We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, but irritating noises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but irritating noises”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is modern and clean with nice rooms. Staff is helpful. Located 10-15 minutes with metro outside downtown Boston. Nice park for morning runs nearby, short walk to the cosy village Brookline.
Cons: Noisy aircondition!! and some noise from other rooms and the elevator next to our room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you Kristian T for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It’s great that you enjoyed running around Olmsted Park in the mornings. I’m very sorry to hear you had a noisy air conditioner. Could you please email me at lcooper@envisionhotelboston.com so I can look into this issue. Once again thank you for feedback and we hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    166
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
214
175
47
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We just returned from our six day stay at enVision. We were in Boston to see the Red Sox and the History. I must say that enVision exceeded my expectations! The room was extremely clean and had lots of space, we are a family of four. We took a cab to Fenway Park and it was less than 10 dollars.

The staff was outstanding, very friendly and extremely helpful. They were great!

It fit our budget and was close enough to anything and everything we wanted to do.

I have read the reviews here and want to address something that I was concerned about, the neighborhood. I come from a small town in Indiana and I never once felt unsafe in this area. Including walking at night. The neighborhood is older looking around the Hotel but to me it added charm to the experience of staying here.

I loved my stay here and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiana812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Greetings Indiana812:
We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. It is one of the greatest complements we can receive. I’m so happy that you commented on our neighborhood and how it is in fact a safe area. As staff of the hotel we can explain how it is a charming neighborhood with character however some people feel as though it is a “pitch” and we have to say it. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Boston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed three nights with a friend in town for a Peace Corps event. A number of our friends stayed also. We loved the staff, our room, the convenient location away from the crowds. There's a whole foods about a 20 minute walk where we stocked up on fruit and snacks..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wangsneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you wangsneg for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It’s great that you and your friends enjoyed our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing the best service possible and feel that part of our charm is our location! We hope you enjoyed the Peace Corps event and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Envision is a great little boutique hotel in the Jamaica Plains area of Boston. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in and I like to think I have pretty high room stsndards. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. I only had two complaints: 1.Parking is not free, or cheap for that matter; 2. They charge for coffee.

Other that thst, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wccope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you wccope for your wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on service and cleanliness and it is great that you took notice of these efforts. In each guest room we provide a coffee maker with complementary decaf and regular coffee packets for your enjoyment. There is street parking available in the Mission Hill and Jamaica Plain areas which is free to the public or you can opt for our valet parking which is for offered per $18 night with in and out privileges. On behalf of the staff, thank you for choosing enVision Hotel and we hope to see you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanesboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed at Envision while in Boston for a Red Sox Game. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was helpful and friendly, the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. It was about a thirty minute walk to Fenway and very close to the Longwood Medical Area which is very convenient. I would happily stay here again! I am hoping to be able to book a room (or adjoining rooms, if possible) when my children see their doctor at Children's hospital this summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Greetings Kimberly S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It’s great that we were able to provide you a hotel close to Fenway Park so you could walk to the game and come back to sleep in a great bed! Please feel free to call us directly to make your reservation at 617-383-5229. We are so happy that you are planning to stay with us again and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I were in the Boston area for a wedding. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted warmly by the front desk staff. Andre, Ina, and Giovanni were especially kind and helpful. The ice water and green apples in the lobby gave us a refreshing moment after a long day of traveling. All of the staff was very kind, but the three mentioned were the ones we saw most often.

We stayed in room 308 - towards the back of the hotel on the side, with a view of an empty lot - not quite the "park view" that was advertised, but it was a very nice room. The king size bed was <<<very>>> comfortable - although due to its height, it could be a little difficult to get into for some people. The refrigerator and microwave were key reasons on why we chose this hotel, in addition to the location. Both were well used during our stay. There is a Stop & Shop nearby to pick up groceries if needed.

If you are worried about the air conditioning being cool enough - have no worries with room 308. The only down side is that the vent cover directs the cool air straight across the bed. It does a fine job cooling the room, but you may be a little chilled while sleeping. * side note- Boston was experiencing record high temps during our stay.

There are two iPads available in the lobby to search for things online, check your email etc. Since we do not have smartphones, we used these frequently to print off maps so we knew where we were going and how to get back.

If I were staying in the Boston area again and wanted to be away from downtown, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Being so close to so many hospitals there were a fair amount of ambulances/sirens during our stay. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropical-Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you Tropical-Mel for your wonderfully detailed review. We are happy that we could provide you with all the amenities you needed for this special visit. Its great that you were able to utilize the iPads in the lobby to assist you with planning your outings in the city. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ranked high on Trip Advisor for a reason. The location, although not in the heart of the action is literally minutes away. The T is right outside the door and for $2.50 you can go anywhere in the city. Rooms are immaculate, the staff is the sweetest and most caring in the city. You feel at home when the valet thanks the cab driver for bringing you back and when the front desk asks how your day was. I recommend this hotel to everyone and I cannot wait to come back. As Andre said, it is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you Bethany L. for such wonderful comments! It is such an honor that you loved your stay so much that you won’t stay anywhere else, especially since there are some great options in Boston! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
2,052 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,793 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood

Property: enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Address: 81 South Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02130-4704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers seeking a unique hotel experience with a neighborhood charm, capture the perfect picture of your ideal stay and pay a visit to the gem that is enVision Hotel Boston, nestled just outside the heart of the city. Our 39 room boutique Boston hotel is settled in a residential neighborhood and has some room overlooking Olmstead Park. A perfect location if you are visiting any hospital in the Longwood Medical Area.enVision Hotel Boston- Modern in Design, traditional in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing