We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Greasy Spoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Billy's Sub Shop

Billy's Sub Shop
Ranked #597 of 3,189 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South End
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Greasy Spoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Recommended as a local greasy spoon, the kind of places we like to seek out when traveling. It didn't disappoint. The name "Sub Shop" is a bit deceiving; we had breakfast here. The food was reasonably priced, of good quality, the staff were friendly and lots of locals came and went for breakfast - a good sign. If you're looking for fine dining this isn't the place. If, however, you're looking for good food where the neighborhood people eat, this is it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank topfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“AWESOME Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I traveled to Boston with four other married couples June 6-9. Most of us in the group ate breakfast at Billy's at some point during the trip. I ate there all three days and it did not disappoint. It was right around the corner from our hotel, so very convenient. Over the course of three days, I had the feta omelet, French toast, pancakes and bacon. If we had stayed in Boston longer than three days, I would have eaten there for breakfast all the other days, too. I never had anything for lunch there, but I'm sure it's just as fabulous as the breakfast. The staff was friendly and the prices are very inexpensive. Next time I'm in Boston, I will definitely go back to Billy's!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXgirl1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another nice place to get breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We went to Billy's Sub Shop for breakfast two times while in Boston. Their egg sandwiches were good and homefries were yummy. Friendly service and INEXPENSIVE which is rare for Boston. This is one of those valuable "dives" that has good inexpensive food. Don't expect anything fancy! But expect great food!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Think I got a dodgy breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Came here on our first morning had omelette that also came with toast and potatoes. The sheer size of it is off putting and comes on a polystyrene plate.

Mentioned to my friend at the time it looked a bit grubby, dirty floors etc but the doorman at our hotel recommended it.

Fast forward about 4 hours and I had the most terrible tummy - not a great start, needless to say we did not return and I would not recommend it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dollyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was staying at a hotel right around the corner over Valentine's Day weekend, and the guy at the front desk suggested this place without hesitation.
It's a good little diner. I went for breakfast one morning and was happy with what I got. Just an omelette with home fries, toast and coffee but it hit the spot. Do you NEED anything else before noon? Anyhow, it was great and should I find myself in the area again, I'll be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy's Sub Shop also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Sub Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing