We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and beautiful”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern and beautiful”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is near everytihng you need to see in boston...great location, near the train station, walking distance to newbury street and lots of restaurants to get something to eat at night
Our room wasn't ready when we get there (even tought we didnt know, and aparently they didn't either) so this was a bit of a downer...but the manager, Amanda made it up for us...
The room was great, very modern, nice size bathroom, and complementary treats to bath my baby were a nice touch....I would definitevely recomend it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLR172014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    456
    104
    26
    13
See reviews for
414
611
49
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
OSHKOSH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent hotel. Fridge in room was only thing missing. Great location. Lobby was awesome. Loved the free coffee machine in the lobby. Rooms were very nice. Free internet much appreciated. Best spaghetti served in the restaurant.

Green Features: Staff were very friendly. willing to help you with your plans while staying. Held luggage for us after we checked out.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed and were disappointed. Shower drain did not work--showering while standing in a couple inches of water is unpleasant to say the least. TV clicker stopped working all of a sudden and so we were without a tv for half a night and morning. Room was small and not very inviting. We will not be returning. In the morning we complained, but we were only credited a movie we had purchased costing us $16.99. Movies only cost 3$ on iTunes in any case so the loss to them was minimal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnobeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced while you were here. I certainly understand your frustration and, while disappointed to read about them, I appreciate you sharing your experience as it is important for us to understand where we are not meeting our guests’ expectations. It is our goal to be the Boutique Hotel of choice in the Back Bay and without your feedback, attaining that goal would not be possible, no matter how disappointing it is to read.

We obviously failed in a couple of different areas and we will certainly revisit our training methods to ensure our team understands the impact of completing tasks properly. I would welcome the opportunity to offer my apologies in person and can be reached at john.maibach@loewshotels.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Good location, well equipped rooms, particularly for business travellers, with large desk and sockets well placed including a very useful USB charge point. Staff pleasant and helpful, good breakfast in the Precinct restaurant though a bit slow.
Biggest criticism is the bathroom layout, which gives virtually no room for the normal needs of toiletries etc, a problem that seems very common in modern hotels, do designers not test the layouts for practicality?
Otherwise the hotel is very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Brigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is beautiful, centrally located and has a very friendly and efficient staff. We loved the free espresso/cappuccino machine in the lounge and took advantage of it often. The only minor complaint that we had was that there was no fridge in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poochiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here when it was run by the Doyle Group. Fantastic building, once the police headquarters. Humongous rooms and especially spacious bathrooms. Could not be a better location in Boston, too. Very close to the Commons and the Boston Garden, within easy taxi or walking (if you are healthy) reach of Beacon Hill and the North End. Very good location for gay and lesbian travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmarkky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for a week on vacation from the UK.The hotel has a great location handy for all the sights of Back Bay and the Pru.Center.Local bars and restaurants all close by.
Rooms are OK ours was not a refurbished one so was rather disappointing in that respect. The walk in shower cubicle was excellent and the bathroom spacious.Bed was very comfortable.The view out of our Rm 203 was over the flat roof and the office block next door so had to keep the curtains closed during the day as well.
Excellent staff all round -they could not do enough to make are stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
During our stay we where celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and Heather the hotel concierge made it a very special day indeed.Thank you Heather your a star.
Free coffee and tea in the lobby is a nice touch despite the machine being out of order quite often.
Only had drinks in the bar one night and it did seem rather loud and boisterous.

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room on the 2nd floor they have not been upgraded.Look nothing like the website phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,322 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,772 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing