We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall horrible stay”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall horrible stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2009

I was referred to the Onyx Hotel by a friend. Over the phone, they were great. When we got there, half the staff could barely speak English. The room was very small but overall very clean and nice and view from window was horrible; trash and debris. Everything in the room had a price tag on it; including stuff in the closet and an unlocked mini bar that stares at you through a glass door. Prices are horrible for the mini bar; Aquafina water is $5 a bottle. Restaurant downstairs had completely different prices then were listed on the website. You get a super tiny bowl of soup for $9. We had to ask numerous times for a crib that had previously reserved. The staff was rude; including the valet. Hotel is in a good location for adults, about 10-15 minute walks to Quincy Market, New England Aquarium and the Museum of Science. Not a good place to bring young children because you have to walk everywhere. T-station (bus/train) is about a 10 minute walk away, but a tough walk through thick traffic and with young kids. Hotel is right next to a pub, so great for young couples who want to go out. Would not recommend this hotel for young children as you have to walk everywhere; the Marriot is much closer to the t-station. Also did not feel that this hotel was luxury, but about equal to that of a nice Holiday Inn. If you are a young couple and don’t mind walking, the location is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaijah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    467
    160
    60
    24
See reviews for
276
525
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Have literally just returned from a 4 day stay in Boston and can HIGHLY recommend the Onyx Hotel, Portland Street. Having read almost all the reviews on this hotel we decided to go ahead and book for 4 nights we were slightly apprehensive as a few of them had commented on how small the rooms were - RIDICULOUS unless you're freakishly oversized the rooms were amazing with great colour schemes and amazingly comfortable beds. The location is spot on with Quincy Market a 5 minute stroll and an abundance of restaurants and bars to suit all tastes. TD Garden (home of the Boston Celtics) is 2 mins away and well worth catching a game if you can the atmosphere was amazing especially for the likes of us Brits. I urge you all to give it a try!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazthirkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel because we were in town to see the Celtics play at the TD Banknorth Garden. I can't emphasize enough how convenient it was to be within 1 block of our hotel after the game got out. If you ever been to the garden for an event, you know how IMPOSSIBLE it can be to get a cab when SO MANY people are competing with you. We literally just had to walk across the street and we were in bed in our pj's within 10 minutes! Speaking of beds, they are very comfortable at this hotel and we are truly bed snobs! Also, this hotel is very close to the Italian district (I think they call it the "East end"??) where all the amazing restaurants are located.
We also brought our dog, a 120lb Rottweiler, with us for our stay. If you are the type that likes to bring your pet along when you travel, then you know that hotels who claim they are "pet friendly" often really aren't. Some hotels charge crazy fees, have size and breed restrictions that are competely unreasonable, and they treat you almost as if they are doing you a favor by letting you bring your pet along. Now I acknowledge that our dog isn't exactly an average sized dog and can be intimidating if you don't know him, but nonetheless if a hotel calls themselves "pet friendly," the dog's size and breed shouldn't matter (especially since our dog is a BIG BABY). This hotel was truly PET FRIENDLY. There was no pet fee, no size or breed restriction and the staff completely spoiled and indulged him. They even had the names of all the pets staying at the hotel on a sign above dog bowl full of water and doggy treats! It was really cool to see the manager of the hotel get down on his knees in his suit and tie to pet and hug our pup.
The staff at this hotel is very attentive. Additionally, they are true professionals yet they are also able to make you feel at home by conversing freely and almost acting like friends instead of servants. We stay at only 4 and 5 star hotels and believe it or not it gets old when hotel staffers act like robotis. They were laid back and made us feel right at home- so much so that when my boyfriend asked the manager questions about how to get to the ticket office we needed to get our tickets from and expressed concerned about time constraints, the manager of the hotel took out his personal vehicle and drove him clear across town in rush our traffic to the ticket office to pick them up. Talk about service!!!
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We've stayed at several 5 star hotels in Boston and this will be our go-to hotel when traveling there from now on. Our only "complaints" (for lack of a better word) are the size of the rooms (small indeed), lack of a pool or recreational facilities and none of the rooms offered views of the city/harbor.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGrace8627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2009

My husband and I stayed in the hotel, It was a great start to our honeymoon. I love the hotel and when we go back to Boston we will be staying here again.
The hotel is very stylish and moderen.The staff were very professional,friendly and very very helpful. They are a credit to the hotel.
The bedroom very clean and bed were very comfortable, The room was a little small but we did not mind this as everything else was perfect. The entire hotel was spotless. The location was great.
If you are looking for a hotel in Boston then the Onyx hotel is the place to stay

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Horrible customer service. Seems nice at fist look.. online. We're typically a "you catch more bees with honey" kind of family. The valet was very rude.. I chaulked it up to a language thing. Went for a nice walk to quincy market.. grabbed a small meal and 6 cans of beer for the evening. The "valet/bouncer" stoped us and said it was illeagal to bring in alcohol.. then said it was actually hotel policy. Regardless.. this was not advertised, nor disclosed whatsoever upon reservation, online confirmation, or even at check-in. Understand businesses need to make money, but a little common sense goes a long way.

Please do not stay at the Onyx in Boston - customer service ruined my weekend!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casualtraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager155, Operations Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2009
Dear Guest,

You are 100% correct; it is against Massachusetts Liquor Laws to bring outside alcohol into establishments with full liquor licenses. If you don't feel this was conveyed to you in the proper manner, then we wholeheartedly apologize, but this is not a hotel policy - rather a Massachusetts Law. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Loved staying at the Onyx -- the location put us walking distance to Faneuil Hall, the North End, and everywhere else we wanted to go. Thank you for the glass of wine when we checked in, the extremely friendly service, and the lovely decor. It felt like a real vacation -- exactly what we needed. My only kind of complaint is that we weren't told there would be an extra charge for not picking up our car with the valet by a certain time. The valet was kind and let us off the hook. Got this room on Priceline.com, which was the only way we could have afforded it. Appreciate their commitment to being a green hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager155, Operations Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow travelers. We are delighted that you were able to join us for our complimentary wine hour and that you found our location a perfect match for your Boston needs. Thank you also for recognizing our commitment to our Eco-Friendly practices. We can't wait to welcome you back to the Onyx Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We arrived in Boston and dropped our luggage early at the hotel. The staff was very helpful with maps and city information. They also informed us of the 2:00 daily popsicle hour (which we never made it back for) and the 5:00 wine hour (which we always made it back for)!
The rooms are small, but stylish and the hotel was exceptionally clean. The staff was great. They always asked how our day was when we returned and were very willing to help with suggestions for dinner locations.
The location was an easy walk to attractions. We also walked to dinner in the North End every evening. The subway and commuter trains are just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager155, Operations Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our property. We are thrilled that you felt as though you received exceptional and friendly service. We agree that our location is perfect for a stroll into Boston’s' North End or an easy walk to public transportation. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,016 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing