We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Came in with very high expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria Regina

Pizzeria Regina
Ranked #7 of 3,156 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: North End
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Came in with very high expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch and had zero wait, the evening before there was a long line outside. The pizza was good, kids had pepperoni and we had a ricotta, prosciutto and mushrooms pizza. However, if we had to wait 30 minutes for a table, I would have been pretty disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,276
    432
    111
    38
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I visited Pizzeria Regina for the first time last week and was pleasantly surprised, as I tend to be a bit dubious about people who say things like "it's the best pizza in town." Quite simply, it was exceptional! I will cross town to enjoy pizza at Regina. I enjoyed #31 (spinach and pomodoro)- the large is huge (and great value for $20). It is a bit rushed/chaotic inside, but there is a distinctive charm to the place. There is always a line outside but stick around; it's worth the 15-20 minute wait. One tip: if you order for take out, you do NOT have to wait in the line outside (go around the side entrance, walk in, and tell the staff that you're here to pick up an order). Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeJet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A venerable institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The original Pizzeria Regina, in the North End, is hands down the best pizza in the country. Worth standing in long line if necessary, the decor is just perfect in its worn shabbiness. The pizzas are pure perfection, and mist be dribbled liberally with the spiced and herbed olive oil at each tiny table.

Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To find a Margarita pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Went to Boston with my cousin's 10 yr old daughter prior to a family reunion to explore the freedom trail. While in the North End, which is the famous Boston "Little Italy" we were looking for lunch. Asked what to have it was explained that it was to be pizza, but not just any pizza it had to be a Margarita Pizza. Asked several locals, who were more than helpful with location and directions, and went to Regina's original location. Has been here since 1926. A wait yes, it was lunch time, but well worth it. The Pizza was as close as true Italian ( I lived there I know) as I have found. Service was excellent. Old Boston, not big on elegance, quaint good food. Bathroom very tiny.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBCB609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Some of the best pizza I've had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Please don't think that this pizza is the same as their satellite restaurants. The pizza from these ovens is nothing short of spectacular. It's a little pricey, but well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank OFayemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Regina also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing