We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“College visits and vacation in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
“College visits and vacation in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent four days in August combining college campus tours with vacation time in Boston. The Loews was an excellent choice. We loved the area--close to Newbury Street, upper Boston Commons and the South End neighborhood. Subway was very close by as well. There were no maddening crowds, and fabulous choices of restaurants and shops. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and made valuable suggestions about where to walk and what to see. The hotel is lovely, and I was fascinated with its history as the old headquarters for the Boston police. We can't say a bad thing about this place. Moreover, the front desk manager was so helpful and agreed to adjust our room rate when we discovered that the current rate was well below the one we were offered. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortLeeTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    430
    99
    24
    12
See reviews for
372
563
48
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Be warned - if you get in a cab and say you want to go to the Loews Boston, you may get a confused look. Apparently Loews' takeover of this property is so recent, many of the cabbies aren't aware of it - just tell them you want to go to the Jury Hotel in Back Bay (and give them the street address) and then they will know what you mean. The hotel is actually in the old Boston Police Headquarters - so it's a well built (thick walled!) building that has very quiet rooms and hallways. During a four day stay we didn't hear anything at night, and the hotel was almost full. Our room was very nice, with a fabulous bathroom. Only downside was, with the two double beds in the room packed in, the nightstand between the two beds literally hung over the mattress - I almost bumped my head on it a couple of times during the night (I solved this problem by putting a pillow over the edge). The location is great, only a couple of blocks from 2 different T lines so you can get anywhere easily. The Public Library, Boston Common, and many top restaurants are only a short walk away. Doormen and all staff were incredibly nice and helpful. Unlike most Loews, there is no spa, which was disappointing, but there is a nice fitness center. Breakfast in the hotel is expensive, but Flour is just around the corner - go there instead!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great, central location. Being refurbished very soon but it was in a beautiful building, staff were fabulous and it was immaculately clean. I was so pleased that I stuck with my original choice, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiem8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Second time staying here, but first under Loews ownership. good location for shopping at Boylston St and easy access to subway. Staff are really helpful as we had initially been given a room that was too small for the family so were able to change without issue. I understand from the staff that the hotel is likely to be upgraded in the next 12 months so may be even better going forward.

Room Tip: Not all rooms of same Grade are the same size so do question if you are unhappy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTTcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The location couldn't be better..the service was 5 star.. The room was small but very nice and clean.. Overall my husband and I were really impressed with the entire experience. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for couples!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect for shopping and for visiting Boston (the concierge was very nice and helpful), however I think there are better hotels in the area for the same price. I got a room on the second floor as I was told by the reception that I should have paid a supplement to be moved to a higher floor, the room was incredibly dark, small and quite old. It had a small window facing another part of the building and something very noisy (not sure whether it had to do with AC/heating). I could not sleep for the entire week. I think the hotel used to be a police headquarter/prison and this is probably why some low floors have such small windows and are so dark, it made me feel really bad. I stayed in the Marriott Copley place last year and had a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and wished we had more time. The location is perfect for getting around, walking or driving. From the moment we drove up and throughout our stay all we experienced was polite, friendly staff eager to help. A special thank you to Henock who was warm and friendly. He was informative, suggesting places we should visit. Our rooms were large and spacious with a coffee making machine and free WiFi and because we booked two rooms one was upgraded as a special favour. Our bathroom again was large with a walk in shower and bath tub. The rooms were immaculate. I definitely recommend this hotel and will go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saras P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing