We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International - Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelling International - Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My best hostel experience! Location was amazing. Staff was helpful and rooms were super clean. What made my experience better was the friends I made at this place. I had the chance to meet interesting and colourful people from all around the world. Will repeat!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    290
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
45
92
430
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hostel is basically like a hotel. I stayed with a friend in a 6 bed dorm and i loved the room. Very clean and modern facilities but a little small (hard to open your suitcase). The best thing was probably the showers/toilets which were right next to my room and private. You go into a shower which also has a bathroom and you lock the door. So much better than sharing the space with 10 others at one time. They also provided a pile of clean bath matts to use which were washed after each use. Only downside, the bathrooms seemed a little dirty (hair, paper towels). I think they may have been cleaned once every 3 days.
Another downside was the homeless people that seemed to gather outside 7/11 on stuart street. Very uncomfortable for two females to walk passed at night after being out at pub crawl. They made some horrible comments towards us and made for a very uneasy walk home. My advice would be to buddy up with a male walking home. Having said that, i have stayed in hostels in much worse areas.

Overall I would stay here again for
sure. Great value- wifi was good as was free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I traveled solo to Boston over the 4th of July and stayed here, The bathrooms and sleeping rooms are very clean, and I loved that each bed had its own light and charging station. They staff was polite and helpful; they even had bolt cutters to help me when I locked my key in my locker! The traffic outside is really noisy and so are some guests, but the hostel provides ear plugs. The only "gripe" I really have is that for a couple of the hostel activities I participated in, the guides took us to our destinations but then just left us there for us to find our own way back. That was just a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I was shocked to find that hostels in Boston were either incredibly far out or extremely expensive. This one falls into the latter category, but it lives up to its price. Clean, tidy, spacious rooms with great security. The abundance of bathrooms means you're never waiting around and the kitchen is well equipped. The free breakfast runs from 7-10 and never runs out of food/gets uncomfortably busy. The activities were greatly varied from historical day trips to bowling and pub quiz in the evening. My only gripe with this place is the 3 or 4 members of the reception staff who made me feel like I was a nuisance/wasting their time when I wasn't sure of the location of various things, such as the clothes washing facilities. I felt like I was intruding on their private conversations with one another and for the remainder of my trip I avoided these members of staff. Such a shame as the welcome was warm and other members of staff went beyond the call of duty to help.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotterTravel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Seriously - I have stayed in hostels all over the US and Europe and this is by far the best one. HI Boston used to be in the Back Bay area of Boston and though I stayed there, I don't remember much about it. The new location in Chinatown is brand spanking new and everything is clean as a whistle! You can tell it's new because there are outlets EVERYWHERE, including a little nook in each bed that has four outlets in it and a convenient area to store electronics when they're charging. The bathrooms are private, which means it's just you, a toilet, sink, shower and a locked door! And they are well stocked with fresh towels every day on top of the one you are given at check in. They even come with a hair dryer attached to the wall! Each group of three dorm rooms has three private bathrooms in the hallway outside the doors. All three bathrooms are taken? No fear! Just walk across the hallway until you find an open one - there are plenty throughout the entire corridor!

Air conditioning is nice and cool, but the comfy bed has a very thick comforter that is very warm. Someone mentioned the air conditioning being loud, but that was actually my favorite part of the rooms. I need white noise to sleep, and it has the added benefit of masking sounds you might otherwise hear like roomies moving around. I never heard anything from the rooms next door or even anything from the street! The walls and windows seem to be fairly well insulated and keep out such noise.

There are plenty of areas to lounge throughout the hostel whether in the main lobby, the second floor where the seemingly endless dining tables are, the conference room, the TV room and random couches on every floor. Oh and most importantly the WIFI is FAST and you can access it from everywhere - including the dorm rooms! The hostel has its own little cafe on the first floor and plenty of vending machines that accept credit cards - as do the washing machines/dryers!

And to top it off, this hostel is in the PERFECT location. It's literally around the corner from the metro and a short walk from the South Station, where you can take the Silver Line to the airport and where most of the buses arrive/depart (ie Megabus!) It's in Chinatown, which is also the heart of the theatre district, a few blocks from Boston Commons, around the corner from a major movie theatre and withing walking distance to most of the major historic/cultural/cool sites of the city. Seriously...this place is amazing. On the surface the price seems a little high compared to other major cities, but when you look around at prices of the other hostels they're all pretty much around the same rate. But with this hostel, it is WORTH EVERY PENNY. Trust me, you will NOT regreat staying at HI BOSTON! And no I don't work there - just a very satisfied customer! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greshaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My stay at Hostelling International was great. I stayed in a 4 beds dorm (with shared bathroom) and my roommates were fantastic, so quiet and nice.
The rooms are brand new and really clean as well as the bathrooms and relly well priced considering the location! The breakfast was nice and yummy.
The location is just perfect: 3 minutes walking from the Boston Common and Park Street, so really handy.
I strongly reccomend this place for a fantastic stay oin Boston!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsseIElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Second hostel stay and this one is right up there. Super location, short distance to subways, shopping, and Boston Common. Arrived around 1130 am and put our bags in luggage room and headed out. Checkin was speedy, our four bed room was small but very clean with linens and towels supplied, bathrooms were right across from us. Rooms cleaned daily.

Breakfast included was toast, bagels, muffins, cereals, oatmeal, oranges, yogurt, juices , coffee/tea. You could buy your own groceries store them in a bin in fridge. Staff very friendly, helpful and personable. Planned activities and tours available.

Conference room, pool tables, TV lounge, computers available. Wifi throughout so bring your tablet.

AC in rooms can be strong so bring warm PJ's. One roomie complained to front desk and quickly a maintenance person was dispatched to adjust the AC in our room.

Lots of students and professionals along with tourists. Everyone cooperates and respectful of each other. Quiet nights, no rowdiness - no alcohol rule big factor in keeping this hostel a great place to stay. Very nice meeting people from all over the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foggydoggy168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#42 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,965 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#32 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Boston

Property: Hostelling International - Boston
Address: 19 Stuart St., Boston, MA 02116-4723
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Boston 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean contemporary hostel with great amenities including free linen, continental breakfast and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostelling International - Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing