We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, clean hotel!”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The friendly and helpful staff made my visit very easy. My room was spacious, beautiful, and very clean. The furnishings were sparkling clean, with many modern conveniences like well-placed outlets for electronic devices. A wonderfully comfortable bed, made my visit very pleasant indeed. I am a bit squeamish about the cleanliness and general vibe of hotels, but I felt completely at ease in this hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you, Alisa B, for you post! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

You can read all the positive reviews for the Hotel facilities but I wish to comment as an experienced Traveller. I can't rate this hotel highly enough! Why? Because it is not just the perfect Boston location, beautiful modern rooms, excellent patio restaurant and bar, no, it is the superb Staff! Every one of them during our visit was extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Don't usually like to "name names" but the Concierges, Klejuis and Heather were so helpful it was (almost :-) ) embarrassing, they made our stay very extra special. Thank you Guys!
We look forward to returning and the warm welcome at the front door from Brian, Tom and their Team.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DerekJL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear DerekJL2014,

Wow! Thank you very much for the extremely gracious review. We speak with our team everyday about the great location, the great product and the great bar and restaurant we know we have and all the fantastic bells and whistles that a $12 million renovation has given us. But we stress over and over that it is our team that will create the brand loyalty we need to be successful through their service delivery and I can’t thank you enough for recognizing their efforts, especially Klejvis and Heather. To reinforce what we continually discuss, I have shared your comments with all of our Team Members and posted your review on our Guest Feedback bulletin board.

Thank you very much for your thoughtful post and, speaking on behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited Boston for the first time on our 2014 tour of USA. We were really delighted with the three nights we stayed at the Loews hotel which was actually the old police headquarters. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Boston, shops, public parks and the freedom trail. Great restaurants all around too. The staff were extremely helpful whenever we needed them and the precinct was great for breakfast with super friendly staff. The rooms were just great, very clean, nice decor. The only tiny problem was that the fire alarm went of just after midnight one night when we were all in a deep sleep. The notifications system was very clear and asked us to wait for further instructions. It turned about to be a false alarm so we did not need to leave our room. I thought maybe would have left us a letter in the morning to explain what happened and maybe apologise for breaking our sleep. I have experienced this in other hotels around the world and again you don't know what's happened the next day so that seems standard. Other than that small hiccup the hotel is highly recommended. Stay in this hotel for business and pleasure

Room Tip: Book early and on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yorksfamilyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Richard R and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the Fire Alarm that was activated late one night (early morning). It was the result of our overnight cleaning in the kitchen and while it was nothing to be concerned about, we could have done a better job of communicating the next morning the reasons for the disruption. I greatly appreciate your feedback as it will only assist us in improving our service delivery. Other than that, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your high recommendation!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Heather the concierge was very well informed and catered to all our leisure needs and went above and beyond any services we have received at any other hotels we have stayed in. Thank you Heather for making our trip run smoothly and a fab time had by all.

All members of staff were very quick to offer help if you look in the slighted bit hestitant.

A very friendly hotel without being pushy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Greetings from Boston, Jacqueline D! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! Yes, Heather our Concierge, is as good as there is in Boston and does a tremendous job of taking care of our guests. We are very lucky to have her on our team and I greatly appreciate you taking the time to mention the extraordinary service she provided! I will be sure to share your comments not only with her but the remainder of our team as well.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's not a large hotel, but the staff is friendly, the bar and patio has a fantastic atmosphere and the beds were incredibly comfrotable. The hotel is near almost everything, and there was no need to have a car. Our group rate got us here, but I would highly consider staying here again. Rooms are small but comfortable, but that was to be expected with this older building.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Fred W and thank you for posting a review of your visit with us! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. For future visits, if you check our website, we do have rooms with varying sizes. Or, please feel free to contact me directly at john.maibach@loewshotels.com and I will ensure we get you in the right room! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel if you're visiting boston, the rooms are spacious and beautifully presented and it is extremely central.

We stayed here on a family trip and it was our favorite hotel of all of them, the service here is first class. This would also be ideal for a couples get away it does not cater directly for families, it seems to be a boutique type of hotel.

We had breakfast downstairs in their restaurant and I had the best pancakes I have ever had in my life. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L0v3g00df00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear L0v3g00df00d,

Thank you very much for the gracious comments! We recognize that there are a number of great hotels in our area and we appreciate you selecting our hotel as your ‘Boston Home’. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nice hotel, conveniently located in the Back Bay area. Within walking distance to subway, tons of great restaurants and shopping. Hotel staff are helpful and very nice. The hotel is well maintained and the business centre and fitness room were great. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate always available. Rooms are nice and well maintained. Upon our arrival we were told that our reserved room was not available. They upgraded us for just one night until the room we originally booked became available. Despite asking to remain in our upgraded accommodations we were moved the next morning into the originally booked room. Not nice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CR6408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Clayface08,

Thank you for your time in posting a review of your experience. While I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your visit, I can certainly understand your frustration with us not accommodating you in the original room you reserved and then having to change rooms.

Please accept my sincere apologies and please contact me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com so I may fully understand the reasons for your dissatisfaction. While I cannot change what happened, I’d like to understand what transpired so it does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,890 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 86 in Boston
3,416 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £124 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing