We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Great”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed one night for business. Great location in the heart of the Back Bay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Room was great. I particularly liked the stereo in the room. Nice to enjoy music with great sound...and it even played cassette tapes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mainematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,663)
There are newer reviews for Loews Boston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed 3 days at Loews Back Bay and was pleased with the overall service. We were offered an upgrade for a larger room with a king bed which we took. We were very happy we took the offer as it is a beautiful room. The only complaints we had were the basic TV channels (about 30 channels and lack of HD) and the cheap plastic shower head in a beautiful washroom. These small details should be standard in a luxury hotel. The lower and midrange hotels I stayed in provided TV with premium stations and HD and nicer shower heads.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

limron,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Loews took over 5 months ago and we do have an extensive renovation planned for Q1 next year which will address the HDTV issue. I agree with you that it is a standard offering in most hotels these days and we do plan to resolve soon. It also looks as if you were in one of our handful of handicapped-accessible rooms, thus the hand held shower head. My apologies to you as we should have done a better job of communicating this to you at check in. I will share your comments with our Front Office team so we do not repeat this type of error again.

Thank you for your business and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed 3 nights mid July 2013. All staff friendly. Booked room with frequent flyer miles and was needlessly worried we would be treated as 2nd class guests. I am picky about CLEAN hotels and was so pleased with how clean Loews Back Bay was. We were able to easily hop on the T to visit Northeastern University. Also located within EZ walking distance to Newbury, Boylston, Copley Square, shopping and dining. Overall feeling of hotel was upscale & friendly.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Didn't know when reserving - the building is the former police headquarters (!) - structure has "good bones" and beautfiul interior design in common areas and the rooms.

Very very friendly front desk and concierge, and basically all staff we came across. High quality towels and linens. Very comfortable beds. Room was bigger than average.

Alot of the details were pleasing - i.e. everything worked well right away and conveniently: TV (with every input you might need to hook up your various players), wake-call mechanism, lot of good toiletries, highly adjustable work chair (it matters), media center in room, heated towel rack (!), quiet effective air conditioning on very hot day, nice quiet in rooms and hallways. fast frequent elevators, nice clientele.

The location is superb - so close to other hotels (for conferences) and steps from Boston Common. Restaurants and shops all around, few block from Newbury street and lots of appealing shopping.

Greatly architected mix of older and historically-influenced new buildings in the area - great to look at. We did walk to the North End from here (not far, but when it is 90+ July it feels a bit far): you can easily take a train from Arlington station to Haymarket in minutes. If you do, try The Daily Catch and have the Black (Squid Ink) Pasta and the calamari meatballs. (Go early, cash only, no reservations).

Really pleasant high quality stay - thank you Loews Back Bay.

Room Tip: Had a 9th floor treet view that included a sprawling view to the North-ish, which we enjoyed. Had pu...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueSyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Loews Back Bay where we had two rooms booked with King beds. Upon arrival we were greeted by the bellboy and our luggage was delivered to our room promptly after checkin. Checkin was quick and pleasant. The room was clean (except for the carpeting), the bed was comfortable, and the location is really good if you want to be just on the outskirts of the hustle and bustle of Newbury and Bolyston. Everything that we wanted to see and do was within walking distance of this hotel. The service we received from staff during our stay was excellent. The staff are knowledgeable, pleasant, and very helpful. To run the thermostat fan in the room was quite noisy but it quickly became "white noise" which muffled the sounds of guests in the hallway and traffic on the street which to us, wasn't a bad thing. Rooms include a fridge, Keurig coffee maker, sanitized remote, and a safe. We would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreams4u1961Manitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was by far the most wonderful place to stay in Boston. We arrived and were instantly greeted by the valet staff and they were incredibly helpful with our luggage. They were even extremely understanding when we were taking a while to unload because we had a small child with us. The bell man brought our things to the room and even said that he would be back with a crib. The crib was wonderful, they included towels, rubber duckies and even a little box of baby items (shampoo, lotion, etc.) all in travel sizes. It was so nice. The room was a decent size and the bed was extremely comfortable.

You are right by the Boston Public Library, the Park and tons of great restaurants. Everything you could need is in walking distance. We had a wonderful time exploring the city and the Loews Hotel was so close to everything.

The staff was so nice to talk to and even when we were leaving they were telling us of more things that we should do when we return. After our car was taken by the valet we didn't call it until we left, it was great not having to drive around the city. When we did call for our car it was extremely prompt and ready for us. It was such an amazing experience, we want to come back to Boston and the Loews is where I'm planning on staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raindrops554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I read a lot of great reviews on this hotel. Also, this hotel was rated four-star. I went in having some expectation based on them, but I was not all that thrilled afterward. In all, I'd say it was okay.

I had a Deluxe room with two twin beds in it, as I was there with my sibling. The space wasn't ample, so it was good for staying for a night.

The male receptionist who had a name like Kevin but was spelled slightly different was very welcoming and friendly, which gave me the best impression about this hotel. It's so important that someone who checks you in exudes warmth and genuine friendliness.

The bedding was comfortable. The pillows were plenty and nice and comfy. The window had nice blackout curtains, so we were able to sleep in the next day without being awoken by the sunlight. There was also a nice Keurig's Vue series coffee maker in the room. There were some Emeril's coffee selections with different sweeteners on the side. TV had some basic channels and two HBO channels, which was kind of nice.

The bathroom's shower curtains were a bit short. As a result, a lot of water spilled out of the tub during the shower. Another issue: There was not one single drawer in the bathroom, which was slightly annoying to me, as a woman. The shower head was nice and big. Water pressure on 7th floor remained strong. The tub was really small though. I was expecting something a bit bigger and nicer.

I also saw quite a visible layer of dust on the entire handle used to adjust the height of the office chair in the room. That was not acceptable to me for a four-star hotel.

We ordered room service for dinner. Mine was the Organic Chicken dish, which was fabulously delicious. My brother ordered a hamburger and a turkey sandwich. The turkey sandwich was equally delicious with full flavors and freshness to it. On the other hand, the burger was a big miss. The meat tasted burned while the inside was not cooked evenly. Some parts were overcooked; some were quite raw. The lettuce and tomato slices that came with the burger on the side tasted old and clearly not fresh. The entire dish was difficult to finish.

The common area near the concierge was nicely decorated. Sitting in there waiting for my car was a pleasant time.

With the same price range, I may just go somewhere else next time when I visit Boston. I would like to see nicer furniture and nicer amenities in the room and bathroom, which would entice me to visit again.

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone and staying for a night or two, deluxe single room is fine. If you'...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ct79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#33 of 84 in Boston
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £166 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing