We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Loews Boston Hotel and were very pleased with the accommodations. Everyone was very friendly and the room was modern and very comfortable. The valet and concierge were very helpful! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello Christopher K and thank you for not only taking the time to post a review of your stay but also completing one of our guest surveys! I have shared your survey and these comments with our Team Members and we are very thankful for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    423
    98
    24
    12
See reviews for
362
553
48
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venezia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great place to stay with our kids and our dog. Pampered from the moment we arrived with consistent good service from all staff. Clean and well appointed rooms, great sound proofing (we heard no one during our time there!), and we will be back on our next trip to Boston!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DeeZee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for the great review, DeeZee4! Nothing more enjoyable for a General Manager to hear we have earned your loyalty. I am disappointed that I didn’t not get a chance to meet your furry friend as I, on occasion, bring my yellow lab, Lola, to work…I am sure they would have had a ton of fun.

I hope to have the pleasure of meeting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in the Loews Hotel and decided to have dinner in the "new" Precinct Bar and were weren't disappointed.

We eat inside and whilst it was busier outside it was quiet inside and we were very well looked after. I had the Hangar Steak, with Parmesan Fries and my husband had Roast Chicken with Herb Jus and Fingerling Potatoes.

Our order was taken promptly and the wait for the food was about right for Steak and Chicken to be cooked. The Steak was excellent and cooked correctly and the Chicken was very well and nice and moist. The wine and Diet Coke ordered were served nicely chilled and my husband was even asked if he wanter a lemon or lime in his drink.

If you are staying in Loews Hotel, don't look any further.

Room Tip: Rooms higher or on the inside of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sa1gon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear sa1gon,

Thank you very much for a great review of our new restaurant Precinct Kitchen + Bar! I have shared your comments with our team, especially the wait and kitchen staff, and we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us. Our Executive Chef, Olivier Senoussaoui, has created a fantastic culinary experience and, I must admit, the Roasted Chicken entrée is excellent! Truth be told, it is a special recipe handed down to Chef from generations within his family.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is situated conveniently at the Corner of Stuart and Berkely Street in the historic and beautiful Back-Bay section of the city. This is arguably the finest area of the city although Boston in general is gorgeous in its entirety. The Hotel is housed in the former Boston Police Headquarters and the building itself is beautiful. I would say that this is one of the larger boutique hotels in the city and was formerly part of the renowned Doyle Collection of Hotels which are some of the most amazing hotels worldwide. They still run the Omni Parker House in Boston which is also amazing and steeped in history. I prefer the rooms at the Loews however. They are on the smaller side but very plush and comfortable. The hallways and public areas are elegant and welcoming. The restaurants in the hotel are good but you'll want to venture out for eats as Boston is without a doubt one of the best cities in the country for foodies. There's a Dunkin a few doors up the street and a Starbucks a few doors up from that on Stuart and Dartmouth. The hotel is pretty much right on Coley Square so lots to see and do at your doorstep. Subway stops are just a few blocks in either direction. But do walk when possible as Boston and its beautiful neighborhoods is best experienced on foot. You'll love the Loew's Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeserDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello DeserDoc and thank you very, very much for a fantastic review! I think you covered everything! Obviously, our location is perfect for exploring Boston and we believe our product, freshly renovated, as is as good, if not better, than any in the area. Add to it intuitive and thoughtful service and a new restaurant in Precinct Kitchen + Bar and there is no reason to ever leave! But, yes, you are correct…Boston is a great foodie city, but few have out door patios as we do!!!

We are pleased to hear you loved your stay and I hope to see you on your next visit to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Service at the Loews Boston hotel is superb. The staff is very friendly and do a wonderful job. I've stayed at luxury hotels in Boston and would return to Loews before any of the others.
The hotel has a lively bar area and appears to be popular with a young professional crowd. Breakfast at the Precinct was delicious.
The beds are very comfortable and the rooms quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 219mondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 219mondoc,

Music to my ears! Thank you so much for the great review. I appreciate that you took the time to recognize the efforts of our Team Members. Thank you very much and I will be sure to share your comments with them.

I hope to have the opportunity to meet you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We recently stayed for 9 nights and cannot speak highly enough of the service received.
Due to the length of the stay, we had contacted the hotel asking for a quiet room on a high floor. We were allocated room 620 which is a large corner room and although this is on a main street, we were never disturbed by traffic noise.

The room was spotless and kept that way throughout our stay. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. My only little gripe with the room is that there was not a fridge in it.
A birthday card signed by the staff was left in the room on arrival along with a bottle of wine and chocolates for my wife’s 50th birthday.

We ate in the restaurant on two occasions and although slightly disappointed by the lack of choice on the dinner menu, the food was excellent. We also ate in the bar and again cannot fault the food.

The lounge area with the large television screens and coffee machine was a great place to chill.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for relaxing break where they will be looked after by staff who care about their guest’s experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miked1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello miked1967 and thank you for not only posting a fantastic review of your experience but for also selecting our hotel as your ‘Boston Home’ for nine nights! We can’t thank you enough for sharing your experience and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly! I will be sure to share your comments with all of my Team Members.

Thank you for your comments on the lack of refrigeration and the dinner menu. I can tell you that we are doing our best to resolve the refrigerator issue very soon. Until then, we do have refrigerators available upon request.

And a belated Happy Very Special Birthday to your wife!!!

Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at the loews hotel in Boston and it's fantastic!! Don't hesitate to book this place.
It's a modern hotel, close to lots of places within Boston. Newbury street and Copley square are a couple of blocks away.
My husband calls me a room snob ( I suppose I am) and like a large, clean, modern hotel room - well this place is exactly that. The bathroom in spotlessly clean and the bath towels are white and fluffy!
There is a coffee machine in your room (restocked daily), a large flat screen tv and a safe. The decor is modern and bright too. The curtains are blackout curtains so make the room really dark, great for a nights sleep.
The staff are all friendly and helpful -nothing is too much bother.
There is an outside seating area in the precinct bar with comfy seating and great drinks! Breakfast there too was amazing!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be returning to the loews!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylandog1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Dylandog1980…WOW! Thank you! I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your visit with us- clean, good service and we earned your loyalty! That’s as good as it gets for us!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing