We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and ambience - service slightly frayed”
Review of Mistral

Mistral
Reserve with OpenTable
Mistral is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,232 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Back Bay
Cross street: between Berkeley & Clarendon
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food and ambience - service slightly frayed”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Warm, inviting ambience, good atmosphere. Food very good but not outstanding or unique. Service a little fragmented with changing staff - however attentive and friendly. Overall very good experience and food; worth the visit as good value and atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandSMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    180
    65
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food but tight quarters”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A large group - 15 to 20 -of us went to Mistral on a Wed night because we had heard how excellent the food was and wanted to try it. We arrived to a very crowded place- especially considering it was mid week -and were seated as the party members arrived. The restaurant did not have a separate room or area for us or any really large group tables so they simply moved tables for smaller parties together along the side of one wall. We were not only close to each other but also close to the other tables around us and it was especially tight when the waiter and food handlers came by. At one point the table behind my table was so loud - and likely intoxicated- that we just gave up trying to hear or talk to each other. I cannot imagine how loud this restaurant would have been if we had been in the middle of the room on a weekend. However, the space was very lovely and the staff was attentive and efficient.

The people at our table ordered a variety of items from both the appetizer menu and from the main menu. No one had any complaints and from what I saw - all plates were empty at the end of the meal. To begin the meal, I shared a beet salad with a friend. It was good but I have a feeling that the beets were likely boiled instead of roasted because they had much less of the expected earthy taste and intense color. For the main course I had the salmon which was served on a bed of lentils. It was perfectly cooked and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Some people ordered desserts which also got rave reviews.

The price for all items on the menu - including wine and drinks- was high but the food was excellent in taste and presentation. However, I felt the overall experience was diminished - and so was the value- by having the tables much too close together for an elegant and highly recommended place like this. This was by far the most crammed restaurant of all the places we dined during our 4 days in Boston. If I go back I will go with a smaller group and definitely ask for a quiet table - if such a location exists.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best date night”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I always feel like I am dining in a movie set. The space is so funky and elegant at the same time. Our waiter was phenomenal and all the service was spectacular. And the food was divine. I sat across the table from my guy, drank wine, mmmmm-ed every bite and felt like it was valentines day in March.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Perhaps I Ordered the Wrong Dish”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a beautiful looking place located in the Back Bay area. Went because of all the screaming great reviews.
The opening salad was great. They make a dynamite Martini. I went with the duck which our server told us had been on the menu since the place opened. Was good but very greasy. My partner had some delicious pasta.
Service was again average. the server repeatedly stationed himself in between our table and the one next with his derriere to us. A little slow towards the end.
Would probably give it another shot when back in Boston and not order the duck.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular dining experience, albeit slow”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I went here with some work colleagues as celebration after completing a project. The service was painfully slow, however, when the food finally arrived, it was divine. And the wine list was superb. I'd definitely go back, but I'd make sure I showed up earlier.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mistral also viewed

 

Been to Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing