We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensively disappointing. ”
Review of Via Matta - CLOSED

Via Matta
Price range: US$40 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Arlington Street
Transit: Arlington Street T Stop
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
218 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Expensively disappointing. ”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Waitresses in old jeans and sneakers. A limited menu. Top prices without the value. We were very disappointed to come away from Via Matta tonight with an utterly forgettable experience.

Helpful?
Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    63
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A last minute decision to travel to Boston Valentine's day left few choices for dinner. Thankfully this restaurant still had a time slot available. They offer a prix fixe option for dinner and my wife opted for that. She started with the Calamari (excellent), followed by Mushroom Mezzalune (excellent), Branzino (very good) and finished with the Passion Fruit Tartlett (excellent). I had the Tagliatelle in a Bolognese sauce (excellent). This restaurant was the icing on our cake for our trip to Boston!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn M, Guest Relations Manager at Via Matta, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Valentine's Day with us. Via Matta prides itself in quality and service and we look forward to having you visit us again soon!

All Our Best,
Via Matta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I had been to Via Matta years ago and always thought it was good but not great. The meal we had last night was a pleasant surprise. It was a quiet evening and the service was excellent. The wines by the glass were delicious as were the beet salad with oranges, the cauliflower and the grilled calamari. I would order them all again. I got the chicken cooked with butternut squash and red pepper hummus and it was delicious. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn M, Guest Relations Manager at Via Matta, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. Via Matta prides itself in quality and service and we look forward to having you visit us again soon!

All Our Best,
Via Matta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
218 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Dirty and below average”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The menu was limited, the bar was dirty and the food was Cosco variety. There are so many other places within walking distance that are better options. SKIP!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn M, Guest Relations Manager at Via Matta, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are less than pleased we did not exceed your expectations during your experience. Via Matta prides itself in quality and service and hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you what we are really all about. Please let us know when you would like to return and management with personally oversee your experience from start to finish.

All Our Best,
Via Matta Management
info@viamattarestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Passing away”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Had not eaten here for some time. On a Friday night, dining room was half empty, so the vibe of the place was quite subdued. Menu offereings were fine, although was disappointed that the signature chicken under a brick was not available. Service was adequate, appetizers and meals for all of us (6) were fine, but the food laxcked the high flair and finish which we had experienced in the past. Overall, a meh experience, with so many other appealing choices in the city, we have likely paid our final visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WPShack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn M, Guest Relations Manager at Via Matta, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are less than pleased to hear we did not exceed your expectations during your recent visit with us. Via Matta prides itself in quality and service and we hope we are given the opportunity to show you what Via Matta is really all about. Please let us know when you plan on returning and management will personally oversee your visit from start to finish.

All Our Best,
Via Matta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Matta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing