We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed there on a quiet Sunday night in January. I discovered that I'd been put in the "model room" for their upcoming renovation. It was beautiful. My favorite feature was a nightlight in the bathroom with a motion detector! It also had a kuerig coffee maker, great shower, great bed and plenty of outlets. Service was great too. Everyone was eager to help. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Loews Boston Hotel is located in a beautiful historic building that was once the headquarters of the Boston Police Department, and more recently the Back Bay Hotel. Loews has been renovating and updating the property, but the work did not impact our stay at all.

The rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms spacious, and the inclusion of a small refrigerator, and one shot coffee maker were welcomed extras. Best of all the staff of this hotel could not be nicer, and handled a request I had to print out some paperwork with grace. The location is about the best you can ask for in the HUB, as you are near many attractions, and a T stop is only a few blocks away. Loews is a welcome addition in what is fast becoming one of America's most dynamic cities.

Ken

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krapug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was a fine end to a very mixed holiday. I'm so glad we stayed here as it restored my view of US hotels. This is a hotel in the grand style, old world comfort and fabulous service. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and well appointed. A comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. What more could one want. The service was second to none. We got lots of advice from the staff about places to go and where to eat and how to get around. This is definitely where we will stay when we visit Boston again. There is some refurbishment going on at the moment but the work certainly did not impact on the great stay here. The hotel is convenient for the theatre and the shopping, and the underground is close.

Room Tip: Even our front room was not noisy and you can have the window open without the traffic bothering you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the night while attending a Christmas party and had a great stay. We had previously stayed here when it was the Back Bay Hotel and not much has changed, though they are currently renovating the lobby. We stayed in a corner room on the top floor which was great with the exception of a good chunk of the view being blocked by parts of the roof.

We'll definitely be back when our plans next call for a night in Boston. A clear favorite of all the other places we've stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stasonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I love the Loews and now make a conscious effort to use for my 5/6 business trips to Boston each year whenever I can. The rooms are gorgeously comfortable with great bathrooms and beds; the service is swift and polite + it is quite good value compared to others near by.
Location is first class, near to a T station and walking distance up and down Town, while the restaurant and sport bar in basement are friendly with good food.
Reception area was being re-furbished while i was there so don't know if there are big changes coming but have a request for the management - please supply complimentary coffee in the Lobby each morning, most other Boston hotels do this and it's a good start to the day if you are in a hurry.

Room Tip: High up as it is on a busy road intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have reviewed this hotel in the past when it was the Back Bay Hotel and gave it a good review which is misleading to anyone that reads a review for Loews Boston Hotel as the review now falls under the new name and management. The experience was not as enjoyable mostly because I was comparing it to my previous stay when it was The Back Bay Hotel. It is not a bad place to stay just not as good as before. There was more valet personal before and extremely helpful not to mention asking you if you need water for your trip home (nice touch). I found the counter help more friendly before and although it may not be a big deal to others they gave you as much bottled water as you needed. Loews Hotel decided that your not paying enough already and holds you hostage for water at ridiculous prices. I don't like coming back late at night trying to get water and being told you have to buy it or go out and get it yourself. It's just water people, I'm sure they can get it for practically nothing and its a nice gesture. I won't be staying here again but these things may not bother others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colby600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stay for a few days every year on our way to Vermont for Christmas break. Lowes took over a year ago and we like the benefits of our Lowes You first membership. Under renovation now in lobby area but still really nice. Location is awesome right off Copley and T stations near by for green and orange lines.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank zeth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,891 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 86 in Boston
3,416 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £124 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing