We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”
Review of Hamersley's Bistro - CLOSED

Hamersley's Bistro
Price range: US$41 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: South End
Cross street: corner of Clarendon and Tremont
Transit: We are close to the Back Bay Station stop on the Orange line and the Copley stop on the Green line.
HOLLYWOOD,FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I sat at the bar in March, 2014 during a short business trip to Boston. The bartender was friendly, attentive and chatty. We also made friends with other couples at the bar. We highly recommend this restaurant. They also have a large dining room. Several locals recommended Hamersley's Bistro and we were not disappointed. The menu is unusual with comfort food. Most people recommend the Roast chicken with Garlic and lemon. My husband had it and rated it top-notch. I had the seared chicken livers with polenta and black truffles. Although this was on the "small plates" menu they served more than I could eat. It was unique and the spices were wonderful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DAKOTA39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    77
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local Flair”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have found when in the South End Hamersley's is an outstanding place to go for a light dinner or a relaxing drink at the bar. Tim, who attends the bar treats everyone as a regular. The apetizer menu is excellent and interesting. The selections of wine by the glass is outstanding. The last time we were there we had soup and shared three appetizers. Tim suggested parings and offered us a taste first. A nice touch, deeply appreciated. We regularly plan on going here prior to show time at the Calderwood. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxford01921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still very good”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had eaten here a couple of times in the mid 1990's when we lived in Boston but had not been back since this recent visit. While we drove in from the South Shore when we lived here, we found it an easy walk (20 minutes) from Copley Square. And the neighborhood has changed so that it could be Beacon Hill except for the style and dates of the architecture.

The room was bright and full when we arrived for a 7:45 reservation; the service was correct; the wine list, full of selections; and the food was quite good; we had a special menu offered during Restaurant Week and both had the fish option. It's good to know that Hamersley's remains as good as we remembered.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tingold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice brunch”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I chose a Venison Hash and was rather good. The menu is a bit on the small size but all in all it was a good experience. Maybe we'll come back another Sunday.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grear food with an OOPs!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were so excited to try Hamersley for the first time and were not disappointed. Everything was fabulous from the kale salad, halibut entree to the pineapple and coconut dessert.
The only only faux paus was that the bread was not warm and no wine cooler came with the white wine....we had to ask. When the bill comes to $200 including tip, those amenities should be standard.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonvieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamersley's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing