We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday afternoon tea”
Review of L'Espalier

L'Espalier
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Espalier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #130 of 3,227 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield St.
Transit: Copley Square T
dobie2
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon tea”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a fantastic place to bring a special someone for a calm, relaxing, quiet afternoon tea. The noise level is low so you can hear every word your date or friend has to say. The service is good and unobtrusive. My tea was constantly being refilled. My friend and I both got the Red Riding Hood which left us stuffed even though it seemed like everything was just a bite. The quality of the sandwiches, petit fours, scones, etc. were high. For the price though, I wouldn't have expected anything less (maybe even more). My sandwich was a little sloppily put together (bread didn't line up, filling kind of coming out). The staff was very courteous and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dobie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    117
    65
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best in boston”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

What can I say? Extraordinary. A restaurant that stands with the best. The service from the moment you arrive is impeccable. The attention to detail is seen from the moment they seat you to the moment you are accompanied to the door.
They have several tastings menu. All very creative. The produce is obviously fresh and from the area. The presentation and preparation exquisite. A season salad is an explosion of contrasts of texture and taste,from the fruits to the greens.
Good wine list at prices that are not out of the category of this restaurant. But some finds in the bordeaux and burgundy area are reasonably priced

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feel Special”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I went for lunch and they made us feel special. The food and views where great. Lunch is a little bit more casual than dinner, but the food is still great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Astronomically expensive”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

In the end the four of us agreed : not worth it and not again

I was especially offended when the Easter brunch of $85 did not include a $10 supplement for the foie gras . We took the foie gras anyway . It came not deveined and with a sandy morel . It was otherwise delicious. No drinks were included.
I did not find "the smoke" in the tiny piece of the bland smoked trout hidden under a fashionable froth in a deep bowl . I must say however that the portions are small but sufficient . The halibut is a firm fish and it was indeed grilled and very firm ! Not really melting in your mouth . They used to have a recipe of halibut cooked "sous vide" that was out of this world . I could not get a piece of French bread in this French restaurant . The service is good , the valet parking from the nearby mandarin hotel matches the prices of the restaurant ($29)
The whole bill for 4 including a $50 bottle of mousseux (not champagne) and 4 mimosas came to $600 tip included. Too much !

Sent from my iPad=

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ondine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the substantial cost”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Had the tasting menu with 4 wines paired.
Make no mistake, that's a lot to pay for dinner.
French/NE cuisine. Portions sufficient, despite the amount of plate. Delightful, in the main.
Only a bit of distracting foam. Literally foam.
Service attentive.
Worthwhile for a special occasion, in my judgement.

Helpful?
Thank Son_of_the_Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Espalier also viewed

 

Been to L'Espalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing