We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Boston Copley Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chantilly, Virginia, United States
1 review
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Management is amazing. I was going to be there for a few months and they took the initiative when I first started to do all my bookings for me. The hotel is super clean, and cozy. Best part is the location, which is about 0.3 miles from the Charles so you can go for some "whicked" runs and walks everyday. In addition, the area is loaded with amazing dinning choices within very short walks.

Room Tip: facing away from Exeter St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for your great review! We will see you soon!

Regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    403
    68
    16
    15
See reviews for
419
401
104
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Courtyard in Copley Square is in the ideal location! You can walk to restaurants, malls, cathedrals, and plenty of tourist attractions. It is just down the street from one of the Duck Tour locations too. The hotel itself is a beautiful historic building and they have done a great job with renovations. The room was very roomy and clean. (There is currently construction going on directly across the street at this time, but honestly, who stays in their room all day in Boston!?!?!) I will definitely stay here again when I come back for a visit to Bahstun! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for your review! We are so fortunate to be in such a wonderful location as you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston again soon!

Regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Marriott,Marriott, Marriott, what's in a name like Marriott and one expects a standard that is emulated throughout their chain of hotels.....a standard that is par excellence.. except for this one.. It's just a tired, old place that's a cross between an antique boudoir and wanna be 4 star.
But having said that it still attains the service standard of a Marriott, efficient staff, helpful, friendly, accommodating, the staff cannot be faulted and if one were to score hotels on staff and service then it would be a 5 star rating.. really.
Disappointment came from the hotel safe deposit that Marriotts have had in all the Marriotts I have had the privilege of staying in. No safe in the rooms.. and the safes downstairs caused some confusion, so much so that our valuables and passports were kept on us throughout our stay making the visit slightly uncomfortable, the other disappointment was the room decor, ok, so I am being finnicky, pedantic to say the least but the armchair was a bit tatty and stained, the basin/sink in the bathroom needs unblocking as it lets the waste waters out so slowly, just watching graywater going down in half an hour meant sterilizing the basin (heck who was the last guest to use it and what they used could still be in the trap) , other than that.. no complaints.. breakfast is worthwhile, it lives up to its Marriott reputation where it comes to the breakfast, French toast was more than enough to keep you going for hours.
Rooms were cleaned, free coffee downstairs in the foyer, never got to use the gym, location is excellent, 5 stars for the location, don't drive in Boston so don't know about parking, but accessibility to Boston couldn't be better.
Our room was facing a side street, no view but no noise, perfect.
I showed my wife this review and she thought I was being too harsh as she didn't notice half the stuff I did, she only agreed with me on the safe issue.. Look, to me it's like this.. I would go to the main Marriott in Boston if I go again but would be happy to come back here if the main was booked out, my wife differs and is intent on coming back here next year but then again, it depends on who gets to book the hotels first.
Would I recommend this hotel? hard one, yes and no
would I stay here again? yes if main Marriott fully booked( or if wifey books first)
Location.. brilliant
Staff service? Better than the Las Vegas Courtyard and that's saying something.
What would I like Marriott to change? Safe deposit boxes, one in every room please...

Room Tip: I don't know. No view, no noise, higher the level the less street noise so if you are on a low l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandermurfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I have been in over twenty Marriott properties in the last twelve months and this one has a staff that is at the top! The location is very convenient to transit and shopping, the valet parking is less than other major cities and the hotel is clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear ArmyWife,

Thank you so much from all of us for your amazing review! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Large hotel in a good location serving as an ideal base to explore Boston, shopping and business. I was impressed how friendly the personnel was and appreciated the upgrade based on Platinum status. The fitness center and pool are top notch. The club lounge is providing good breakfast, which is not very well organized though. There were dozens of guests are swarming around a tiny buffet fighting for food. View from lounge and rooms is spectacular. Valet parking is expensive, but worked out great. I am looking forward to come back sometimes soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Joerg S,

Thank you kindly for your lovely review! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us again very soon!

Warm regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great location, close to a lot. A college friend and I choose a random city every year and meet-up. Our Boston trip was fantastic. The staff was friendly, room was clean. One of the staff members even made a reservation for us when we were running late and the restaurant was great. Good job!

*I wasn't a member of TripAdvisor when I stayed here so the travel date isn't correct.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Lauren,

First and foremost, thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us again.

Regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

By no means this place is romantic... However it is clean and comfortable. The rooms might be a bit smaller than usual, but this building is an old structure.

It is located very close to the metro station, very close to VERY NICE restaurants and bars... fancy ones too. Walking distance to the Prudential center, where you can find about anything (stores and a really nice foodcourt), also next to a grocery store. Newbury street is only few blocks away as well as Copley Square. This is a very live part of town with a great night life. The duck tour also departs a block away from this hotel. It is a good 3-4 metro stops to Fenway.

In my opinion, it is a specially good hotel if you are traveling with friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear R.J,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our location. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Boston. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your friends and yourself back with us again soon!

Regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,194 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#9 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,087 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Copley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Copley Square

Property: Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Address: 88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116-3504
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Copley Square 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Boston Copley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Copley Square Hotel Boston
Boston Courtyard
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing