We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't imagine a better hotel in Boston!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't imagine a better hotel in Boston!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The guest rooms at this hotel look brand new. The staff is amazing. Justin is a huge asset to this hotel. The location is second to none. Walk to Fenway, Copley, Back Bay, and just about anywhere else of interest. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    422
    72
    16
    17
See reviews for
441
431
109
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I booked this room two weeks prior to our trip out east. We heard that this hotel was a great place to stay and they were correct. We were greeted by Raphael (valet) who was more than willing to not only take our numerous bags to our room, but quickly informed us that he would assist us in any way to make our stay special. After we valeted our vehicle we changed and came down stairs for a reception at the front desk hosted by the General manager and sales manger. They were so easy to talk to and it was evident that they wanted the best for their guests. They helped us find a place to eat dinner and a place for dessert. Our check out the next morning was seamless and the breakfast was really good. Everyone at the hotel so nice to us that it was kind of spooky, they were nicer than family! Tell Bernardo that Pete from Michigan sent you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Place was very nice and Justin and Sam were awesome. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The Courtyard Copley Square is a fantastic find. This was my first stay and I’ll definitely return. This is a boutique hotel and a nice change from the corporate behemoth across the street. The property is also a nice change from the usual Courtyard “feel” because it’s not standard in any way. I was pleased that my room did not have the standard under the window Courtyard air-conditioning unit that blows too hard. The Courtyard Copley Square has the air-conditioning in ducts that are above head, which kept the room comfortable. I liked that I could open the windows about three inches, which allowed for fresh air to come into the room. My room faced another building, which provided additional quiet and privacy. The room was very quiet for the three days of my stay.

Other reviews note the advantageous location. I walked pretty much everywhere I needed to go, including over to Cambridge for appointments. When I wanted to take the T, I walked a few blocks to Copley Station. Added conveniences include a nearby Shaw’s supermarket, where I bought fresh foods, two drugstores, and many area restaurants. One night I met friends for a pint at the Irish pub around the corner where we sat at a table on the sidewalk.

Many reviewers complain about the size of the rooms. The rooms are small compared to most hotels in the U.S. I consider my room on the 7th floor to be standard for European hotels, and many hotels in New York City. However, I was comfortable as a single person. I imagine that it would be a tight fit for a couple.

The workspace was really nice and well lit. My room came with a comically over-sized flat-screen television. It was like being in a screening room, when compared to the size of the room.

There are drawbacks that are not deal-breakers, but worth noting. The lighting in my room did not extend to the entry, which is where the thermostat for the air-conditioning is located. Since I don’t travel with a flashlight, I had to use my cell phone to shine light on the thermostat in order to manage room temperature.

The big annoyance was the Internet speed. Internet is included in the room rate, but it was painfully slow. At times, plugging directly to Ethernet worked better than wireless. That was not, however, always the case. I’m not a heavy data user, but even simple browser tasks just wouldn’t work at particular times.

One other annoyance was that the advertised room rate that I book included “breakfast for two.” However, when I got my breakfast certificates they were “breakfast for one.” The problem was that, based on the advertised rate, I invited a business colleague to meet me for breakfast. Instead of fighting it, I made alternate plans elsewhere.

This hotel keeps a coffee and tea station in the lobby only in the morning. Most Courtyards have coffee and tea available throughout the day, which is a nice feature. I heard other guests asking about that on my first afternoon at the hotel. The desk agent referred the guest to the packet in his room. It would seem that providing coffee throughout the day would be a convenience that the hotel management would see as valuable to business customers. I’m surprised that this feature has been overlooked.

Most of the desk staff people were warm and inviting. The restaurant staff were particularly friendly and warm. Staff were readily accessible and easy to find because the hotel is small. I arrived very late so I called ahead from a connecting airport. Information on my arrival was properly relayed to the person attending the desk and I was expected when I arrived. That was a nice touch after a long day of connecting travel from the west coast.

I chose to stay at the Courtyard Copley Square because of the favorable rate I got on Marriott’s website. I’ll look forward to staying here again on future trips to Boston.

Room Tip: My room was quiet; it faced another building instead of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMA626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I lived in Boston for 6 years and recently returned for a business meeting. This hotel is conveniently located. Walking distance to the Back Bay or Copley Square. The rooms are small, but pleasant. The front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinett77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, MD
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

If you drive in, as we did keep, a good look out for the hotel as it has a small footprint and entrance is streetside. A very cordial staff. Room was on the small side but no surprise based on a city location, and the hotel was in a great location. We were within walking distance of tons of places to visit and eat at and near multiple subway stations. Great value in a central location with a very nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTravelerOlney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The suite was spacious enough for 3 adults and an older child. While there was usual A/C noise level in the sitting room, the bedroom was silent. Staff was friendly and helpful. Facility was clean and well maintained. Only things I can think to recommend are upgrading the exercise room and discounts for overnight parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volvodadfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,322 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Copley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Copley Square

Property: Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Address: 88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116-3504
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Copley Square 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Boston Copley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Copley Square Hotel Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing