We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to match”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hard to match”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at The Loews Boston hotel and it was great. From our arrival to departure the staff were all very friendly, welcoming and professional. The room itself was very comfortable and well equipped,
The free coffee was a nice touch and very welcome after our numerous walks around the city. The fact that you could walk to the majority of the sights from the hotel was a real benefit, one I hadn't thought about beforehand. We even took a leisurely stroll back to the hotel after an evening at Fenway Park,
I will definitely stay again here when I return to Boston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    458
    104
    26
    13
See reviews for
416
613
49
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at the Lowes hotel in Boston for 5 nights, we have to say it was like home to home. All the staff at the hotel were so welcoming and friendly, especially the door man Diphap (sorry if spelt wrong) he was so lovely and made us welcome from the minute we arrived, he gave us brilliant advice on where to visit in Boston which was great.

If you stay at this hotel you must try out the food in the precinct kitchen and bar downstairs the food is amazing and again the staff were all very attentive and made sure you were happy from entering to leaving the restaurant.

Hotel was lovely and clean with spacious rooms, really close to all the shops and attractions of Boston.

Have to say we had a brilliant time in this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone who wants to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 922Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your visit, 922Lorraine! Thank you very much for the glowing review. I have shared your review not only with Depak, but our entire team…we appreciate the kind words. And, yes, we are very pleased with how well our restaurant, Precinct Kitchen + Bar, has been received. Far from your ‘typical hotel restaurant’, we do hope others heed your advice and give us an opportunity…home to one of Boston’s Best Burgers and a killer Clam Chowder!!!

Thank you again, for your kind review. We trust you enjoyed your time in the States and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

the luxury king room had a bed that was up against the wall. the person on the right side would need to exit either the end of the bed or crawl over their bed partner on the other side. we complained and were moved to another room which was larger but had a couch, a coffee table and very poor lighting. will not go back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Please accept my apologies, Robert C, for a very challenging visit. I am sorry we could not get you settled in an appropriate room. We do hope to make amends and if you would like to contact me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com, I will be sure your next stay will be more in line with a typical Loews Boston experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Booked this after reading some reviews - the hotel was in an excellent location to do whatever you want to do. It was clean and comfortable and would definitely stay here again when I come back to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Great, Nancy J! Thank you for your review and your loyalty! With 10 reviews, you certainly know your hotels and we appreciate the 5 star review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Interesting building which had been a police station. very nice staff, accommodating and helpful. However, the room was very small. barely 18 inches between the end of the bed and the desk. However, my main issue was with the housekeeping. Done late in the day(after 5:00 p.m) and didn't replace glassware or some towels, and didn't empty the trash. For a property such as this, you would expect much better service. I would have done better at a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Please accept my most sincere apologies, George T, for the inconvenience you experienced. I have shared your comment with all of our Team Members, but especially our Housekeeping team , and they join me in offering our apologies. We will use your comments constructively and because you were also gracious enough to complete a Guest Satisfaction Survey, pinpoint where exactly our team failed and re-train our staff to ensure this doesn’t happen again. While difficult to read, we appreciate you sharing your experience so we have an opportunity to correct the issue at hand, and for that I thank you.

If I may be of assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Ile, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Loews Boston Hotel has become my hotel of choice when visiting Boston. I've stayed there twice in the past 4 months and have been extremely happy with the service and accommodations during both visits. The hotel has a wonderful outdoor patio bar which is a great place to relax after a long day of shopping and sight seeing. The Back Bay location is also a plus. It's close to the airport and central to all Boston attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you very much, Julie C, not only for taking the time to post your review but for your loyalty. With so many great hotels in our neighborhood, we understand the choices you have and will not take for granted that you continue to select our property. On behalf of all of our Team members, thank you! If I may ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We received fantastic service at this beautiful hotel. ALL of the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Hillary who checked us in. We had requested an upgrade to a Premium room but at check-in this was not available (mainly due to the fact that we had arrived so early I think), however we were still offered the chance to check in early and also offered a late check-out which was fantastic. Our room was larger than I had expected; very stylish and well equipped with good (quiet) air-con, a coffee machine (no fridge though) and a lovely big bathroom with plenty of fluffy towels. The beds were also extremely comfortable. We had a great recommendation for dinner (at Davois which was superb) and for things to do during our stay from the concierge, Klejvis, and also from the doorman. We even received a hand-written note delivered to our room along with fruit, milk & cookies welcoming us to the hotel and the city. It was lovely that my Son's also received such special attention and were not seen as a nuisance (which is always a parental concern in such a nice hotel!). They were given vouchers for free music downloads which they were thrilled with - Little touches that just served to enhance our stay even further. The hotel itself has a very impressive facade and there is a plaque on the wall to say that it used to be the old police station. It is in a great location for shopping and the trolley is handy if you want to visit Boston's sights (which we did). On check out the doorman was again, extremely helpful in assisting us with our bags and arranging transport in the hotel's vehicle to the airport. I sincerely hope that we have the chance to visit this hotel again - it was exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you so much, Emma B, for a very kind and gracious review! I have shared your comments with all of our Team members, especially Klejvis and Hillary. Both of the individuals you singled out do an exceptional job for us and we are lucky to have them as part of our team. We appreciate you taking the time to note how much they impacted your stay!

We hope you enjoyed your visit to the States and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not-so-distant future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,329 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,778 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing