We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly balanced hotel”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Central but not surrounded by tourists, premium but without the price tag, exclusive feeling but not pretentious or stuffy, modern yet with character. Honestly, the perfect little couples getaway spot

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you, Simon E, for a very kind review and for completing a Guest Satisfaction survey. Your summation of your experience is exactly what we try to offer so thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. I will certainly share your comments, as we do with all reviews, with our team and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Because the former Back Bay Hotel, was only purchased and then extensively remodeled by Loews in the last year or so, I have the feeling that this excellent hotel may be flying a bit under the radar. I'd venture to say that the remodeled rooms are as comfortable and elegant as those in a number of more expensive Boston hotels. The "living room" off the small lobby is a very comfortable gathering place with chairs, sofas and tabletop workplaces all looking out through big, open windows at the surrounding street scene. The star of the room, though, is a giant $15,000 coffee maker extraordinaire that serves up delicious (and free) lattes, cappuccinos and expressos. Bustling Newbury Street and the beautiful Public Garden are a very short walk away and there's a cozy bar and restaurant just below street level. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkieFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you very much, YorkieFW, for an outstanding review! We are most appreciative of the kind comments. Yes, we are thrilled with our recent $12 million renovation and glad to read that you enjoyed! While we agree with you on how our rooms renovation came out and are thrilled with our new restaurant/bar, Precinct Kitchen + Bar, the Apothecary really is a difference maker! Between the nine panel video wall and the coffee/espresso/cappuccino/latte machine you mentioned, it is unlike any space in our market! With reviews like yours, we won’t fly under the radar for long!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are thrilled to have earned your loyalty! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The staff are very helpful and lots of local knowledge. Room very comfortable (deluxe 2 bed double) get good size and plenty of room. Had room on 5th floor very quiet. Bathroom good size and useful heated towel rail for personal washing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UkManchestergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello UkManchestergirl and thank you for a great 5 star review! While I love all of the reviews referencing the great product, it is your comment about our wonderful staff that we love the most. It is our team that will create the ‘WOW’ experiences and create the loyalty to our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to make note of our team performance.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to the States and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is great! The rooms are generally spacious and they did a great job renovating them this year. The desks even have USB ports to charge things without the need for a power adapter and they have top of the line furnishings and Samsung televisions. Everything is super modern and looks amazing.
The staff is wonderful(some of my favorite people from the Copley Square Hotel, Leslie and Becca, have migrated here) and the hotel is centrally located to everything that a tourist would want to see as well as the best shopping in the city. This is my new favorite hotel in Boston!

Room Tip: Pay the small amount to get upgraded. It's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StefanoD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello StefanoD1! As the former General Manager of the Coley Square Hotel, we greatly appreciate your comments and are thrilled that we have become your Boston home-away-from-home! I have personally shared your comments with Leslie and Becca, two extraordinary hospitality professionals that we are very lucky to have! And, yes, we gave a lot of thought to the modern day traveler to ensure our renovation has taken care of all their needs- from Smart TVs to having at least 10 outlets easily accessible in every room to the 2 USB ports in every room, we believe our rooms are the best equipped for today’s traveler.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Only stayed here one night but the room and hotel was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful (when I needed a sewing kit to repair my trousers and we needed to print off tickets). It's a good location and easy to walk everywhere. There's a nice bar in the basement with outdoor seating but it was raining the evening we were there so we couldn't make the most of it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinseyS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you, LinseyS25! We appreciate the 5 star review…too bad you didn’t get a chance to enjoy our patios…it is definitely the spot to be this summer! Just one reason why you need to come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

DW and I have just returned from a seven night stay in a *Grand" room at this hotel.

Everything about the hotel was excellent and it is difficult to find fault with any aspect of the hotel.

The only minor niggle was the lack of an in room fridge although free ice was available on each floor.

The location near to Copley Square was good and this meant that everything in the Back Bay area of Boston was within easy reach.

The room was a large corner room that was very light and spacious. We were on the 3rd floor but the traffic noise was minimal. The room was kept spotlessly clean by an efficient maid service.

All the staff including reception staff and the concierge that we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful.

Nice touches were complimentary wifi internet and top quality coffee that was available in the lobby.

The restaurant was also very good and our room rate gave us $25 towards any meal per day taken in the restaurant and this made the prices there very reasonable, particularly for breakfast.

All in all it would be difficult to stay anywhere else when we return to Boston.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are light and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlanSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

While disappointed not to receive 5 stars, we appreciate the very kind review, AlanSusan! Thank you for all of your gracious comments and we also appreciate the recommendation on how we can earn that 5th star. We are exploring different options on how to resolve the refrigerator issue but until we have a definitive resolution, we do have a number of refrigerators available upon request with no extra fee imposed.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at the Loews for a weekend break in Boston, the hotel is great and set in the old Boston police precinct building which adds character. Our room was good as well, although a little snug. The location is perfect for exploring the city with most central areas in walking distance and the shops/bars/restaurants of Newbury St on the doorstep. We also got a great discount of the travel republic website which made it fantastic value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamj_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you, adamj_bl, for a great review. With 24 hotel reviews, you certainly know your hotels so we appreciate the kind comments! Yes, our location is premier for tackling Boston, walking distance to shops, nightlife, dining, culture and sporting events. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,420 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,397 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £130 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing