We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odd Service”

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #181 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Back Bay
Southsea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Odd Service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Usually when visiting US we try to get along to CPK. We like the thin crust pizza and some of the interesting toppings and Sedona soup. Having eating in numerous CPK's we take it for what it is not looking for haute cuisine. However we ordered starter and pizza's. Surprised when pizza came out no starter server had forgotten it! My daughters pizza was also literally burnt black and server seemed surprised we had it redone. Usually ok this chain think we just got spaced out staff rota.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    141
    68
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ate here yesterday. It is a nice alternative to the mall food court. The service was friendly. It did seem like it took a little while to get our meals delivered, but we were not in a rush, so it was no big deal. I ordered two dishes from the "Small Plates" menu. One of them was a cold, molded salad, served with tortilla chips. It was made out of avocado, corn, peppers, and I think cilantro. Very refreshing. My other plate was a quesadilla served with a tangy, creamy ranchero sauce. It was also quite tasty. My companion had an Asian style salad, and she liked it. We also shared a salted, caramel type of pudding for desert and it was yummy. We also each had sodas. The total cost, including tax and tip was $36. I have eaten here before and I would definitely do so again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglander742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford, MA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had eaten at California Pizza Kitchen once before and were so impressed that we got off the subway early just to have lunch on our way back from a museum visit. The service is fast, helpful, and friendly. It took a little while for our pizzas to arrive, but they were very busy on a nice summer Saturday. The waitress was very helpful with the menu and kept us updated. We'd go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rspill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had heard that California Pizza Kitchen was good, but nothing could have prepared us for how good it really was. The pizza was excellently made and it was so unique and creative. It was delicious down to every bite. In addition to the pizzas, the other food was also excellent. Overall fantastic restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joce0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock Ontario
Level Contributor
189 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Thinking WAY outside the Pizza Box”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The pizza selection here is out of bounds unbelievable concoctions and combinations. I would say the most exceptional selection of any pizza place i have been to.

We had a BLT and a mushroom something pizza on thin crust wholewheat. The flavours were intense the bacon superb smoky and delicious. Never expected the mushroom pizza to have such an enormous taste.

The place was full for lunch, service was adequate not stellar but at the end we got our food hot and in a timely manner.
I cant wait to find another one of these restaurants to check out the rest of the menu. PLEASE tell me these guys are coming to Canada

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungrywatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing