We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Ok”
Review of B & G Oysters

B & G Oysters
Reserve with OpenTable
B & G Oysters is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: South End
Cross street: Waltham
massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the waitress was not too informative. Fried clams were a bit chewy, not much on the menu. Good to try, but would not go back. Come to find out the waitress gave us the wrong menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank me_shell219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    169
    64
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Oysters Ever”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Never had better oysters, anywhere. Every time I go, each time is the best. Also worth trying are their fried clams... and an appetizer (since taken off the menu) that had sushi-grade scallop carpaccio, bruschetta style, with a pomegranate molasses... unique and delicious!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder BOB 2013”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Wanted to try a variety of clam chowders while in Boston and had to put this one on the list since it won Best of Boston 2013. Out of the four clam chowders we tried, we both agreed we liked this one the best although the Boston Chowda Co was a close second. The chowder was thinner than I expected but was very flavorful. The restaurant was practically empty since we went at an off time. I was afraid the waiter would be rude after only ordering 2 cups of chowder but he was more than professional and bought us out bread and butter before the chowder arrived.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank showmeadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Vibrant place to eat”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

B&G Oysters is all about the bivalves. Well, that seems to be the main attraction at this subterranean neighbourhood restaurant. The sunken rear courtyard was already teeming with early diners, so it was a lucky strike that we were able to nab a seat inside at the marble bar, sans reservation. Best seat in the house? I guess it depends on how you look at things. The way we were looking at things involved a whole lot of shucking action.

A few oysters landed in front of me - from Dabob Bay, Miranda Bay and all the way from the northwest coast, the Olympic Miyagi. I'm not connoisseur enough to taste much of a difference between each variety, but I must say they're pretty damn special.

Whilst the menu is predominantly seafood centric, there are a few items for those that shun the creatures from our oceans and estuaries. The reoccurring menu choice on this American trip seemed to be tomato related. And why wouldn't we when they were at their seasonal best?

Heirloom tomato salad (14) with yellow watermelon, feta and pistachio. Lovely combination, even if it did lack some seasoning.

The Atlantic blue cod (29) comes crisp-skinned, resting on green and yellow beans in bagna cauda, a "hot bath" of olive oil, butter and perhaps an anchovy or two. There's grapefruit in there as well, making for a really tasty dish.

My Jonah crab tagliatelle (26) was all about sweet crab meat poached in butter, but sadly let down by overcooked pasta. With more hits that misses, this is one eatery I'd gladly welcome to my own neighbourhood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burdett, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun little place.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner and had a great experience. It's a small place but has a lot of charm. There is a large selection of oysters, all of which were fresh and delicious. The entrees were also quite good. Pricey though...but hey, it's Boston! Would definitely go back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmNiDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed B & G Oysters also viewed

 

Been to B & G Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing