Hotels. We appreciated having the Keurig coffee maker, and a copy of the New York Times each morning. The Ruby Room restaurant provided very good food. The only criticism that we have is that both the shower and the faucet over the sink in the bathroom varied in water temps with attempts to cut off scalding hot water sometimes impossible to accomplish.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calif0rniadreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Hello Calif0rniadreamers,

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you very much for posting a review!

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We drove down from Canada so naturally we used the parking service to park our car at the hotel's lot. I don't know where they put our car, but when we got it back at the end of the week it reeked of garbage and there were fruit flies abound that had managed to squeeze their way in through the closed windows. We hadn't left food in the car, so I'm guessing their parking lot is close to a dumpster or waste facility. The smell was awful. We had to purchase Febreze so that the 8 hr drive home was bearable and get the carpets cleaned when we returned home too. Other than the parking, which truly left us on a sour note (family of four on the trip), the rooms were well appointed. Mattresses and pillows were very comfortable, Toiletries were C.O. Bigelow, very nice. The gym was tiny but met the needs of a guest staying a few days and it's a boutique hotel so we weren't expecting anything huge. The location is close to city trolley pickup stops and a two minute walk to TD Gardens, ten minute walk to Faneuil Hall, Oyster House, Bell and Hand Tavern, the Holocaust Memorial Monument, Museum of Science and two subway stops which can get you anywhere in Boston proper. 15 minute walk from the hotel to the wharf which was pretty as well. There are also some eating establishments in the area, bars, a pharmacy around the corner, etc.The air conditioning units in the rooms are incredibly loud so if you are a light sleeper, bring some good earplugs or you'll have trouble sleeping. The view from our room was literally looking into another apartment building/office, but I guess that can't be helped as Boston's buildings are built very close together in some areas. Standard rooms are on the small side as far as standards go... doesn't allow for much in the way of space to move around, but we weren't in the room much anyways as we were touring the city. They allow pets too, which is a plus if you're travelling with furry family members. Overall, as long as you aren't parking on-site I'm sure you'll enjoy your experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo_TimeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you very much for the detailed review TimeTravellerTravels!

Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great touches:
Bigelow soap, shampoo, and lotion.
Lit up makeup mirror in the bathroom
They remembered my last name when I asked for a new box of tissues
Curling irons you can borrow
Nice shower head
Nice robe
Good hot apple cider during happy hour
Free internet with loyalty program number

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you for the great review Courtney P!

Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,016 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing