We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first US experience”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great, central location. Being refurbished very soon but it was in a beautiful building, staff were fabulous and it was immaculately clean. I was so pleased that I stuck with my original choice, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiem8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,399 - 1,405 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Second time staying here, but first under Loews ownership. good location for shopping at Boylston St and easy access to subway. Staff are really helpful as we had initially been given a room that was too small for the family so were able to change without issue. I understand from the staff that the hotel is likely to be upgraded in the next 12 months so may be even better going forward.

Room Tip: Not all rooms of same Grade are the same size so do question if you are unhappy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HTTcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The location couldn't be better..the service was 5 star.. The room was small but very nice and clean.. Overall my husband and I were really impressed with the entire experience. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for couples!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect for shopping and for visiting Boston (the concierge was very nice and helpful), however I think there are better hotels in the area for the same price. I got a room on the second floor as I was told by the reception that I should have paid a supplement to be moved to a higher floor, the room was incredibly dark, small and quite old. It had a small window facing another part of the building and something very noisy (not sure whether it had to do with AC/heating). I could not sleep for the entire week. I think the hotel used to be a police headquarter/prison and this is probably why some low floors have such small windows and are so dark, it made me feel really bad. I stayed in the Marriott Copley place last year and had a better experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and wished we had more time. The location is perfect for getting around, walking or driving. From the moment we drove up and throughout our stay all we experienced was polite, friendly staff eager to help. A special thank you to Henock who was warm and friendly. He was informative, suggesting places we should visit. Our rooms were large and spacious with a coffee making machine and free WiFi and because we booked two rooms one was upgraded as a special favour. Our bathroom again was large with a walk in shower and bath tub. The rooms were immaculate. I definitely recommend this hotel and will go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saras P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Spent there four days from 25 to 29 July 2013 to visit Boston MA.
The hotel is located in the back bay quarter and it's perfect as a base to visit the town of Boston.
It's a kind of luxury hotel but we got a very good rate for a family room. It's at a walking distance far from the Prudential shopping center and the metro station. You can decide to rent a bike or hop on a trolley tour bus to visit all the town.
Very kind staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigi64_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We just returned from a three day stay at the Loews in Boston and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Highly recommend and I am verrrrry picky! The staff were one of the best I have encountered; warm, friendly and couldn't do enough. The room was lovely, not big but very adequate. I am very allergic and they went out of their way to accommodate my needs.
DEFINITELY RECOMMEND.
I never write reviews but we were impressed.

Room Tip: Not near the elevator. A/C a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRASAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,412 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 84 in Boston
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,386 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £146 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing