We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Onyx for 1 night and it was perfect, the location is so convenient to everything and the service is fabulous. All of the staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and always very helpful!!! They also have a complimentary wine hour at 5 o'clock in the hotel bar! Great hotel, I would definitely recommend it!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for the awesome review Ashley A! I am really glad you had a great time with us and even more, I am glad you were able to enjoy our daily wine hour.

Best,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

This would be a great hotel for a couple's vacation. The service levels were very, very good. Location was great. Unfortunately, our room was way too small for our family of four. Not enough storage for our clothes and no place to sit except on the beds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveD619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thanks for the review Steve D! Thanks for the great comment about the service. Our rooms are a bit on the smaller side, but have a few larger rooms in case you would be interested in giving us a try in the future.

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family just spent 5 nights in Boston and had a fantastic stay at the Onyx. All the staff were amazing, so welcoming, polite and helpful The staff know the area very well and were excellent directing us where to go weather it was dining, shopping or site seeing. Had an nice surprise was were treated to an ice cream sandwich by the staff which John the manager made up for us.
The rooms are really contemporary and nicely appointed with everything you would need including umbrella. They have 2 bikes in the lobby that are free to use. Took advantage of the bikes and the easy access to take you on the bike path on the Charles river. It's an easy ride to get to Harvard, MIT or Fenway Park. Great way to see the city. The hotel is also close to all the sites like Fanueil Hall, Little Italy, Boston Gardens and all the transportation routes including the subway, trolley routes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Don Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hello Don Y,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice review - it is very appreciated!

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and I am so so excited that you got the chance to use our complimentary bikes around town. It is such a fun way to explore Boston and I have found its always a unique experience.

I hope you choose to come back to visit us in the future and until then, be well.

Best,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

On our holiday, we visited Washington, New York, Cape Cod and Boston...and Boston was by FAR our favourite - and the Onyx hotel was simply the icing on the cake!
The staff were friendly, welcoming, accommodating...in fact... *KIMPTON HOTELS MANAGERS, IF YOU'RE LISTENING*: These folks are BY FAR the best members of staff I have ever come across in a hotel. Ever. (Including Shadow!!) Seriously, they couldn't do enough for you. My boyfriend and I (after sightseeing all day), had run out of charge on our phones; no problem - chargers were provided. What a service! The staff also have extensive knowledge on the local area and recommended bars and restaurants that we all loved.
And who decorated your rooms?! I fell in love! The rooms were very generous, the beds were so comfy and the bathrooms were well equipped! Not to mention those rather awesome bathrobes! (These touches just add the cherry on top!)
We LOVED the complimentary tea and coffee in the morning, and the wine in the evening.
We live in London but we PROMISE we'll be back to the Boston hotel - and both said that each time we travel to the US, we're going to look out for Kimptons hotels first! And if there's a Kimpton in the pipeline for London - cannot wait! Such a genuinely 'cool' hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hello Holsk,

First of all - I LOVE the topic of your review!

Second, Thank you so so much for this amazing review and for considering the option to come back to us.

I may be somewhat biased, but I have to agree with you regarding the team here - they really are the best and I am truly lucky to be able to work with them.

It sounds like you may be turning into a Kimpton fan, and if that's the case, I would encourage you join Kimpton Karma Rewards, as it has many fun perks and rewards.

Hope to see you amongst our guests in the future,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Michal.penek@onyxhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Out of the eight hotels on our trip this was by far the best one. Everything was great - clean, modern, friendly, caring, great location - all the staff were great from the desk to the door team. Thank you for helping make our visit to Boston a memorable one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Glad you had a great visit with us Tim W, hope you choose to come back to us if you are ever in Boston again!

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Michal.penek@onyxhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in the Onyx for 5 nights in August and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. All the staff made us feel welcome and valued and were happy to answer our questions. We were given good wishes for the day when we left the hotel, and welcomed back on our return by the friendly hotel porter. A very nice personal touch. Thanks are due again to Jennifer on the front desk who, on our departure day, helpfully printed out our flight tickets to Montreal.

I was disappointed that there was no coffee making facilities in our room, but eventually I learned that complimentary coffee is available in the morning in the Ruby Room. It meant having to pull some trousers on, but I guess, at my age, that's not such a bad thing!

There is also a complimentary wine hour from 5 - 6 in the Ruby Room, but we only took advantage of this once, as we were out and about most of the time.

We had breakfast once which was okay, $13 dollars each for continental or $16 for cooked, and there is a convenient bakery/coffee shop across the road. There are a couple of bars along the street which offer food (Porters was our favourite) and the hotel is in walking distance of many of the places you'll want to visit.

Our room, 311, was small, but adequate and had a mini-bar and safe. It was clean and robes were available if we had needed them. It was, however, particularly dark as it looked directly out onto another building only about 6 feet away. I eventually took to referring to it as "Permanent Nighttime", but we didn't complain as we had booked it at a very reasonable price and we really only needed it to sleep.

The air conditioning made that more difficult than it should have been, however. The noisiness itself wouldn't have been an issue if it had been constant, but it kept switching itself on and off in order to regulate the temperature and that really disturbed my sleep which was already all over the place because of the time difference.

Generally, I loved Boston. It's an exciting place, but much less manic than New York and people just seemed a bit more relaxed and friendly. Highlights for me were the whale watching trip, the hop on, hop off trolley tour, wandering around Harvard and watching the Red Sox defeat Houston Astros from the Loge Box at Fenway Park. These are all "must do's" although the way the Sox are just now, I can't guarantee you'll see a victory!.

Next time, I'd probably ask for a brighter room and take earplugs, but the fact that I've used the term "next time" should tell you that overall, we would recommend the Onyx Hotel. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to return in the near future.

I wonder if Jennifer and co could get us tickets to see the Patriots... ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room and check the air con noise. Join Kimpton/Karma rewards for free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaveKowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear DaveKowalski,

Thank you for the in depth review, and appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience with us. I am glad that overall you had a great stay with us, but am really sorry about the air conditioning unit making noise. We are currently going through all the units in the rooms to see if there is anything that can be adjusted to lessen the noise.

A quick tip regarding coffee - while we (as well as all Kimpton hotels) have complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby, we also have in room coffee makers (keurig) available upon request. Should you return to us, or travel to any other Kimpton, you can request a coffee machine to be placed in your room and the supplies will be replenished during your stay. That way, you don't have to get dressed first thing in the morning if you don't feel like it!

Thank you for also deciding that you would consider coming back to us, I hope to see you amongst our guests in the future.

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Michal.penek@onyxhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Positives- Really clean rooms , great staff , love the complimentary wine reception. In walking distant to many tourist attractions.
Negatives- Noisy air conditioning. (Although we were compensated for it) Asked for a room with a view but got a view into an office building. ( Not sure if it was the hotel or expedia,com fault for that) Small room.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room not a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arlene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Short, Sweet and to the point! Thanks for taking the time to mention the positives and the negatives arlene l!

Best,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,100 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £122 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing