We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel while we toured Boston for the first time. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel more than met our needs. We felt like we were in a luxury hotel but we didn't pay luxury prices. If this hotel had been in downtown Boston, they could have charged at least double what they did. We had no trouble with the location except for getting to the hotel and then, after our stay, getting back to the interstate. We drove our own car and, thanks to our GPS, found it after making MANY turns onto small neighborhood streets. Once we were there, we used the valet parking because we didn't feel that there was a better option. Until we left, we used the T to get around the city. As nice as the accomodations were, the staff was even better. Attentive, caring, helpful, patient, prompt - I have nothing but praise for them. From the valet who greeted us at the door, to the desk clerks, to the general manager who greeted us personally ever morning, they made us feel so welcome. If we ever come back to Boston, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamp725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Greetings jamp725,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I have shared your comments with our entire staff- we are so appreciative of your kind words and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned the Boston streets can be a little difficult to navigate if you’re not familiar with it but it’s great you were able to take advantage of Boston’s great public transportation! Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you the next time you come to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    157
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
205
170
45
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

we booked at envision hotel whilst visiting our daughter at university and were given a university discount two weeks ago

the hotel is basically an upmarket budget hotel in an odd location.

i paid cash for the stay but an sms came to me from my card provider about their charging my card for the stay. am awaiting the end month bill to see if they have reversed the charge as they charged the card without telling me.

issues we had were as follows:
room given was in the basement even though labeled ground floor and with a terrible view
noise from the tram passing and general noise of cars etc
very poor health club area

Positives
nice room with a coffee maker and microwave
super comfortable bed
good service by the new gentleman at the hotel in the reception

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floors not facing the street because of the tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chandraitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Greetings chandraitha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our beds and new Keurig coffee brewers. As you mentioned we are a small boutique hotel located in a primarily residential neighborhood and not in the hustle and bustle of busy downtown Boston. Our fitness center is ideal to get your basic workout and includes treadmills with built-in television, an elliptical, bike, single stack gym, free weights and WII fit. We hope you had a safe trip home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Frederick, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I just had the opportunity to spend three nights at this hotel for the first time and it won't be the last time I use it for sure. The staff, quality of the accommodations, public space and location with beautiful Olmstead Park right behind the hotel was perfect for my stay. The slight distance from downtown Boston was easily handled by using the T stop just down the street or cabs, both of which were easily accessed.
While there was a bit more traffic noice than normal, the hotel team is evaluating how to best address this now and I left feeling that this will be remedied fairly shortly.
Please consider this my highest possible recommendation to try this amazing new hotel option in Boston for your next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1lazypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Greetings 1lazypuppy,
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return! It’s great to hear that our staff, accommodations and overall hotel met your needs and left you satisfied. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverson, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I checked many hotels in the Boston area and chose the enVision Hotel. I'm glad I did.

Only a mile and half from Fenway Park. Easy walk after the game through non-threatening neighborhoods.

As others have commented wonderful staff and very nice clean rooms at a reasonable price for Boston.

My wife and I were travelling with our grown son and they have 2 bedroom king suite that fit us perfectly common entry for the 2 rooms. Each Room was large and spacious with own bathroom. Small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in each room.

Clerk at front desk was very helpful on the evening we checked in. Providing maps, public transit advice, and recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Greetings Kevin W.,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We find our suites are ideal for families as you have the privacy of two separate rooms however the proximity of not going far to see or speak to them! We are happy you chose us and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located near a park and on the Green line, so public transportation to downtown Boston is a breeze. Our room was clean and spacious. The hotel itself is beautiful, and ALL of the staff went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you are easily disturbed by noise ask for a room that doesn't face Huntington Ave S, as with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you Jessicapolish for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. On behalf of the staff we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments! It is our pleasure to serve you, the guest, and not only make your stay at our hotel enjoyable, but your time spent in the city as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

As other reviewers said hotel is nice and clean at a reasonable price for Boston area, however I would like to point out a few things.
- We booked a king room and got a well appointed one facing the park on Jamaica. Streets were noisy at night due to the proximity of hospitals around, so if you're a light sleeper this might be a problem.
-T stop is very close by but note that it will take you 25-30 minutes to get to the city centre. I travelled around the world and found that they were very little explanations at the T stop (ticket fare? destination?).
- Hotel reception was alwasy empty when leaving in the morning (around 9:30-10:00am) so no one to ask for help or advice. It happened also that I wanted to buy a drink from the coffee shop area and didn't have the exact change so decided to take it and pay it afterward, no big deal but the emptiness of reception was a bit awkward.
- We used the valet parking which was convenient.
- No option or very few options for restaurants (mainly take outs around) or coffee shop to have your breakfast in the morning, you'll have to stay in the city centre (after a long day of walk you might want to go back to your room to freshen up) or come back again to the city in the evening and have dinner somewhere but again it will take you 25 min at least to get there and T cars were always full (even out of peak hours!!!)
- Breakfast items proposed in the coffee corner were probably good (croissant and several rolls type) but we didn't like the idea to take them away and eat/drink on our way to the city. We expected to have at least a breakfast room where to sit and have our morning coffee. Lobby is small and not adequate with only one table bar.
- Few staff members we met were polite but nothing exceptional.
All in all if it happens to us to visit Boston again we may want to consider another hotel closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagmanSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Greetings MagmanSwitzerland,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. As you mentioned we do have a small café on property where you can purchase beverages, pastries, fresh brewed coffee and snacks to get you through the day. We have front desk staff on duty 24 hours who are always there to help with directions or assist with any requests. Part of our charm is being away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Boston however conveniently located to many of Boston’s finest hospitals. Thank you once again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, great location. The T is outside the door and will take you anywhere in the Boston area. The rooms are amazing. No breakfast but a very good coffee shop in the lobby. This is a great place to stay in the Boston area at a very good price.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you Jane S. for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. You mention a great point about our hotel, the T is located right outside. We are not located right in the heart of the city therefore the T is a great alternative to maneuvering our wonderful city! We love hearing that you enjoyed the treats in our café as well! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,567 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood

Property: enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Address: 81 South Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02130-4704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers seeking a unique hotel experience with a neighborhood charm, capture the perfect picture of your ideal stay and pay a visit to the gem that is enVision Hotel Boston, nestled just outside the heart of the city. Our 39 room boutique Boston hotel is settled in a residential neighborhood and has some room overlooking Olmstead Park. A perfect location if you are visiting any hospital in the Longwood Medical Area.enVision Hotel Boston- Modern in Design, traditional in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing