We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in the Grand American Style”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the Grand American Style”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was a fine end to a very mixed holiday. I'm so glad we stayed here as it restored my view of US hotels. This is a hotel in the grand style, old world comfort and fabulous service. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and well appointed. A comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. What more could one want. The service was second to none. We got lots of advice from the staff about places to go and where to eat and how to get around. This is definitely where we will stay when we visit Boston again. There is some refurbishment going on at the moment but the work certainly did not impact on the great stay here. The hotel is convenient for the theatre and the shopping, and the underground is close.

Room Tip: Even our front room was not noisy and you can have the window open without the traffic bothering you
See more room tips
Green Features: I asked them not to change the bed or the towels and that was not a problem. It is possible to turn the heating and the air con off completely. Excellent.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    433
    101
    24
    12
See reviews for
385
571
48
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the night while attending a Christmas party and had a great stay. We had previously stayed here when it was the Back Bay Hotel and not much has changed, though they are currently renovating the lobby. We stayed in a corner room on the top floor which was great with the exception of a good chunk of the view being blocked by parts of the roof.

We'll definitely be back when our plans next call for a night in Boston. A clear favorite of all the other places we've stayed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stasonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I love the Loews and now make a conscious effort to use for my 5/6 business trips to Boston each year whenever I can. The rooms are gorgeously comfortable with great bathrooms and beds; the service is swift and polite + it is quite good value compared to others near by.
Location is first class, near to a T station and walking distance up and down Town, while the restaurant and sport bar in basement are friendly with good food.
Reception area was being re-furbished while i was there so don't know if there are big changes coming but have a request for the management - please supply complimentary coffee in the Lobby each morning, most other Boston hotels do this and it's a good start to the day if you are in a hurry.

Room Tip: High up as it is on a busy road intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have reviewed this hotel in the past when it was the Back Bay Hotel and gave it a good review which is misleading to anyone that reads a review for Loews Boston Hotel as the review now falls under the new name and management. The experience was not as enjoyable mostly because I was comparing it to my previous stay when it was The Back Bay Hotel. It is not a bad place to stay just not as good as before. There was more valet personal before and extremely helpful not to mention asking you if you need water for your trip home (nice touch). I found the counter help more friendly before and although it may not be a big deal to others they gave you as much bottled water as you needed. Loews Hotel decided that your not paying enough already and holds you hostage for water at ridiculous prices. I don't like coming back late at night trying to get water and being told you have to buy it or go out and get it yourself. It's just water people, I'm sure they can get it for practically nothing and its a nice gesture. I won't be staying here again but these things may not bother others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colby600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stay for a few days every year on our way to Vermont for Christmas break. Lowes took over a year ago and we like the benefits of our Lowes You first membership. Under renovation now in lobby area but still really nice. Location is awesome right off Copley and T stations near by for green and orange lines.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zeth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have to preface my review with the fact that I have only stayed here once, and as a Loews Platinum member was upgraded to a Presidential Suite, so I don't have any experience with the standard rooms. The location is great, just a couple blocks off of Boylston Street and a few blocks from Newbury Street. The lobby and restaurant are very contemporary but comfortable, and the suite I was in was very nicely furnished. Service was spectacular, and was definitely treated well. Will be on my short list for Boston hotels of choice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vnyrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed several times at the loews boston hotel, while on business trip.
The location is great, in the Back Bay area, close to all the shops and restaurants.

The rooms are comfortable, and the staff very friendly. Breakfast is a bit pricey but the staff is particularly nice.

A plus of the hotel is its pub. It's really good if you want an unformal dinner or simply a drink.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank c_sh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,169 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing