We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”
Review of Pairings

Pairings
Ranked #1,811 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$10 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Transit: T Green Line (Arlington Stop) T Orange Line (Back Bay stop)
North Haven, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

$70 for 2 for breakfast - standard food, nothing special, way over priced. Not sure I'd go back. We only ate there b/c we had a hotel food & beverage credit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank yankee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food. Good Service.”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The food was good. The seafood risotto that I had was amazing. The service was professional. Prices were reasonable. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dariakny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
287 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Should be rated as one of the better restaurants in Boston”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had read some relatively negative reviews of Pairings......untrue! I would definitely go back. The service by our waiter Alberto was superb, attentive, but not intrusive. The atmosphere is lovely and the food even better. We went with a Travel Zoo coupon.....what a deal! My husband's caeser salad was really good and very large....a meal in itself. My mussels were some of the best I've had, wonderful sauce. My filet mignon was fork tender and very flavorful, cooked to perfection. The mashed potatoes and asparagus were done perfectly. My husband's tuna special was truely wonderful, a combination of tuna tartar and sauteed tuna. My cheese plate had a variety of cheeses and my husband's dessert was great. The prices are relatively reasonable for Boston. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“breakfast is pricey but great”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Sure the buffet isnt a deal but its big and very good!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MuffinsinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the top 10 filet mignons that I've EVER had!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to Pairings as a belated Valentines Day dinner date. Being the last minute planners that we are, we failed to make reservations in advance for a restaurant in Boston. We were skeptical that Pairings was going to be any good, as it was one of the only restaurants nearby the had any open reservations. When we arrived, we were taken in immediately and greeted by our server (who was just as great as our coming meal would prove to be). We both ordered the filet mignon dish that was paired with asparagus and horseradish mashed potatoes. We were amazed! Whoever the chef was that preparer these scrumptious meals deserves a big pat on the back. We would definitely go back to Pairings the next time we're in the city- it offers a romantic setting, great service, and wonderful food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hatt222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pairings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing