We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Needless to say this hotel has some pluses (location, newly renovated lobby and bar/restaurant, kind staff...) but I must point out several things that made me feel not as comfortable as expected...
Super noisy rooms!! You can hear everything happening outside your door: Air conditioning, people talking, doors closing. You better take with you earplugs if you want to sleep...also the lights from the corridor under my room's door so...you better bring a mask if you have a problem with it.
Also I experienced wifi problems the first 2 days and had to solve the situation by myself with the IT staff by phone (¿?)...
I had neither minibar nor even a fridge in the room :(
It also was surprising the lack of security. Although there were a couple of people from the staff in the main entrance, you can go into the hotel and take the elevators without any problem. No control at all!
By the way, fitness room is like a matchbox.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and mask with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enrique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We travel to Boston every year for the Marathon and have stayed at a number of places - all completely acceptable, but none at the level of Loews. We stayed here before when it was called Jury's Back Bay, but the fabulous staff combined with a complete renovation of rooms really helped to elevate the experience this year. Great location - you're within walking distance of two T stops (Arlington and Copley), and Newbury and Boylston Streets are just blocks away. The front desk was always accommodating, as were the doormen and housekeeping. Directions? They've got them for you. Restaurant recommendation? They'll tell you what's good and what's not. Need more shampoo? It's yours for the asking. They've taken customer service to the next level. I would definitely recommend staying here when you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I traveled to Boston for a wedding this past week and stayed at Loews. The accommodations were excellent; both modern and comfortable. The many little amenities really made it great, not to mention the premier location in the Back Bay. The staff went above and beyond exceptional. The outdoor ceremony being rained out they arranged for it to take place in the Presidential Suite. When we were personally escorted up to the penthouse they had chilled champagne, flower arrangement, and a wonderful desert (as the wedding cake). Not only that, the entire staff had signed a congratulations card. They did all this in about 45 minutes. Impressive to say the least. We will be returning any time we visit Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed 1 night after a Yankees - Red Sox game. 5 min walk to Copley T station. 2 stops to get to Fenway.

Stayed April 2014. The hotel has recently been renovated. Everything looks new and Fresh. Stayed with wife and two kids in a premium double. Upgraded at check-in. Loews had a free valet parking package otherwise parking would have been $47. Room was great with super comfy bed and GREAT bathroom. Super quiet room no noise. The lounge with free coffee machine was nice. The restaurant was fantastic! Great food and service. $110 with tip for lunch for 4. Kids had fish & chips, wife had PEI mussels, I had a grilled Caesar salad with steak. 2 Boston to cream pie desserts. Yummy.

Overall nice value with the FREE valet parking package. Checked in early at 12:45. We Would definitely stay here again. Oh, Dunkin Doughnuts 3 minute walk down the street is a plus.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraniteLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've just returned from the Boston Marathon, and all I could think about was how much I wanted to write this review! Words cannot express how incredibly delicious this hotel is and how lovely the staff is. Leah and Leslie are pure angels! They felt like immediate, life-long friends and went out of their way to make our stay exquisite. The hotel itself is extraordinary. Luxurious, Zen-like rooms, jaw-dropping bathrooms with Swedish Showers (we had a king deluxe), lounging areas that made you feel like true celebrities. For the marathon runners, the staff was beyond accommodating. A surprise bowl of fresh fruit delivered to our room with a hand-written note by Leslie wishing me luck! But wait! Imagine our shock when we returned to our room after the race only to see a FRAMED gorgeous winner's plaque with my name and finishing time!!!! I was speechless! Had to rush downstairs and hug folks. I will never forget this. The Loews hotel is our FAVORITE hotel in Boston. We will be returning and for anyone traveling to Boston, this boutiquey and brilliant haven is a MUST!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Jennifer G

Thank you very much for the very gracious comments and glad you enjoyed the plaque! Yes, we are very fortunate to have Leslie and Leah on our team and I will be sure to sure your comments not only with them but with the rest of our team! Congratulations on completing the Marathon and we hope to see you next year, if not sooner!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Was here for 3 nights and really enjoyed my stay. I contacted the front desk a number of times for different requests, and the hotel staff was very accommodating and made sure all my concerns were addressed with a smile. I was pretty impressed with the entire staff, from doormen to housekeeping to the restaurant/bar staff in the downstairs. The bar and restaurant was also really nice and had an sophisticated and updated but comfortable atmosphere. The rooms were not huge, but had sufficient space (and it's not like you travel someplace so you can just sit in a room anyway), and were very clean. It seemed like everyone was there to make sure you enjoyed your stay. They even went out of their way for me a couple times, which I didn't expect. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in a "Luxury King" room - again this was not a huge room, so I suspect most rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kswilson770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Kswilson770

While disappointed that we didn’t receive ‘5’ stars, we are thrilled to have earned your loyalty- there is no better complement! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

On arrival from New York last year, we were given an upgrade to our room as it was not ready so for a small fee we got a massive suite with a massive bed and brilliant facilities.

Service was brilliant from breakfast, concierge and bar all well worth a second visit. Location of hotel was good and close to metro, shopping areas.

Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Our room did not overlook street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Andy K,

Thank you very much for your post! If you loved us in September, prior to our renovation, you will really love us know having completed a $12 million renovation including guest rooms, lobby, bar and restaurant! We hope to welcome you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,383 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#33 of 84 in Boston
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,346 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £149 - £589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing