We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great location & amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great Hotel, Great location & amazing service”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I Stay at the Courtyard Copley once a month for business and it is my favorite place to stay in Boston. It is easy to walk everywhere and the service from the staff and management is excellent! I used to stay at the larger Marriott which is basically across the street; however this hotel has a much more welcoming feel to it. It is always clean and the rooms are large for Boston. The management, Justin and Bernard are fabulous and really helpful to those of us who travel for business. They do not have room service but they have a great hot breakfast and everywhere delivers :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Donna,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    418
    72
    16
    17
See reviews for
439
429
109
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was my first stay at this hotel. The location is awesome. Right off Boylston and only a short walk to the Prudential Center. Great shopping all around. I was pleasantly surprised by the small feel to this hotel and the staff's real attention to guests. I always get great service at Marriott properties, but this staff takes it up a couple of notches. I didn't realize breakfast ended at 9:30 a.m. and arrived at 9:50 a.m. The buffet was shut down and staff members were cleaning up. While I inquired with the staff about another place to grab breakfast, the manager quickly came by and said they would serve me breakfast! They reopened the kitchen and quickly served me. I've never had such a thing happen before. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Since this property was once an apartment building, the walls are very solid...leading to peace and quiet. I will definitely stay here the next time I travel to Boston.

Room Tip: I don't think you can pick a bad room.
See more room tips
Green Features: The property seemed very environmentally friendly, but i'm no expert. I know that the hotel is rated highly at the GreenLeaders Gold Level, and that they are committed to green practices.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Bill,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you had a great experience at the Courtyard Copley Square Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here for one night and found the location to be perfect for a day of hopping around to different parts of town to sightsee. The front desk staff was fantastic and really helpful with suggestions on what was around. Even with my AAA discount it was a little pricey once you factor in $45 valet only parking and the breakfast (not included though offered at a discount for guests), but worth it overall.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TacoSirron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Love the location (except for the parking - the garage across the way was nearly full, we had to invent a spot to park in like a lot of others), between Prudential Center and shopping on Newberry St. Very clean, and the staff is very helpful. The bed was comfy. We did the breakfast package; it was good and again, the dining room was spotless.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the room was too hot, and the thermostat wasn't working. After we opened a window (the small ones open), things were better.

Will definitely return again :-)

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are best.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly - like most Marriotts.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCasualTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Courtyard Copley Square Hotel. I am sorry to hear about your parking issue, next time you visit you should take advantage of our valet parking option. I am also very sorry to hear about the heating issue in your room. I will make sure this issue is addressed to our engineering team.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Courtyard Copley Square remains our hotel of choice in Boston. Each time we stay we discover a thoughtful improvement or upgrade that is immediately noticeable. This time we were delighted to learn that a modest, but adequate, breakfast was available in our room. It is a time saver and it was healthy. The towels have also been upgraded to a much better quality. We have always been impressed by the management and by the front desk staff. The Courtyard will remain our Boston home for years to come!

Room Tip: We prefer the 04 & 05 rooms in the "tower". Very cozy and old world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

While it lives up to Marriott standards for quality and consistency, the Copley Courtyard feels like a cozy old hotel among the flashy behemoths in the Back Bay. Great location, gracious staff and easy in-and- out with valet parking. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishbabydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you are planning to return to the hotel. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed in the Courtyard at Copley Square five times in the last month and a half for a total of 22 nights. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

This is what happened during my stays there: one week, I was assigned a room where the heat was not working (very important in the middle of winter); next week I was given a room that looked clean, but had towels all over the floor (they said they were shampooing the carpet?); another week, upon check in, I was given a room that was totally undone as if someone had been there with the bed not made, towels on the floor, etc. (you would think this happens, right? maybe bad communication with the maid service for a day or something like that but my colleague, staying at the same hotel, was given an undone room the week before too!); all the rooms I was assigned to were extremely loud due to construction, the manager refused to switch my room until I contacted Marriott Customer Care.

The hotel, as you can see, is pretty below average but if you're only using it for sleeping you can get past it. However, I've stayed in other properties that are not full service even in Fairfield Inn and the service has always been superior. The front desk clerks were usually helpful but the General Manager was condescending and flat rude (when I told him I was given a room that was undone, didn't even apologize, he just said "I am not aware of that issue"). I pity the employees that have to work for him and still look happy and provide a good service for the guests. If you have to say something deal it with the Assistant General Manager, Justin, not with the General Manager, Bernardo. Justin quickly helped me, Bernardo was always rude and didn't help at all.

The location is good and the price seems right but don't be fooled -you can do much better by shelling a little extra. Once I learnt that I could find deals on Kayak for the Fairmont or the full service Marriott which are in the vicinity for less than $30 more a night, I was out of here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardoGubert1, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Good morning Mariana,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. You indicated that your overall stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Bernardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Copley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Copley Square

Property: Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Address: 88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116-3504
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Copley Square 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Boston Copley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Copley Square Hotel Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing