We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Nantucket, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was referred to en Vision by a hospital case manager at New England Baptist... I spent several weeks there while my husband was having medical treatment... the hotel is immaculate, safe, and the staff was amazing... within a day they all knew and greeted me by name, and they all went out of their way to make sure my needs were met. Friendly service with a smile. I would highly recommend en Vision for your stay in Boston. We plan to stay at en Vision from now on any time we are going to Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you Dawn D. for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear we were able to meet your expectations and that we were able to provide you a comforting place to stay while your husband was in the hospital. We wish your husband a speedy recovery and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    156
    37
    9
    2
See reviews for
196
166
45
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

To drive to the hotel was a challenge. Never have I taken the wrong turn so many times, but we got there eventually without a dent.

Parking is “valet parking under the hotel” at $ 18 a night. The attendant was very accommodating and nice and helped us with our luggage. The receptionist was one of the nicest we have met on our 7 weeks travel across the US.

When the room was ready we discovered that someone had peed in the toilet and left paper tissue there. That was fixed immediately. We had planned to stay for two days, but asked the reception to cancel our next day. That was accommodated as well. The bathroom has a door that does not squeak, not often found in the Choice chain. It was extremely clean and nice.

The room was nice and the view from the room reminded me of New Orleans and West Side Story. There was plenty of space for our luggage and we slept very well, almost too well. No noise from traffic and other guests, and the most important thing; - no noisy renovations taking place. We like a place to sit and watch TV, the beds was the only alternative.

We slept well and that is the most essential with any hotel room. I would rather pay $ 250 for a room that is clean and nice, than the one we had in the Adirondack area that was noisy and filthy at $ 200.

There is a fitness room that has everything, water, towels and wet swipes. There is a strong smell of rubber. There is an AC might control unit, but if the fan's default “was on all the time”, this might reduce the smell of rubber. I could not make it work, much like the TV. The is waste for towels and paper tissue. In the bin for towels there was mainly paper tissue and that makes me wonder if the clients are illiterate?

We could help ourselves to coffee, croissants and a yogurt in the lobby in the morning.

The employees were very polite, - all of them. For me, - that is important. All summed up, - a stay very close to being perfect.

Room Tip: #103 was nice and it was away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phagerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you phagerup for your wonderful and detailed review. I love your reference to West Side Story, it is one I have never heard before yet it is very fitting. Our local neighborhood has classic appeal and originality that allows interpretation to its visitors. We appreciate the feedback about additional seating in the rooms, it is something we are in the processing of completing! We also just had new air conditioning units installed in the fitness center which should assist with the climate and “rubber” scent. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the Envision Hotel the weekend of May 17 for the Cross Fit regional games in Canto, MA. After reading the reviews, I requested a room on the 3rd or 4th floor, in which the young man at the front desk was more than accommodating. We chose this hotel because it seemed to be not to far from the center of town and did not cost a fortune. We paid $269 per night as opposed to $350 + for a hotel in town. At first he gave us room 101, which was right near the lobby, but was more than happy to change things around. And when our friends arrived on Saturday, they were able to move things around again and give them rooms on our floor, next door and across the hall. The room was neat, clean and modern. There was a fridge and microwave, which were clean. There was an A/C unit, but, you could open the windows, like you do in your home, what a treat. Most hotels only allow the window to open a slight bit. All of the staff were polite and professional.
As some of the reviews stated, the neighborhood was questionable, but I have to disagree. The hotel was on a busy, but residential street with limestone rowe houses that looked like rentals. I work in Brooklyn, NY and it reminded me of the older neighborhoods there that are gentrifying. Exiting the hotel to the right, was a hospital, in which the neighborhood seemed a bit questionable. Exiting to the left were the limestone row houses. If you walked about 10 minutes up S. Huntington and take a left at the corner and then cross the street, keep walking a bit more, there's a lovely neighborhood to explore. It's not the most 'happenin' area (I guess it's Brookline Village), but has a few restaurants and shops. We ate breakfast at Martin's coffee shop, 35 Harvard St., looks like a greasy spoon, but food was really good and reasonably priced. We ate there Sat. & Sun. and were very satisfied.
Friday afternoon we took a tour (Michelle Topor's) of the North End, which was great!! Saturday for dinner we took the T into town and went to Giaccomo's on Columbus. Great food, although, even with a reservation, we had to wait. This is the 2nd time this happened, but it is worth the wait! (There is a bar next door, which the hostess will come and get you from when your table is ready.) Food is great!
Would definately do it all over again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank socialStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you social Stephanie for your wonderful and detailed review. We are thrilled that you would do it all again and that you enjoyed your stay with us! It’s always great to see when guests provide a detailed review because there is no one better to relay the message about our service, accommodations or neighborhood better than our guests. We feel you truly did experience all that we have to offer and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely hotel, feels very new and clean... room had very good facilities, good TV, coffee making and Ipod dock. Although the room looked onto the main road this was not busy or disruptive to sleep.

Staff were some of the friendliest i have experienced, enhancing our visit to the city. Helpful and informative. As the rooms do not have a safe they are willing to lock up your important documents/valubles.

While it is a little far out of the city centre there is good on street parking overnight which is ideal for fly-drive holidays like our own, however there is T station outside the hotel which allows quick access right into the city.

While the hotel is in what is a residential/student area and a little quiet at night, there is some good bars and eateries around the Mission Hill area, check out Penguin and The Mission, which are around a 5 minute walk along with a 7 Eleven.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GetCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you GetCarlos for your wonderful review. We are happy you found our staff members to be friendly and enhance your visit. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

My mother stayed here while my father was having surgery at one of the local hospitals. In addition to it being a really nice, comfortable place to stay, the staff was so incredibly kind to my mother, brother and I during a really stressful, exhausting time for my family. Every member of that staff was helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel to families of patients at any of the hospitals in the Longwood medical area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kol97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Greetings kol97,
We are so happy to hear that your mother enjoyed her stay. We understand that not all hospital visits are for glorious events such as a birth so we do our best to ensure everyone feels comfortable and safe. The least we can do is provide friendly service and a clean place to stay. We hope your dad is doing better and we look forward to seeing you next time you come to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I wanted to go to Boston to celebrate her birthday and had never been there. We found this hotel through TripAdvisor and took the chance. Although the hotel is a bit out from everything, having the "T" (MBTA transit) stop out front was great. We did not rent a car and spent a week touring Boston with complete ease. Even going out to Salem and back.

Everything in the hotel appeared new and pristine. The room was great and never heard any noise from the hall or other rooms. In fact, being in a small hotel was so much nicer than in one of the large hotels with people wandering all over the place.

The hotel staff was very nice, professional, and pleasant. They went out of their way to help us any way they could. They recommended some fine restaurants and they also left bath salts, balloons, and cupcakes in our room on my wife's birthday. A nice personal touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlueCaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you BlueCaddis for your review! We are thrilled that you liked the birthday surprise for your wife. When we know of a special occasion we try our best to help celebrate! We look forward to seeing you on your next adventure to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a relatively new hotel. Very clean. Super friendly staff. The location isn't the best especially if you're a woman traveling alone. I took the train to a nearby restaurant and was very uncomfortable walking in the area alone. If I were with friends, I wouldn't have been so uneasy. Lots of loitering in the area and vagrants asking for money.

Room Tip: I would choose something over near Brookline. Much safer area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunscreenSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Greetings SunscreenSally,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate that you took notice of our efforts to ensure exceptional cleanliness and helpfulness from our staff. The Jamaica Plain and Mission Hill neighborhoods are primarily young professionals and students which provides an upbeat atmosphere for guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood

Property: enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Address: 81 South Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02130-4704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers seeking a unique hotel experience with a neighborhood charm, capture the perfect picture of your ideal stay and pay a visit to the gem that is enVision Hotel Boston, nestled just outside the heart of the city. Our 39 room boutique Boston hotel is settled in a residential neighborhood and has some room overlooking Olmstead Park. A perfect location if you are visiting any hospital in the Longwood Medical Area.enVision Hotel Boston- Modern in Design, traditional in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing