We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian seafood restaurant in Boston's North End”
Review of The Daily Catch

The Daily Catch
Ranked #57 of 3,205 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner
Neighbourhood: North End
Description: The original location founded in 1973 offers a friendly dining atmosphere. With only twenty seats, you are guranteed fast, effecient service and fresh seafood! This will be an experience to remember. The chalkboard menu features all the classic dishes, in addition to weekly specials! Bring a friend and join the fun!
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Italian seafood restaurant in Boston's North End”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We peaked through the window and liked the look and feel. Impression was Shabby place but good honest cooking. Bit surprised at price $24 for pasta dish given the decor but when we got the food we were really happy. The clams and squid in white wine and garlic and the shrimp and scallop in marinara sauce. Both tasted really fresh with excellent flavours - we're very fussy about our seafood and felt this was very much worth the price. Not somewhere you'd want to hang around but fantastic for a quick lunch with simple but very high quality cooking. It was full and everyone we saw seemed to be really savouring their food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aziz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    193
    66
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Yes, this is a hole in the wall, you're seated at pedestrian tables beside people you won't know and will likely leave reeking of garlic. We didn't try the washrooms but probably wouldn't have had we needed to.

That all said, this is a must. Limited menu but of course it is since there is one guy miraculously handling all the cooking. We had fried calamari (got the large to share as an appetizer, don't need it, get the small for two) and my wife had the linguine vongole (the clams were still in the shell and big enough to justify a steamed clam appetizer let alone as part of a pasta dish) and I had the black pasta. Excellent bottle of Sicilian red for $30. Some may not like the atmosphere but if you like friendly, small, authentic spots, this is a great choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin73Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My first trip to Boston and my wife and I were told of this place by someone who had lived in the neighbourhood a few years ago. This was his local and he had become good friends with the owner. We stopped by on our first evening in Boston and managed to get a table straight away! We were not disappointed, I had Halibut and my wife went for the squid ink pasta. The food was delicious and the staff charming and friendly. We managed to get a couple of photos at the end of our meal of us with the owner. The same evening we sent those back to England, to the guy who had recommended the place to us initially. He was very nostalgic and a little jealous. Thanks so much for a great meal, good fun and great atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Having grown up in a family with commercial fisherman, I found the food great. Much better than anything I can find in the south. It is not cheep but a far better value than I get in most fish places. Well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not up to previous visits”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Used to eat here everytime in Boston. Last visit very disappointing. Pricey and nothing special. The luster has worn off after 20 years.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ewbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Daily Catch also viewed

 

Been to The Daily Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing